Ratings based on 25 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by Mag from Toronto

Posted Nov 27, 2013
Worn down, old hotel, but in good location, and cheap. Good breakfast, nice staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Mayflower from Lincolnshire, UK

It's close to the metro & in centre of city

Posted Oct 19, 2013
Pros: In close proximity to the city centre, so ideal for sight-seeing or seeking a nearby restaurant in the evening
Cons: Breakfast could be optional and therefore, like ourselves, who had to leave early morning, we would only pay for our room.
Location: In the city centre, so ideal for any tourist wishing to see the city sights & also 5mins walk from metro station, which connects to the airport.
We stayed twice - 9th Oct & 15th Oct. 1st time, we booked 2 nights prior to visit, 15th - we booked a month before& still couldn't get a room with twin beds! All Staff were very pleasant&helpful - hotel was well kept, with many antiques displayed which gave it a quirky but homely feel. Perhaps breakfast could be optional as we paid for ours but unfortunately, had to leave for our flight early, so missed out, without any reduction offered.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Barb from England

Wonderful time

Posted Sep 26, 2013 on Hotels.com
This hotel was a really good choice. Excellent location, decent facilities but above all the staff were superb. They couldn't do enouigh to help and were friendly whatever the time of day.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Cool hotel, great breakfast, good location

Posted Sep 20, 2013 on Hotels.com
The hotel is decorated in a really unique and cool way. Location was good, too, and it was just a 10 minute walk down the hill to the main restaurant/bar area. The room was nothing special, but quite comfortable and clean. The breakfast was a real highlight, though, with a large terrace for eating outdoors.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by M.A

A perfect location

Posted Sep 15, 2013
As much as i loved Porto i was satisfied with the hotel The location and price makes it a perfect choice They have a good breakfast at the 6 th floor on a a balcony. An excellent front desk staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 16, 2013 on Hotels.com
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Very Tired from Toulouse

40 degrees heat "NO Aircon"

Posted Jul 10, 2013 on Hotels.com
I booked a room with a Terrace and Air con, the trip was to celebrate my Wife's Birthday and our Anniversary, the reviews looked favourable, but it all went wrong as soon as we got there, "I'm sorry Sir but we have double booked your room, but we can offer you a suite at no extra cost", I asked "does it have a terrace or Balcony" ? , "No we are sorry it does not", it was just a very large room with nothing special except old tired furniture, we stayed in it for one night as there was a bar directly below our room with a music licence until 4 a.m. and we had no sleep it was blasting out very load live music, we then asked for a change of room, they told us we could have a room with a terrace but no Air con, as it was away from the Bar we took it, we asked "when would the Air con be fixed" and they told us later that day, they lied, we spent 3 nights trying to sleep as it was so hot we had to sleep on top of the bed sweating like pigs, so three more nights with no sleep, we came back after our break more stressed than before we went. The Hotel staff were very nice apart from the lies.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Airienteer from York

Good weekend B&B

Posted May 22, 2013 on Hotels.com
Staff friendly and efficient. breakfast good - especially if you like Portuguese pastries. The retro sixties thing is slightly bizarre, if intriguing! I had smaller room at end of corridor which was OK for me, but would be difficult for a couple I think. Most the other rooms are bigger I think. But v clean. A good weekend B&B in a great location, in a ery interesting city.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Jane from near Newcastle

central location good transport links

Posted Mar 31, 2013 on Hotels.com
Comfortable, friendly and clean hotel accommodation with basic breakfast at a reasonable rate.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Graham from Brighton, UK

Good, central hotel for exploring Porto

Posted Oct 16, 2012
Pros: Location, staff, room, price
Cons: Bedsprings
Location: Just off the big Aliados square. Close to main shopping area & metro interchange. 5 mins walk from Sao Bento station, 15 mins walk down to the river
There is a small reception space and an interesting lounge on the ground floor. Rooms are on floors 3-6, with offices and a medical practice in between. There are nice displays of 50s technology in the lounge and corridors and a lovely central spiral staircase. The staff were all excellent. Our room was (almost - see below) wonderful: we'd opted for a 'superior room' and it was very spacious, with sofa and armchairs and its own hallway. We were right at the end of the corridor and the WiFi signal didn't quite reach that far but it was fine in more central areas. The breakfast room on the 6th floor has a nice balcony with rooftop views where it's good to sit in nice weather; breakfast itself was not the most varied, but perfectly adequate. Two problems: 1) the bed was big and firm (good) but the mattress springs tended to dig into ribs and hips; 2) on one night (out of seven), despite the well-fitting and double-glazed windows, sleep was disrupted by noise from a nearby nightspot - our room faced the street. Overall, though, we were very pleased.