Ratings based on 245 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 14, 2015
For visiting The University of New Hampshire this is a well-located and inexpensive alternative to Portsmouth hotels. We have stayed here several times when visiting our daughter at UNH and are likely to use it often if our son also enrolls there this fall. We are budget-conscious/no frills travelers yet prefer to be within walking distance of restaurants and shopping. This hotel provides that.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

decent inexpensive hotel

Posted Jan 8, 2015
Decent inexpensive hotel, good location for downtown Dover. Walls thin, heard neighbors when they got loud, but what can you do, just turned up the tv.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good location, rundown

Posted Dec 14, 2014
Hotel smelled musty and old. Hasn't been renovated in a while, 80's.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom sherbrooke, qc

day inn dover

Posted Nov 24, 2014
Pros: well situated
Cons: it's an old building so a bit of renovation could be good. It was a bit cold in the bathroom.
Location: in downtown near retaurants, near golf course
good staff, decent room, in downtown near retaurants. It is good for a short stay and inexpensive.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Visiting New Hampshire

Posted Oct 31, 2014 on Hotels.com
The front desk help was very friendly. The rooms were clean and overall comfortable but the pillows were a bit too thick for my liking. A bit hard to find initially due to the way the steets are configured but after the first time figured it out. Breakfast adequate, but also a nice coffee house right across the street.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by maryanne howellfrom pembroke ma

Posted Oct 20, 2014 on Hotels.com
very nic and comfortable, clean
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom London,UK

October in New England

Posted Oct 17, 2014
Pros: Location, Staff, Comfortable Beds, Decent TV, Free WiFi, Car Park
Cons: WiFi signal is a bit intermittent. You can get online but it takes a long time and then regularly disconnects you. Doubt this would take much to fix.
Location: Located on Central Avenue, the heart of Dover. Walking distance to local shops, restaurants and walks. The Apple Festival in Oct is a nice day out.
This hotel does exactly what it says on the tin so to speak. No, it isn't the Hilton but then again you aren't paying Hilton prices. The rooms were of sufficient size though the bathrooms are a little small but then again I find that in most hotels these days. I've only marked it down slightly on room cleanliness as I thought the bathroom could have been cleaned better but having said that, there were no major issues with it, but the floor needed a bit of a brush or a swish with the mop and that wasn't done. The staff were helpful and polite at all times and helped me immensely before, during and after my stay. I couldn't have found more efficient staff anywhere, particularly Nick and Jimmy. Well done guys - I'm grateful to you. The pool and hot tub looked nice but weren't practical unless you were housed in the main section of the building as you'd have to walk across the car park to use it. Not practical this time of year and I don't get what the architect/designer was thinking of when they drew up the plans. Not the fault of the staff though. On my next visit I shall be sure to ask for a room that's near to poolside.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Annafrom North Reading

General review

Posted Oct 14, 2014 on Hotels.com
Parking is very limited.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 14, 2014 on Hotels.com
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not the nicest place

Posted Oct 14, 2014
Cons: Updating it would help
Old building run down, not the most appealing place to stay.