Ratings based on 136 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfectly located hotel

Posted Nov 21, 2014
Besides the Duoro in front or the Porto caves walking distance from the train station and historical sites of Porto. Really looking forward to visit Porto and stay in this Hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Sierra Madre, CA

Gorgeous Views, Lovely Room, Excellent Staff

Posted Nov 17, 2014
Pros: Great Location and beautiful views
Location: Hotel is located near all the tourist spots. The metro is only a short 10 minute walk away.
We stayed here for two nights in a room overlooking the Dom Luis Bridge. It was absolutely beautiful. The hotel staff were extremely helpful and treated my husband and I with so much care. I should have extended our stay here at this hotel. Perfect location, walking distance to all the tourist spots.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom London

Brilliant Location

Posted Oct 5, 2014
It is difficult to imagine how this hotel could be better situated; excellent views over the river, next to many bars and restaurants (although the best can be found a little further away out of the main tourist area), short walk to mainline train services, metro and the port wine cellars, great staff too.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Staffordshire, UK

A great view of the Douro

Posted Sep 28, 2014
Pros: Right next to the river , lots of activity outside the hotel , room with river view excellent , staff very friendly & helpfull.
Cons: More choice for lunch in the heritage bar , menu limited.
Location: River cruises of the 6 bridges outside hotel , vehicular railway to take you up to the town, near all the wineries , just across the bridge.
8 days in Porto, first time , stayed next to the river , lots of places of interest to see , lots going on this week, transport great , trams , vehicular railway , main railway station 10 mins from hotel. Went to Braga on the train , lovely place to visit. Will return again to Porto
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great situation on the river in lively area.

Posted Sep 25, 2014
Very helpful and charming staff. It is well positioned for walking to all the major sites in Porto.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Auckland, New Zealand

Very central heritage hotel

Posted Sep 12, 2014
This hotel was the highlight of our trip to Portugal. We had a very spacious room with a river view. The location is excellent for sightseeing and the hotel staff are very friendly and helpful.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Bait and switch on rooms-Do not trust them.

Posted Sep 11, 2014
Pros: Nothing anymore
Cons: Everything
I stayed at this hotel before and very much enjoyed a specific type of room. I was planning a trip for August and made sure to book the specific room at the hotel early and confirmed the booking in February, 6 months early. I even called the hotel to describe the room I wanted and they told me specifically what to book. The website even showed a picture of the same room under the "Suite". Then I even specified in the reservation comments on the room I wanted. When I arrived I was given a crappy, dark room with small windows that would not even open unless I requested a key every day. When I asked for the room I booked I was told that the desk clerk the night before had given that room to someone else that was already in it for my entire stay. They said they could do nothing to change it. So I ended up paying $373 dollars a night for a room that goes for $200 as listed on their website. Since I prepaid in February thru Expedia they said nothing could be refunded. They did comp us one cocktail. Yahoo. What a joke. Lastly, they never tell you that you have to drag your own luggage up and down a huge hill to get to the hotel because the street is blocked off. Not worth it. BTW, I have never, ever written a complaint before on anything but this place is an absolute rip-off.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom England

Great hotel to stay in in Porto

Posted Aug 17, 2014
Pros: Its location, its facilities and its staff
Cons: Get the building works finished next door - but not a problem really
Location: On the river. Easy access to all sights and restaurants. Cruise boats outside. Funicular to upper town yards away. Bridge close by to cross river.
Had a good feel about the hotel from the start - especially when greeted with a glass of port at check-in
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 10, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
by J weintraubfrom Decatur georgia

Plan to return

Posted Aug 4, 2014 on Hotels.com
Great experience, right on the water. Wonderful suite.