Ratings based on 22 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by John from uk

More convenient than expected

Posted Jun 28, 2014 on Hotels.com
Very nice modern hotel with large room. Very convenient for us as it was reasonably close to centre but with secure underground parking. Big shopping centre on same site with big food hall. Reception staff ok although not overtly welcoming. We were told that it was not really possible to walk into town and taxis necessary. But a quick look at Google maps gave us a short cut down onto the riverside after which a lovely walk along the promenade and long board walk into town - half hour, tops.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by mark from london

Good hotel

Posted Jun 24, 2014 on Hotels.com
No issues with the hotel perfectly acceptable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by cherry dumpling from essex

sister-in-laws 40th birthday

Posted Jun 3, 2014
Pros: the area it was few minutes from the beach city and river
Cons: no not really good value
Location: great shopping mall 100 yards gym next door ,short car trip to a long unspoilt beach, easy reach to the city
2nd time to this hotel 1st was a wedding 4 years ago enjoyed it the same great place and location
5 out of 5
Recommended
by SCBates from BC

Porto Palace

Posted May 23, 2014 on Hotels.com
Loved this hotel, so euro modern it's almost funk, location is great next to a giant shopping center with easy transport to city center. For the budget conscious the mall food court is very healthy and has a fab outdoor patio with champagne views of old Porto at beer prices.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by SCBates from Canada

Loved Our Stay

Posted May 19, 2014 on Hotels.com
We loved the Mecuro. Our first time in Porto and we weren't sure about the location but it was great. Buses handy, shopping right next door and Pedro on the front desk made it all very easy.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Michelle from San Francisco Bay Area

Good V.N. Gaia hotel near bridge and boat docks

Posted Apr 2, 2014 on Hotels.com
With so much road traffic in Vila Nova de Gaia, it was very nice that this hotel was so close both to Luiz I bridge connecting to Porto as well as to the docks of boats navigating the Douro River. Very quiet. Good food.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Sandra from Hastings

Brilliant Hotel

Posted Nov 12, 2013
Pros: The shops are on the doorstep as is the wonderful gym which is free for hotel guests
Cons: Nothing
Location: It is located next to the douro river and very close to the centre of Porto
This Hotel is in a fantastic position. It is lovely and clean and the staff are very friendly and helpful
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Elliot

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 4, 2013 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel if you find it!

Posted Sep 10, 2013
Pros: It was quiet and calming.
Cons: Supply GPS coordinates on booking confirmations. Say that it is at the shopping centre on the opposite river bank to centre of old town - gt location
Location: Everything easily accessible and walk able from the riverside ... Cab down then walk over the pedestrian bridge. We loved it.
Hotel and staff were great and calmed us down nicely after it took us 2 hours driving around town with a GPS to find it!!! The local municipality needs to allow more signage and do it quickly. We had to ask at a different Mercure in the end how to find it and even then It was difficult to find - fortunately they gave us the map coordinates and that worked eventually!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by S Tidball from USA

Great hotel, and breakfast but location too far

Posted Jun 13, 2013 on Hotels.com
Everyone at the front office was great. Food super. Hotel nice but to get to te city you have to take a Taxi or bus.