Ratings based on 129 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Auckland, New Zealand

Very central heritage hotel

Posted Sep 12, 2014
This hotel was the highlight of our trip to Portugal. We had a very spacious room with a river view. The location is excellent for sightseeing and the hotel staff are very friendly and helpful.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Bait and switch on rooms-Do not trust them.

Posted Sep 11, 2014
Pros: Nothing anymore
Cons: Everything
I stayed at this hotel before and very much enjoyed a specific type of room. I was planning a trip for August and made sure to book the specific room at the hotel early and confirmed the booking in February, 6 months early. I even called the hotel to describe the room I wanted and they told me specifically what to book. The website even showed a picture of the same room under the "Suite". Then I even specified in the reservation comments on the room I wanted. When I arrived I was given a crappy, dark room with small windows that would not even open unless I requested a key every day. When I asked for the room I booked I was told that the desk clerk the night before had given that room to someone else that was already in it for my entire stay. They said they could do nothing to change it. So I ended up paying $373 dollars a night for a room that goes for $200 as listed on their website. Since I prepaid in February thru Expedia they said nothing could be refunded. They did comp us one cocktail. Yahoo. What a joke. Lastly, they never tell you that you have to drag your own luggage up and down a huge hill to get to the hotel because the street is blocked off. Not worth it. BTW, I have never, ever written a complaint before on anything but this place is an absolute rip-off.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from England

Great hotel to stay in in Porto

Posted Aug 17, 2014
Pros: Its location, its facilities and its staff
Cons: Get the building works finished next door - but not a problem really
Location: On the river. Easy access to all sights and restaurants. Cruise boats outside. Funicular to upper town yards away. Bridge close by to cross river.
Had a good feel about the hotel from the start - especially when greeted with a glass of port at check-in
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Gold Coast Qld Australia

Optimum Position

Posted Aug 4, 2014
Pros: Location
This hotel is in the ideal position close to everything central to Porto. It has breathtaking views of the Dom Luis Bridge and is close to lots of good (and cheap) restaurants. Whilst the restaurants in the immediate vicinity to the hotel are geared towards tourists, the ones we ate at still offered great food and wine at reasonable prices. For the times we made the effort to get out of the touristy areas the restaurants we ate at were superb (and cheap as mentioned). It also offers easy access to the historic electric trams, the metro and also the Gondala (Teleferico) on the Gaia side of the Douro (well worth doing for spectacular views). The Port Caves would also be worth visiting when taking the Gondala ride. The hotel is spotlessly clean and the buffet breakfast is simple but adequate. I would definitely recommend this hotel and also stay there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from London

Nice place, with helpful staff.

Posted Jul 31, 2014
Pros: Bed nice and big, and comfortable. Breakfast and shower good.
Location: Quite a hilly area, but we enjoyed just strolling about along the river, both sides. Lots of port tasting places on the other side of the river.
This hotel is located right in the middle of the action, on a square, which is a mixed blessing... There were activities on the square of an evening which got quite loud. We had a room at the back, looking onto an alleyway, so didn't really suffer with the noise, though we could still hear it. A room at the front would have been an issue I suspect. Nice selection of good food at breakfast. Typical choices, but all seemed better quality than many places we've stayed in. Room couls seem a little "stuffy" when we returned from being out for the day. Nice shower. Overall I'm more than happy to recommend the place.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Fantastic river view

Posted Jul 12, 2014
Pros: Perfect position, comfortable room, good breakfast, and lovely staff
Cons: Air conditioning would be an advantage
Location: Perfect position on river, although uphill into town. Restaurants nearby and along riverbank, easy access for boat trips, bridge, hop on/off bus
Lovely hotel in perfect position - river view room a must - I just couldn't get enough of the view and that bridge!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

hotel with charactor

Posted Jun 24, 2014
Pros: The position was perfect
Cons: Evening meal would be nice to have on offer in the hotel
Location: River location and the Port Wine lodges
very pleasant short break with sites and river all near by
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Comfortable hotel, excellent location.

Posted May 25, 2014
Pros: Comfortable, well equipped and good sized rooms, nice breakfast, helpful staff. The welcome glass of port on arrival was a nice touch.
Location: Excellent location for what we wanted to do - sightseeing, getting to know the old town and Ribeira area, close to the port lodges.
Good sized room, very friendly and helpful staff. If we visited again, we would consider a river view room, rather than city view. Ideal location for exploring the old city, the port lodges and river trips. Lots of reasonably priced restaurants and bars close by.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by None, please from Arlington, VA

Worth Every Penny

Posted May 11, 2014 on Hotels.com
We knew this was going to be a special place before we arrived and were not disappointed. The room was real luxury, and the view was fantastic. (We booked a river view.) The complimentary glass of port when we arrived was a very special touch. The buffet breakfast offered multiple options -- American and European -- and was excellent. The hotel location was great, provided you don't mind walking up a rather steep hill or taking a taxi up the hill to visit the main downtown and some of the major sights. (The hotel also is walking distance to the funicular.) Two slight disappointments: (1) The lack of restaurant variety nearby. There were tons of restaurants, but they had similar menus (please, no more fish and boiled potatoes) and catered almost exclusively to tourists. (2) The hotel staff's reluctance or inability to recommend restaurant options outside of the immediate neighborhood.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

They over booked us

Posted May 3, 2014
We had a confirmed reservation and they overbooked us. They said they booked a group after our reservation and moved us not them. The manager was terrible!