Ratings based on 40 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by marilyn from castle Hill

Outstanding spa with five star hotel

Posted Oct 22, 2013
Pros: Food in restaurant,room comfort and cleanliness,with amazing pool complex
Cons: Maintenance in some rooms
Location: best is hop on hop off bus to give a feel of city. cafe and cake shops short walk
Very exclusive 5* hotel with VIP areas. Room very spacious and well appointed, bed and linen very comfortable but some rooms had no airconditioning. I was fine but minimal soaps and hairwash all other amenities to be asked for. No bathrobe for 3 days. turn down service at night only when US tour in hotel. Outstanding pools spa and amazing hydrotherapy pool,lovely women only sauna wet and dry.Well supervised. Cafe food excellent simple and beautifully cooked lovely friendly staff,very good value. Breakfast a problem getting drinks. Only two people serving coffee.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel but quite far from the centre

Posted Oct 21, 2013
Pros: Friendly staff
Cons: Fixing obvious mechanical problems with the rooms
Location: Pleasant enough but needed a bus ride to the centre of Porto
The hotel was apparently quite luxurious from first appearances, however we immediately had problems as our safe was broken in the room. We notified the hotel reception 3 times over the period of 3 hours , each time being assured it would be mended straight away. Also the air conditioning did not work & the room smelt of sewage. On our return to the room after a short walk, having to take all our money & passports with us, we asked to be moved as the safe had not been sorted. The new room had a safe which worked but the air conditioning was still broken in the new room. We had either to overheat or open the window , which was very noisy as the air conditioning plant was just outside. We did not complain about this as we had lost confidence in the hotel being able to sort any maintenance.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by brandon

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 20, 2013 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
by barcomi from London

Great hotel

Posted Oct 16, 2013 on Hotels.com
Very nice, aircon in the room a bit noisy ... also no Wi-Fi included in the hotel. For a 5 * it should be included ...
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, but watch out for extra charges

Posted Oct 5, 2013
Pros: The hotel itself was beautiful and the room was quite spacious.
Cons: Customer service
Location: Take a tour of a local vineyard with also offers tastings.
The hotel itself was perfect. The front staff wasn't very helpful, especially when asked a basic touring question. I then made 3 local calls to schedule a tour of a nearby vineyard and on check out discovered that they charged me 56 Euros for the calls!!! I was disappointed with my experience with Expedia in booking this hotel as they did not mention the exorbitant parking rate until after I had booked it and received my confirmation. They charged 26 Euro per day! Considering that we were driving through Portugal staying in 5 star hotels, this was a ridiculous amount to be charging in comparison, including Lisbon. As this was a non-refundable booking I figured I would find a local parking lot instead. Upon arriving at the hotel midday, the bellboy advised us to wait until after rush hour to park on the street which was free. He then offered to park the car on the street himself as we were going to check in and wash up. Unfortunately we were too trusting and on check out were charged 40 Euro for a day and a half of parking. The bellboy was embarrassed about this as he went against hotel policy in offering to do so.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Al from Madrid

5 star at reasonable price

Posted Sep 16, 2013
Location: Try the best Indian resturant in Porto across the street from the hotel "Mendi".
Excellent staff, nice outdoor cafe, big grocery next door.
4 out of 5
by Lucy from London

Nice hotel, not in walking distance of anything

Posted Sep 16, 2013
Pros: Search engine
Cons: - Free wifi - Free parking - Extended breakfast options
Location: While the hotel is easy to get to from the motorway, it's not near anything of interest. I bit disappointing
The hotel itself was lovely. It had a great gym and room bar with amazing views. As a 5 star hotel you do ave expectations. Having to pay for wifi (in this modern age) that was also pretty difficult to understand when trying to set up a rate, and having to pay for parking when you're staying in the hotel I thought was very poor. We were staying at the hotel on business and these things just added unnecessary stress. Aside from that, the only breakfast option was a 15 euro buffet which could result in a very expensive coffee and croissant if that's what you wanted. The hotel staff were great though, especially the valet but if you're paying for parking you expect that
2 out of 5
Recommended
by Chastours from London

Pay extra for the pool they advertise as free....

Posted Aug 29, 2013 on Hotels.com
Mixed bag really...lovely rooms with high quality fixtures and fittings but a "pay for everything extra" ethos which included the advertised pool and hats to use in the pool . You can use a different pool but it was the sort of place that would be in a Holiday Inn. Wont be returning
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Helen from Toronto Canada

My 2 day stay at Porto Palacio

Posted Aug 27, 2013
Pros: Liked it all. Location is a bit far from all the action.
Cons: Nothing liked everything
Location: Location is very close to Hwy. Grocery store a few doors down. Nice park nearby.
Terrific in all aspects. Great to welcome customers with a glass of Porto. Room was on a great floor with views of ocean. Bathroom set up is terrific and very modern and clean. Beds were comfortable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Michael from UK

Great for business

Posted May 28, 2013
Good location as easy to get to from the motorway. Taxi required to go into old city centre as a little too far to walk. Excellent spa centre & generous breakfast