Ratings based on 11 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by PS from NY

Wonderful castle

Posted Jul 2, 2014 on Hotels.com
We absolutely loved our time here. A beautiful castle perched above the sea and the most charming town on the Italian Riviera. Wonderful views and food at the restaurant as well, including at breakfast. Only imperfection is that wifi is a bit spotty. Would love to return.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Absolutely wonderful!

Posted May 31, 2014 on Hotels.com
Grand Hotel dei Castelli is probably the most beautiful place I have ever stayed. The grounds are beautiful, the private beach area is fantastic, the room was really lovely. Everything was perfection! The expensive dinner wasn't my favorite - that was the only slight negative I could come up with. The concierge service was outstanding, beyond the call of duty! I highly recommend this hotel! I hope I'll be able to return there for a longer stay in the future.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

wonderful spot

Posted Mar 30, 2014
The manager and staff were outstanding in accommodating us through a reservation misunderstanding. this is by far the best place to stay nearby cinque terre.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 1, 2013 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Ed V. from Los Angeles

A grand castle

Posted Jun 20, 2013 on Hotels.com
This castle is almost spookily large and definitely has a feel of historic grandeur. Our room was large and well lit. Breakfast was very good. The hotel is about a 10 minute walk to town. Fortunately the hotel which sits atop a hill has an elevator (very long ride down) to get to the water so no hill climbing is needed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Amazing experience, great views and grounds!

Posted May 1, 2013 on Hotels.com
One of the best views on our Italian Riviera trip. The experience of staying in a castle and walking around the grounds was truly special. Our room (standard double) had a very nice view of the garden, high ceilings and a very large bathroom.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by andrea

Absolutely Fabulous!

Posted Jun 3, 2012 on Hotels.com
Truly a wonderful stay - fabulous hotel, fabulous hotel staff, fabulous location, fabulous coffee. Went by way too quickly. The only tiny wrinkle was that the bar and dining staff was not as professional as they could have been. The rest of the hotel and the staff were so fabulous though that this could be overlooked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Albany, New York

Fabulesimo Castle Hotel

Posted Sep 24, 2011
This was one of the best hotels and definitely the best castle I have stayed in! We had a great room overlooking the water. The room was more than a room as it had a foyer, a sitting area and a really nice bathroom. The staff (including Rafeala who checked us in) were friendly and helpful and all spoke excellent English (important if you don't know much Italian as was our case). The hotel also has a nice area for swimming right off the rocks, which we liked better than the town's sand beach. Andrea took good care of us with beverages and appertif snacks! The place was perfect for our 25th Wedding Anniversary and I would go back in a heartbeat. Loved it!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

lovely Grand Hotel dei Castilli

Posted Jul 14, 2011 on Hotels.com
Lovely hotel - beautiful location. Fantastic sea water swimming pool. Friendly staff - excellent food. Would definitely go back.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA

Good Things and Bad Things

Posted Jun 12, 2011
This hotel is a renovated castle, It sits on top of a hill with stunning views overlooking Sestri Levante, both beach and city. The hotel grounds are beautiful. We stayed in a suite, which wasn't exactly a suite but was instead a quite large room with a sofa and two chairs in addition to the bed. The mattress on the bed was so hard that is was perhaps the most uncomfortable bed my husband and I had ever slept on. The air conditioner was a bit psychotic, and there wasn't a real relation between the thermostat setting and the termperature in the room. It was either too warm or freezing. The AC fan made a loud noise which we asked the front desk to attend to. They never did. The safe in the closet also didn't work. We asked the front desk to solve that as well, but they never even came to look at it. The water closet (toilette) smelled like a swamp, which was a definite ambience killer. Our suite (room 66) was supposed to be a high-end room but was right over the restaurant/bar and even with our windows closed we were tormented by late night partying in the bar, and early morning dish clinking as the staff set up for breakfast. We did have a large deck with spectacular views, but the chaise lounge chairs had dirty and hard "cushions". The wrought iron patio chairs had no cushions at all, and the table and chairs were quite dirty as well. Overall, beautiful location, but the hotel itself is a bit rough around the edges.