Ratings based on 19 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by Charles from Florida

Hotel Caters to Europeans who drive

Posted Sep 20, 2013
Pros: Out side appearance and public spaces.
Cons: Staff could have written info for guess regarding how to operate AC, transportation, restaurants, Security of keys and safe is a must.
Location: Five minute walk downtown and 20 minute rigorous walk up hill. The bus ride is E1.50 vs E15.00 by Taxi.
The public spaces were beautiful and great views from the solarium. The ceiling in the bathroom was so low my 6 foot husband hit his head on the ceiling several times if he forgot to bend over. The A/C was very difficult to control. The safe so small it could be lifted out of the closet and placed under you coat. Room keys were hanging by the front door not supervised. Five minute walk downtown and 20 minute rigorous walk up hill. The bus ride is E1.50, however not always at the time we wanted resulting in E15.00 taxi ride. I expected this rate with baggage, but even w/o baggage E15. This hotel caters to Europeans who drive. The staff spoke very little English and I mean very little and made no attempt to understand my broken Italian. One gentleman who worked the late shift was helpful with train information and would not accept tip. There were no English speaking TV channels. I would not recommend this hotel for anyone arriving by train or did not speak Italian.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Liz

Nice hotel, walking distance to downtown

Posted Aug 27, 2013
We stayed there only one night and it was an OK experience. Room was clean & comfortable enough. Building is very nice and interesting, although once you're inside the room it is no different than a regular 3 star hotels. Although it is located on a hill, it is still walking distance to beach & restaurants at night. It might be hard with kids & strollers though because there isn't a sidewalk when the hill starts & it is curvy, so t can be dangerous to walk down. Parking was a challenge due to an additional curvy hill in front of the hotel. Stay there for a night or 2 but look for easier to access places for longer vacations.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Lesley from Milford Auckland NZ

Nice hotel

Posted Feb 4, 2013
Pros: The view and the lobby
Cons: probably not having a swimming pool
Location: Great location
This was a well priced hotel in a good area. The driveway was a little steep but we have experienced worse in Italy. The staff were extremely helpful and the room we had was comfortable and clean . Breakfast was nice , coffee and tea available at all times. The added bonus of free WIFI and parking was a bonus. Would go back if we visited this area in the future.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by helen

not very welcoming

Posted Oct 10, 2012 on Hotels.com
Ok but nothing to rave about. Small dark room.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Nino

La Vela In SML Review

Posted Sep 26, 2012 on Hotels.com
This was a very different kind of hotel. Not different in a bad way, just different. Think medieval castle. If that’s your thing, then this hotel would be perfect for you. It is definitely unique and unlike any other hotel I’ve ever stayed. What it didn’t have in modern amenities, it made up for in character and old world charm. It really is an old castle! The room – although dated – was clean and the bed was a little hard. However, the staff was friendly and there was plenty of free parking. It was about a 15 minute walk to the center of town. It was an easy walk going there as it was all downhill. However, since this castle was situated at the top of the hill, coming home was all uphill. If you’re not in decent shape or have hip/knee issues, you’ll have to drive to town.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by confusedcarrot from bath

good value in a very high price area

Posted Sep 11, 2012
Apart from the 2 singles pushed together in our double room. The hotel was really lovely. They bend over backwards to help and assist you. Breakfast was ace.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Serviceable but no grace

Posted Sep 9, 2012 on Hotels.com
The hotel is in a very nice building with great views, but needs some capital and human investment. Staff were mostly cool and unfriendly. I had forgotten some things and getting them back was an ordeal. It took three phone calls to confirm that they had found them. There is a steep and winding entrance road, so parking is an adventure, but it is included. Breakfast, also included in our reasonable rate, was good.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jon from London

Cheap for a stopover

Posted Aug 28, 2012
Pros: Staying in an old castle with nice views
Cons: Parking and the musical chairs when taking your car out
Location: Walking distance to the centre, but up on a slope and a little further than other hotels. Can't complain if you want to save money on room and parking
Basic hotel with clean rooms but do not expect comfort. Dated furniture in a very nice building, but they could have done much better with updating the rooms and restoring the castle to its former glory. The price is cheap for the area, but I expected a little more comfort. Parking is free, but you have to be comfortable reversing down a spiral slope... not recommended for the faint hearted.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by world traveler

Posted Jul 23, 2012 on Hotels.com
Everything was OK, since we stay only two days. The parking space is very limited and despite of the help of the hotel staff it is difficult to move your car since there are 10 to 12 cars parked in a very small parking lot. To visit the town center you have to walk the street which have a busy traffic and there are no sidewalks or you have to take an stair alley with a lot of steps and no handrails. The hotel is lovely in it's style and for a short stay is a good choice.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Kiwi couple from New Zealand

Nice character hotel

Posted Jul 2, 2012
Pros: cool character building, spacious room, breakfast and onsite parking
Location: relatively centrally located with view
Lovely hotel located within walking distance to town. Parking available onsite up steep twisting driveway which must provide some good entertainment at times. Good breakfast and we stayed in a spacious room. Good view from hotel rooftop. No lift so be prepared to lug bags up the stairs. Can hear the odd train during the night but this wasn't an issue for us at all. La Vela is located in the hilly part of town so if you are adverse to steps it would be best to stay nearer the waterfront where it is more flat.