Ratings based on 25 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by Charles from Florida

Hotel Caters to Europeans who drive

Posted Sep 20, 2013
Pros: Out side appearance and public spaces.
Cons: Staff could have written info for guess regarding how to operate AC, transportation, restaurants, Security of keys and safe is a must.
Location: Five minute walk downtown and 20 minute rigorous walk up hill. The bus ride is E1.50 vs E15.00 by Taxi.
The public spaces were beautiful and great views from the solarium. The ceiling in the bathroom was so low my 6 foot husband hit his head on the ceiling several times if he forgot to bend over. The A/C was very difficult to control. The safe so small it could be lifted out of the closet and placed under you coat. Room keys were hanging by the front door not supervised. Five minute walk downtown and 20 minute rigorous walk up hill. The bus ride is E1.50, however not always at the time we wanted resulting in E15.00 taxi ride. I expected this rate with baggage, but even w/o baggage E15. This hotel caters to Europeans who drive. The staff spoke very little English and I mean very little and made no attempt to understand my broken Italian. One gentleman who worked the late shift was helpful with train information and would not accept tip. There were no English speaking TV channels. I would not recommend this hotel for anyone arriving by train or did not speak Italian.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Marion & Ian from New zealand

Lovely old building

Posted Sep 12, 2013 on Hotels.com
An amazing building with a fantastic view from a big rooftop. Nice breakfast. Easy stroll to the sea and town centre. But the bed was tooooooo hard and the shower was no good. Liked the place very much though!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Marion & ian from New Zealand

Fantastic place

Posted Sep 10, 2013 on Hotels.com
Loved the old building and its many sitting areas, especially the rooftop and little tower. Great views from there. Could walk from there to the waterfront and the town centre.breakfast included, smorgasbord type. But the bed was rock hard and the shower a joke. Wifi only available from the beautiful formal lounge downstairs.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Liz

Nice hotel, walking distance to downtown

Posted Aug 27, 2013
We stayed there only one night and it was an OK experience. Room was clean & comfortable enough. Building is very nice and interesting, although once you're inside the room it is no different than a regular 3 star hotels. Although it is located on a hill, it is still walking distance to beach & restaurants at night. It might be hard with kids & strollers though because there isn't a sidewalk when the hill starts & it is curvy, so t can be dangerous to walk down. Parking was a challenge due to an additional curvy hill in front of the hotel. Stay there for a night or 2 but look for easier to access places for longer vacations.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Bruce from California

Posted Aug 11, 2013 on Hotels.com
Hotels.com has inaccurate info re this hotel. There is no onsite bar nor is there shuttle service to the train. Very interesting converted villa, but staff speaks limited english to the point it is a problem if your italian is weak.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Iliyana from Sofia

The most disgusting hotel that ever seen

Posted Aug 3, 2013 on Hotels.com
This hotel was terrible, small room, old furnished, torn sheets, there was disgusting smell in the whole hotel; This hotel is not 2 stars, probably is hostel / pansion. In my reservation was written free parking, but there was no free space. There was a woman who did not speak any other language except french. I saw the room and I refused to stay. Also they charged me one 90 EUR.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Right price, great location and parking

Posted Jul 30, 2013 on Hotels.com
This hotel was perfect for us in that being off the bustling seaside and having parking for our car were two important features. It's a 7 minute walk to the port where you can enjoy all the wonderful food, drink and shopping that SML has to offer. The hotel itself is understated, though it is in a beautiful old castle. The rooms are clean, but with little decor. The staff was friendly and we enjoyed a delicious continental breakfast each morning. Would definitely recommend.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Drew from Atlanta

Very conveniently located

Posted Jun 1, 2013 on Hotels.com
The La Vela Hotel is very grand well located with an excellent view over the bay and city .Breakfast was very nice.Only downside was that it is close and above the train tracks and there are lots of trains
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Lesley from Milford Auckland NZ

Nice hotel

Posted Feb 4, 2013
Pros: The view and the lobby
Cons: probably not having a swimming pool
Location: Great location
This was a well priced hotel in a good area. The driveway was a little steep but we have experienced worse in Italy. The staff were extremely helpful and the room we had was comfortable and clean . Breakfast was nice , coffee and tea available at all times. The added bonus of free WIFI and parking was a bonus. Would go back if we visited this area in the future.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by helen

not very welcoming

Posted Oct 10, 2012 on Hotels.com
Ok but nothing to rave about. Small dark room.