Ratings based on 35 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Pepperell, MA, USA

The Palace in Santa Margherita

Posted Sep 20, 2014
Pros: Clean, professional, great location, ample room, great breakfast, parking available.
Cons: Just bigger shower in Room 304.
We met our family from London in Santa Margherita for 4 nights. With no children on this trip, it was important to have a good location and comfortable quarters. The Santa Margherita Palace was perfect. They accommodate parking. There is a pleasant outdoor sitting area with couches to meet. There is another location inside the lobby to meet before you leave for the day. The staff is very professional and helpful. There is a very ample breakfast selection and bar. The room that we had (304) was great with lots of room and a small table with chairs. There were sufficient storage for clothes. There is a mini-bar with good choices. The main bathroom is a good size. The only drawback was that the shower required contortions for a tall, big American. If the door open out instead of in, it would have been easier. Hotel is located just two blocks from the water and a short walk to banks, boats to Portofino and beyond to other sites. The nearby Hotel Helios has a private deck with pool and sea swimming plus chairs/chaise for $25 Euros. There is a public beach next to it. Recommendations for restaurant: Taverna del Marinaio - near the waterfront: $$$ Angolo 48: $$ Side street
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston

Exceptionally nice, mod hotel,

Posted Jul 26, 2014
Super nice hotel. actually nicer than some stuffy 5-star hotels that are just overdone. Very sharp mod design was a refreshing change. Freshly renovated. Top notch staff Paulo was great! Beautiful courtyard oasis. Steps to waterfront but better location unless you like the constant buzz of mopeds along main drag. You will not find better than this place
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 23, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by James from UK

Fantastic hotel, great service and location!

Posted Jun 19, 2014 on Hotels.com
This hotel is fantastic and in a great location. The rooms are decorated lovely, very chic!. The staff are very friendly and helpful. We ended up staying an extra night as it was such a great spot. Highly recommend this hotel *****
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Great location, clean hotel

Posted Apr 13, 2014 on Hotels.com
Hotel was modern and clean and room was nice.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Mima from Santo Domingo

Wonderful!

Posted Mar 19, 2014 on Hotels.com
everything was just perfect, one block from the train station, the staff were extremely nice and helpful, the breakfast very good and many things to choose from. One block from the sea. Room good size, very clean and modern. everything was perfect!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Sharon from San Jose California

Very nice modern property in the perfect location!

Posted Feb 28, 2014
Pros: Everything!
Cons: The only improvement I can think of is the mattresses are hard but I think that is standard in Italy. Every place we stayed at the beds were hard.
Location: Location was perfect. You can rent bicycles and sightsee, Portofino and Comoglie are fun places to visit, sailing and scuba activities or beach it.
From the moment we arrived the staff at The Palace had a warm greeting and were extremely accommodating. A party of 5 we rented the two bedroom apartment which was picture perfect and provided all the comforts one requires. The d├ęcor was modern and tastefully done with a small kitchen which was fully equipped. Both bedrooms were roomy and comfortable and had flat screen televisions. Bathrooms were very clean which is a top priority for me. After traveling throughout Italy for thee past 8 days and staying at some pretty bad places this property was a great treat for all of us. The location is in walking distance to everything, the beach, train station which is a short 5-10 minute walk, bus stop 5 minutes and plenty of restaurants to choose from as well as shopping. The breakfast was also very good with a variety of cereals, pastries, meats, cheeses, juices, etc. I loved the fact that the hotel manager greeted everyone with a big warm smile. During my trip my bag was stolen with my passport in it, when I needed to print documents to apply for an emergency passport the manager was kind enough to let me use his office computer and printer. I loved this property and would highly recommend it! This is just an fyi if you book the apartment note that it is a block away from the hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Michele from Laguna Beach, CA

Outstanding Italian design and hospitality

Posted Feb 27, 2014 on Hotels.com
From the minute we walked into the dark marble lobby with ultra modern Italian design we knew we were in for something special. This is a 3 minute walk down the hill from the train station (DON'T get a cab - he charged us 20 euros to go 300 yards!). The front desk staff to a person was unbelievably helpful and went out of their way at every turn. The room is very large by European standards with desk, table and chairs and 2 closets. Bathroom was very clean (all in black granite/marble) and quite spacious with a wonderful shower. The bed is a little on the hard side but I'd rather have that than too soft - lots of pillows and great sheets. The breakfast is fantastic - fruit, veggies, fabulous breads and croissants, eggs, meats. We never ate lunch because breakfast was so filling. The staff made reservations and recommendations for restaurants so we were totally taken care of. Santa Margarita is a gem of a town and a great place to stay to see Cinque Terre (although why you would want to is beyond me). We walked the 3 miles into Portofino for the best day ever and did Comiglia another day - 1 stop by train. Lots to see in Santa Margarita and we highly recommend both this hotel and the city. We would definitely stay there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from nj

Phenominal

Posted Feb 22, 2014
Fantastic staff!!! Great location. Super ckean. Very modern. Loved and returning soon!!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Tracy from NYC

Great location and excellent, accommodating staff.

Posted Feb 3, 2014
Great location - close to all shops and even a cinema. Excellent staff (very knowledgeable about the town, accommodating to specific requests, helpful with directions, and simply seemed happy to be there). Beautiful hotel with great steam room and sauna, and lovely modern breakfast room (limited in breakfast during slow season: pastries, Kellogg's cereal, toast - no oatmeal or wholesome natural foods). Great cappuccinos and awesome tea selection however. Interior design isn't as much of a 'European' vibe, as it is very modern - black & white and new age, so if you're looking for a more traditional Italian feeling hotel, this might not be for you (photos show it perfectly though - caters more towards those of who love newer, brighter, cleaner, more modern North American hotels.) Staff speaks english very well and many other dialects. Rooms kept very clean each day and linens always stocked in bathroom. Overall amazing hotel - extremely impressed with worth for price.