Ratings based on 241 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very Nice Hotel Right Off the Highway

Posted Apr 8, 2015
Pros: Convenience, cleanliness, and comfortability
Cons: Nothing I could see
Location: Great location and great price
This hotel was clean, comfortable, and convenient. The price made it exceptionally good.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

One or 2 days tops

Posted Mar 8, 2015
Pros: Hotel Staff
Cons: Furnishings
Thin walls. Outdated furniture. Low pressure in shower and blocked tub. Only one garbage can in full room. However, when next room was still partying at 4am, staff immediately came up to quiet them. And the check in staff was curteous and helpful
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Bangor Maine

The pool was a hot tub

Posted Feb 24, 2015
Pros: the staff was nice
Cons: the appearance in the rooms and the pool
Location: we had fun driving around Portsmouth
we were looking forward to this two night getaway. Upon arrival the elevator was Dow and they had us on the fourth floor. Where my husband has suffered three strokes I didn't feel comfortable with him walking that many stairs. So we were put on the second floor. The room had no table a desk chair with no desk. It had no ventilation in the bathroom so the ceilings had mold. We made the journey to the pool only to get in and it was literally too hot to stay in. Plus it was very dirty. I am very upset that this was not the hotel I remembered from six years ago.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Hudson Valley, NY

Honeymoon in the Great White North

Posted Feb 17, 2015
Pros: Location. Pool. Comfortable & good price
We only had 2nights for a quick getaway- Portsmouth, NH has been one of our go to places - Red Hook Brewing, the Kittery shops, we even went to the beach (had to climb a 10 ft snow bank to see the water, but worth it!) It was snowing hard when we got to the Holiday Inn & more the next day. The hotel staff were awesome - very friendly, asked if we needed anything. Comfortable room - excellent food. We'll be back!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Milwaukee

Staff was super friendly and efficient.

Posted Jan 25, 2015
Staff from the front desk, to cleaning and MX couldn't have been nicer. Hotel was clean and comfortable. Some items in the room showed a little wear, but overall excellent
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Maribethfrom New York

A great stay for a couple or family.

Posted Jan 19, 2015 on Hotels.com
My fiancé and I stayed one night in January at the HI in Portsmouth. Check in was easy, the room was clean, and everything was basically great. It's also VERY close to everything in the citY, access to Route 1 is about ten feet from the hotel. Surpringsly, no smoke smell like in other hotels with smoking rooms. My only complaint really has nothing to do with this HI, but the hotel chain in general. I booked the room through hotels.com (which was super easy) and when I got to the hotel they said they need to have a credit card incase of any damages (this is standard, and was expected) but then what they didn't tell me is that they charge that card $25 ahead of time for incidentals. When I got home two days later there was a charge from the hotel for this amount and so I did a Google search and found other people in the same boat, and one hotel manager responded with saying as long as there are no damages/charges it will come off. I would have been totally fine with this, if they had just told me. Now I'm watching my account like crazy to make sure it comes off. It seemed sketchy and dishonest. But- other than that the hotel was amazing so if I had known that (which you now do if you've read this) it would have been perfect.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Philipfrom Virginia

OK but needs improvement

Posted Jan 15, 2015 on Hotels.com
The room was nice and clean - except for the foul smell coming from the elevator and in my hall for much of my stay. The fitness room needs at least one resistance weight machine, not just cardio machines.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by gretchenfrom Collingswood, NJ

Nice place!

Posted Jan 14, 2015 on Hotels.com
It was brief but nice. Not far from the city center.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom MA

Nice hotel within 20 min walk of downtown.

Posted Jan 5, 2015
Hotel was great. Staff was friendly, room was comfortable. I recommend the breakfast option when booking. The food was great (diner style, not buffet or continental), and much cheaper for 2+ people than buying breakfast separately. My only very minor complaint was finding previous guests' trash behind furniture on room.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 5, 2015 on Hotels.com