Ratings based on 122 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from be

Fabulous hotel.

Posted Sep 6, 2014
Pros: Ambience, great price.
Location: Close to Portifino. Best to leave the car and take the local bus.
Stayed here one night and wished it was longer. What a hotel. Everything you would expect from a 5 star hotel. I would recommend the set menu - local specialty and very well priced.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from B

Outstanding hotel with fantastic views

Posted Aug 30, 2014
Best holiday ever, beautiful hotel, all staff amazing facilities & location superb & close to the stunning Portofino. Would recommend & cannot wait to returning next year.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Exceptional!

Posted Aug 26, 2014
Cons: nothing
Location: Location at the top of the hill is beautiful, set above the town of Rapallo but just an easy 10 min. walk down into town.
I would give this place 6 stars. The staff is incredible! I have never felt more welcome anywhere in my life. They were courteous, helpful, kind and brilliant at their jobs. The dining experience in all restaurants at the hotel was beyond professional, personable and friendly. They really look out for their guests and take care of them. The pool area and sun bathing area is massive and beautiful. The views are unbeatable, and the pool staff and life guards do not miss a beat, ensuring you are comfortable and also safe when swimming in the Sea. The views from the room are amazing. There was live music outside a few of the nights which was nice. The spa/gym, everything was perfect. I went there with the intent to stay for 3 nights and I stayed for almost a week. I joked that they couldn't get rid of me and I wish I was still there. They let me stay longer, and because the room I was in at first was going to be occupied as it was part of a suite, they put me in an even nicer room for the inconvenience!! Also you can take a 30 min. boat to Portofino for the day and the town of Rapallo at the bottom of the hill is great, nice restaurants, cute boutiques...it's small and quaint. I can't say enough wonderful things about this place and I cannot wait to go back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from New York

Fantastic hotel well organised.

Posted Aug 24, 2014
Pros: The location.
Cons: The gym facilities need to be updated and to include additional gym/workout equipment.A
A very enjoyable and relaxing stay. The staff are very attentive, professional and friendly.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from London

Great hotel, very helpful staff

Posted Aug 11, 2014
Cons: The gym which was rather small. It had about 5 cardio machines (of decent quality) and some dum-bells but no weights.
Location: Great location within Rapallo and a very short distance by road to both Santa Margherita and Portofino - although the taxi fares were extortionate.
We were looking for an upmarket hotel with a pool to stay for four nights in one of the resorts close to Portofino. The Excelsior Palace exceeded our expectations in a number of ways - the staff were unbelievably helpful and friendly, the views from the restaurants, bar and swimming pool were beautiful, the swimming pool was one of the nicest that I have ever swam in, the inclusive breakfast was of a high quality and it was very easy and pleasant to enter and swim in the sea from the beach club's terraces.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from calabasas Calif USA

Best deal in Italy

Posted Aug 9, 2014
Pros: Everything
Cons: Restaurant prices are higher than surrounding restaurants but very convenient and again, Marco and food were excellent
Location: Location compares with Amalfi coast and typical shopping, ferry to Portafino and other cities
Excellent hotel and staff. GREAT surprise with their own access to pool, health club and ocean. We were in Verona, Venice, Florence, Forte die Marmi ( waste of time) and Rapallo. Would have skipped Forte die marmi and stayed longer at the Excelsior in Rapallo which was as good or better then Westin ( Venice), Due Torre (Verona) at a lower price with a great breakfast and free parking which ranged from 29-40 euro per day. Internet was 5.5 euros per day which was acceptable and the lowest except for free which is provided in the lobby. Marco at the restaurant was excellent and he is the head guy as there are several Marco's. I am not the easiest person to please and I was very pleased. No complaints from my wife who picked the hotel from the internet and is not impressed easily but was impressed.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from scotland

Excellent staff in lovely hotel

Posted Jul 11, 2014
Pros: Staff and ambience in hotel.
Cons: Availability of Wifi. Comfortable chairs in room. Sound proofing between rooms.
Location: Hotel situated on edge of Rapallo with a short walk into town. Not suitable for physically challegened as climb up hill/steps from road to hotel.
Lovely hotel with very friendly, efficient staff. Good sized room (superior) with comfy large bed and a high table but unfortunately no chairs to relax in or sit to read a book/ watch TV just a hard wooden one at the dressing table - not even a cushion! Because of size of room it seemed slightly empty. We were provided with 2 chairs on our second time of asking but these were two more hard wooden chairs - not really what we had in mind. Would recommend the hotel but room disappointing and don't really think it all-round 5 star standard. Wifi in rooms cost extra (available in lobby/bar but very slow) which in a 5 star hotel in 2014 seems ridiculous. Food and drink good but expensive. Main restaurant was closed for dinner some nights and the beach club restaurant fully booked. As we only had one chair in our room, we couldn't even have room service! There are, however, plenty of nice restaurants in Rapallo area. Breakfast buffet was of a good standard and excellent selection.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from stamford CT

super high-luxury hotel, wonderful location...

Posted Jul 4, 2014
Pros: location, staff, breakfast, view, "space"
Cons: room a little outdated... and no free wifi in the room (seriously?!? it's like running water in 2014...)
Location: too many to describe... you are one shot from Portofino, Paraggi beach and San Fruttuoso... UNBELIEVABLE vacation location... beaches are nice too...
The hotel is located at the end of the city of Rapallo, on the street following the sea-side contour (although the hotel is on the "internal" side). It's a beautifuuuuul, isolated tall building from the beginning of the 20th century, with a wonderful hall for its lobby, great rooms on the ground floor and an unbelievable terrace with a view on the Portofino bay. The location is simply super... The staff is friendly and supportive (tough to see otherwise in a 5* plus hotel, right?), and even the food at breakfast is divine (esspecially when you couple it with the view and the gorgeous weather I was lucky to enjoy). The room itself was nice and clean, although the decor was average, and the carpet must have seen better times. Again, nothing really wrong with it, but not on par with the rest.... I'd certainly recommend it to anybody, especially if you are able to catch the same rate I caught (330 USD with breakfast for 2 included... a steal for this quality...)
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Diego

Superior Hotel- obvious best Rapallo option

Posted Jun 29, 2014
The people made this experience excellent- all great and no exceptions. The lifeguards clean the ocean to make a better swimming environment Pool was amazing! Views to neighboring village and cities from the infinity edge Breakfast had all options including omelette station and champagne, espresso, cappuccino - only negatives were $ for spotty wifi (just charge the $5 extra per day and make it more dependable) Bed not very comfortable
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Italy for the weekend!

Posted Jun 16, 2014
Pros: The hotel overall was excellent
Cons: The gym lacked any weights .... Three elipticle/treadmills... Not good for the fitness enthusiast ...
Location: Located on a great sea side exclusive swim area, close to Portifino by Vespa, and walking to Rapallo.
Our stay at the excelsior was OUTSTANDING.... We planned only two nights and were so pleased with the hotel and location we extended our stay and skipped Florence. The hotel's staff, condition, location, water front, restaurants, lounge were all perfect.