Ratings based on 43 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Southern California

Great family hotel

Posted Jul 20, 2014
Pros: Location is great. Rates were reasonable. Family friendly.
Cons: The bar is rather limited and the staff is not trained to serve or mix drinks.
Location: Beaches and marinas. Ferry boats. Tourist accommodations. Charming restaurants and cafes.
This is a great hotel for families. My 8-year-old and 5-year-old loved it. They met children from different parts of the world and the language differences didn't seem to matter. The hotel staff was kind and helpful. The hotel is located on the bluff above the Douro River and a short walk to charming cafes and a wonderful restaurant. The hotel is pet friendly as well (10 euros add'l). There is a lovely morning buffet that is very good. Be aware that the morning buffet is not free but for 9 euros it is very reasonable and delicious. The pool area is very nice with a small pool and a paddling pool for smaller children. For 2 euros per person you can take a ferry ride across the Douro River to the hub of Porto. You can catch yellow/red buses for the full tourist experience or take a taxi to shopping and restaurants in the center of Porto. If you want the full wine experience you stay on the Vila Nova de Gaia side and take a 5 min taxi ride to the local wineries and shops. The Zoo Santo Inacio is a short 15 min. drive away and was delightful. We would stay here again and would recommend it for traveling families. Mid-July is a great time to be here as the music festival is located at the marina below the hotel and is lots of fun.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from chester

although it is a taxi ride away from the town it

Posted Jul 19, 2014
Pros: clean and friendly staff -- breakfast was great value for 9 euros-- enjoyed relaxing by the pool wine only 8 euros a bottle
Cons: nothing
Location: see my previous entry
really good value for the money -- I had read previous reviews which stated that there was nothing around the hotel but busy roads well how wrong were they -- I stayed there for 4 nights and on the last evening decided to go for a walk down the hill ---come out of the hotel turn left walk down the hill and then turned the first road on the right and made our way down to the little village below and it took about 20 mins turning left half way down the hill onto a path which went down steep steps in between peoples houses -- oh what views on the way down fantastic but what was better was when we reached the village there were many cafes and restaurants cooking local caught fish outside on BBQ -- we had a lovely meal --fresh sardines, salad ,potatoes, soda bread and a bot of local red wine -- 33 euros for 3 of us -- locals were all eating there -- a perfect end to a lovely stay in Porto --by the way after we had our meal we found a small local bar and had a few wines very cheap and the lady serving us called a taxi to take us back up the hill ---
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sarasota

Nice hotel, clean pool , superbreakfast

Posted Jul 4, 2014
Very friedly staff, clean rooms, close to oldtown (5-6 EUR by TAXI), very good breakfast (ham,omletes, fruits salats and etc.).We were happy that we found this hotel. Close to shopping center.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Miguel from New jersey

Very nice hotel, close to everything.

Posted Jun 18, 2014
Pros: Employees, foot, the hotel is very nice, the pool, gardens around pool, the lobby area, the bar, the rooms clean and well keep.
Cons: Only one bad thing, WIFI in the rooms and in some areas of the hotel does not work very well. we put the iphone out of the window to get god signal.
Location: The location for us was excellent. very nice views. close to all history places, close to a lot of beaches,highways views to the main river and sea.
My wife and I love the place, we go every year to Portugal around June to visit her parents, each time we state in a different hotel, so far this one was the best for us in our price range. The hotel is very nice, is very clean, employees tread people with a smile and make you think you are at home. Hotel is close to any place you want to go, and over there are many. we enjoy the pool, the bar, the foot, breakfast. We enjoy also some world cup games in a big projection screen. VERY IMPORTANT we rent a car for the 10 days we state, this hotel include ample parking space for free, very few hotels if any around town include parking and if they do, are a lot more expensive and parking is very difficult to find because of the small roads. So if one day you want to go to Porto (Portugal) area that is also an hour and half going north to Spain, state at this place you don't regret it.
3 out of 5
by john from vancouver

disappointing

Posted Jun 13, 2014
we picked this hotel on price as it was a 4 star, in canada this would be a 3 star level hotel. needs renovating for sure. we read it was 30 mins walk from downtown but really this was 4-5 miles away. The pool looked big in the pictures but was really small in real life. we only stayed one night so it was not a big deal.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect for familes

Posted Jun 1, 2014
Thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Large, spacious, clean room with plenty of ingenious space for a family of four. Family friendly hotel with loads of things to keep kids entertained. Very approachable staff willing to go out of their way to keep you happy. Price is great with breakfast included. Convenient for Porto sightseeing and port tasting. Wish we could have stayed longer.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, convenient location

Posted May 26, 2014
We enjoyed our stay at the Novotel. The breakfast was exceptional.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by John from Bournemouth

the best place to stay on a trip to Porto

Posted May 18, 2014
We were a bit worried about the site of this hotel when we booked our stay. There was no need to worry as it is a short hop to the centre of Porto, 6 euros by taxi. The staff are most helpful and very pleasant. Food at the hotel is good and reasonably priced. The only fault I could add was the offer of a disabled access room. The ensuite door would not take wheelchair and the bath to high to get into and this included the shower.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Henrique from Edinburgh

Great Hotel!

Posted May 9, 2014 on Hotels.com
Really pleasant!! Very good infra and service! Real family hotel!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Henrique from Edinburgh

Great Hotel!!

Posted May 7, 2014 on Hotels.com
True family hotel!! Really nice and kind staff. I was with my whole family including 2 kids, mum grandmas and wife, and we were extremely well received! Great infra for the kids, nice protected swimming pool!! I will definitely stay there if I go to Porto again!!