Ratings based on 212 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified travelerfrom Searsport, ME

Great to meet client on business.

Posted Nov 20, 2014
Met client in spacious dining area in early afternoon with enough background noise to add an element of privacy. After meeting, able to spread out in Suite and work. Buffet dinner and breakfast were excellent and the shuttle in and out of the city was most convenient. Always try to stay at Homewood Suites when traveling on business; maybe even for pleasure. Staff is excellent, courteous, professional and friendly. Could not ask for better! Thanks.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Fredericton, NB

Christmas Shopping 2014

Posted Nov 18, 2014
Pros: That the hotel was very clean, quiet and the staff was great.
Cons: A hot tub would be an amazing addition.
Location: We were just across the river from Kittery, ME so we were able to hit up the Premium Outlets there. If you're willing to travel an hour there are more
I will defiantely stay at this hotel again when I return to Portsmouth, NH. The hotel was very clean and the suite we had was amazing. It had a kitchenette in it so we were able to make meals instead of eating out all the time. The breakfast buffet was top notch. They had hot foods as well as normal buffet style food. I will deinately be returning!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom bergen county, nj

Homewood suites

Posted Nov 12, 2014
Pros: was pleasantly surprised by how the kitchen was stocked
Cons: there was a little bit of rust on the handicap grab rail in shower but that didn't bother or affect us
Location: Location was close to downtown which was very nice. the hotel itself was on a secluded cul de sac
we had a great time, plenty of room. the dinner and breakfast was good my son loved the pool
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Ottawa, Canada

Very comfortable hotel in a parkland like setting.

Posted Aug 31, 2014
Pros: Nice setting, nicely landscaped,good service from staff and convenient location to freeway and downtown Portsmouth NH uand Kittery shopping
Cons: Breakfast room was nice ,but food serving area was not well laid out as cereals were on one side while milk and dairy was on other. Too much traffic.
Location: Nice area for walk ,nice grounds convenient to centre of town and freeway. Great spotforfamilies and those with pets.
This hotel is slightly out of centre town Portsmouth,but is in a nice parkland setting. Great beds and well appointed king suite and we were very satisfied with our king suite room,very clean and comfortable. Breakfast was just okay ,nothing special, but we did not expect it to be gourmet and we were satisfied with the hotel overall and would go there again for quality of accommodation and nicely manicured grounds .
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 3, 2014 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Ted, Thank you for your recent stay with us and for taking the time to review your experience for Expedia. We're pleased to hear that our quiet location and well-appointed suites have earned us your 5-star recommendation to fellow travelers. We appreciate your feedback and hope to host your next visit to Portsmouth. Best, Joshua Smith, GM
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Ottawa, CA

Nice quiet location!

Posted Aug 28, 2014
Pros: King suite was great! Nice location!
Cons: Updating the rooms. Washing the floors in the kitchen area of the suite. Front desk staff were easily frustrated and overwhelmed when it was busy.
Location: Great location not far from downtown Portsmouth. Should visit the USS Albacore, and if possible the Merrimack Premium Outlets for shopping.
This hotel was very conveniently located! Not far from the downtown hub, but far enough away to avoid the chaos and craziness of trying to find parking in downtown Portsmouth! The daily breakfast was very good! (Only suggestion would be to serve it past 9:00am on weekdays...not everyone has kids and eats early, especially when on holidays.) The rooms were nice and clean, (except for the kitchen laminate floor...it needed a good scrubbing, not just a quick swipe with a mop), but somewhat in need of updating. They have recently updated the main lobby and fitness centre but need to continue into the guest rooms. The beds were comfortable and pillows were plentiful! They have a great area for dogs and offer bags to clean up after them! Overall this was a very nice hotel and we would stay there again.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 20, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom peterborough, nh

Spacious and clean in the city of Portsmouth

Posted Aug 18, 2014
Very pleased with the amount of space in the room - we have two young children, and with a separate living room area, they had space to play we slept a little longer in the morning. Breakfast was ok, but the location was great - close to beaches and the center of Portsmouth .
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Sarafrom Ithaca

Nice rooms and great shuttle into town

Posted Aug 17, 2014 on Hotels.com
Nice studio suite with great little kitchen. The hotel is located within walking distance of cute downtown, but it is a bit of a hike. Even better is the shuttle which is really convenient.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 25, 2014 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Sara, Thank you for your recent stay with us and for taking the time to review your experience for Hotels.com. We're pleased to hear that our convenient location and complimentary shuttle have earned us your 5-star recommendation to fellow travelers. We value your business and hope you'll make us your home away from home in Portsmouth. Best, Joshua Smith, GM
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by Kimofvtfrom NH

Posted Aug 15, 2014 on Hotels.com
Very accommodating! Staff friendly!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Bremerton, WA

Nice stay for families

Posted Aug 12, 2014
This hotel worked out great for us. We spent a full week there. The breakfast was pretty good and dinner is offered Monday through Thursday. The pool is on the small side and no spa or sauna. Our room had a funky smell but not enough to switch or move. Overall it was a pleasant stay. The staff was very friendly and helpful.