Ratings based on 200 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Billerica, MA

Great rates, nice clean rooms, close to downtown

Posted Nov 11, 2014
Pros: Rates, location, cleanliness.
Cons: The elevator is slow, but not a deal breaker
Location: Only minutes away from downtown Portsmouth and the shopping outlets. Right off the highway.
I've stayed at the Holiday Inn Portsmouth several times now, and the rooms are clean, the staff is courteous, and it is only minutes away from downtown Portsmouth and the shopping outlets. We've also found the rates have been really reasonable, so I would stay here anytime.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Cincinnati, OH

Nice place to stay--a little far from town.

Posted Oct 15, 2014
Pros: See above
Cons: See above
Location: Portsmouth is full of history. Also lots of shopping. We took a fall foliage tour which was wonderful. Definately a great place to visit.
The hotel staff was very nice. The location is not ideal for visiting Portsmouth as it is on the outskirts of town. However, downtown parking is easy. The staff was very accomodating. We booked a queen bed but they quickly changed the reservations to two beds on my request. I was disappointed with their business center which consisted of one computer in the library off the main entrance. Also the elevator gets a bit busy and I was surprised to see one of the staff using it for waste disposal. I suspect that there is no service elevator. Not at all a bad place to stay if you are visiting Portsmouth on holiday as I was.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom NJ

This was bad very bad

Posted Oct 14, 2014
Pros: Not much
Cons: Customer service
Well I called a liar here.I booked king sized regular room they put me in a handicapped room and tried to tell me it wasnt a handicapped room. Finally moved me to a room with a broken door. All this and rude treatment from front desk staff led to a bad stay
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom CT

Pretty good hotel. Could use some touch ups.

Posted Sep 5, 2014
Pros: only about a mile from Market Street activities.
Cons: Chair in room was all cracked, time to replace. Vanity in bathroom also could use some sanding/repainting and our tub didn't drain when we showered.
Location: Roundabout diner was excellent.
Room was comfortable, nice and quiet. Short car ride from activities we were interested in. Room could use some tlc.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointing

Posted Aug 25, 2014
I was dissapointed by the condition of the room (carpet stains, chipped furniture, worn mattress, etc.) and the cleanliness. I've stayed at better maintained Holiday Inns. Also, while the room rate was cheaper than other hotels and the parking was free, it would have been more enjoyable to stay within walking distance of downtown Portsmouth.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by CKfrom Tampa

convenient location

Posted Aug 21, 2014 on Hotels.com
Everything was fine, just what you would expect from a Holiday Inn for a family (4 in a room) stay. conveniently located off the legendary NH traffic circle, 5 minute drive to downtown Portsmouth, 10 minutes to Maine. Parking was a little tight if getting back to the hotel in the evening.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom auburn, ma

First impression

Posted Aug 20, 2014
The first step into out room there was an odor of urine. The room was small and somewhat outdated ceiling,wallpaper. Thebathroom was dirty and not supllied the staple items. Although the stay was ok at best, it was very close to all the attractions. They really need to focus on the details of first impressions and the cleanliness of the rooms they offer. There are many other hotels in the area that they will lose business too if they dont step up their game. Thanks
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Pembroke, MA

Nice hotel handy to downtown Portsmouth.

Posted Aug 18, 2014
Pros: Close to downtown Portsmouth without the hefty price tag.
Cons: Elevators. One slow elevator is not nearly enough to accommodate all the guests.
Location: Handy to downtown Portsmouth where we enjoyed sightseeing, dining, drinking and shopping.
We spent more time enjoying downtown Portsmouth, so the room suited us just fine.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 16, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Providence RI

Good value for the money.

Posted Aug 15, 2014
Pros: The room was clean and comfortable. The front desk staff were friendly and helpful.
Cons: There is only one elevator in the hotel. This meant long waits to go up and down since the hotel was nearly full during the summer days we were there.
Location: Portsmouth, NH, has lots of good restaurants, shopping, and sightseeing, including boat tours. Lots of interesting coastline to in NH and Maine.
My wife and I stayed here for a four-night getaway in coastal New Hampshire. The hotel is close to the Interstate, and a short drive away from the center of Portsmouth. There are other hotels in the center of town but they are much more expensive.