Ratings based on 285 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 29, 2014
The king suite is a great room...you have your own little aparment set up with everything you need. The room was spotless and very modern. We really enjoyed having all the space that we had.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great experience

Posted Jul 22, 2014
Clean hotel with beautiful huge room. Awesome staff and amazing free breakfast. Close to everything downtown Portsmouth.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 25, 2014 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your recent stay with us and for taking the time to review your experience for Expedia. We're pleased to hear that our beautiful accommodations, awesome staff, complimentary breakfast, and convenient downtown location earned us your 5-star recommendation to the travel community. We value your business and look forward to hosting your next visit to Portsmouth. Best, Christopher Moulton, GM
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NYC

Extremely clean bright hotel in town

Posted Jul 21, 2014
Within walking distance of everything. Very clean and spacious. Loved how windows opened to get some fresh air, although AC very good if want a chilled room. Staff extremely friendly (although maybe a little too much of asking us how our day was going...).
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 28, 2014 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your recent stay with us and for the 5-star review on Expedia. We're happy to hear that you enjoyed our convenient location, spacious accommodations, and friendly staff. We value your feedback and hope to host your next visit to Portsmouth. Best, Christopher Moulton, GM
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from lone tree, co

Great hotel!

Posted Jul 18, 2014
Very clean, rooms are great size, bathrooms are big! Loved it!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston, MA

Loved the hotel!

Posted Jul 7, 2014
Loved the hotel! Great breakfast and very friendly and helpful staff. Definitely recommend!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 10, 2014 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Carrie, Thank you for the 5-star rating on Expedia! We're happy to hear that you loved our hotel and enjoyed our great breakfast and friendly staff. We look forward to having you back. Best, Chris Moulton, GM
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 7, 2014
Incredibly friendly & helpful staff, great location!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 10, 2014 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your recent stay with us and for the 5-star review! We look forward to hosting your next visit to Portsmouth. Best, Chris Moulton, GM
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very pleasant stay

Posted Jul 2, 2014
I had a very pleasant stay, and would be happy to recommend this hotel to others. The rooms were large and well-appointed, the staff was friendly and helpful, and the location was within easy walking distance to the historic areas of Portsmouth.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 8, 2014 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your recent stay with us and for the 5-star rating on Expedia. We're happy to hear that you had a pleasant stay due to our well-appointed rooms, helpful staff, and downtown Portsmouth location. We value your business and hope you'll make us your home away from home in Portsmouth. Best, Christopher Moulton, GM
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great stay

Posted Jul 1, 2014
Unbelievable facility. Magnificent shower. Could definitely consider staying for a longer period. A welcoming staff, friendly and informative.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 3, 2014 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Al and Lorraine, Thank you for your recent stay with us and for the 5-star review on Hotels.com. We're happy to hear that you enjoyed our unbelievable facility, magnificent shower, and welcoming staff. We value your business and look forward to hosting your next visit to Portsmouth. Best, Christopher Moulton, GM
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Northern New Jersey

Conveniently Located Portsmouth Hotel

Posted Jun 30, 2014
Pros: Breakfast, gym, saltwater pool, ease of parking, location
Cons: Front Desk Training (only one employee / I'm sure with time she will learn, but management needs to provide thorough training)
Location: Downtown, walking distance to all attractions.
Front desk attendant (sounded like she was new) couldn't find our reservation and after several attempts told me, I don't have a reservation for you. Thankfully, another employee came over, rescued her and found our reservation on her first attempt. One employee working the breakfast area, I believe her name was Marena or something similar was incredibly friendly and welcoming (the front desk staff could learn a thing or two from her and I told her so!). Valet staff were also very friendly. Interior construction of this building seems like an after thought. I know not too many people evaluate the quality of workmanship in a hotel room but our room looked like they threw on some spackle and didn't bother to paint the walls, carpeting seams were ripped and bulging, light cover in our kitchenette was missing, wall paper already peeling off the walls. How sad, because it is all so beautifully decorated. I noticed other mentioning the thinness of the walls, and I would tend to agree. Otherwise, we didn't mind the $18 day parking fee, the convenience trumped the cost. I would stay here again, but maybe request a different room and hope for one that wasn't falling apart at the seams. The location was just far enough away from the crowded areas downtown, but close enough to walk to all points of interest.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 9, 2014
Pros: Great suite, cleanliness, friendliness of staff, location in the city, great breakfast, friendly bartender, etc.
Cons: Water pressure in shower.
Location: Fine dining, casual dining, gift shops, entertainment at the Music Hall, Prescott Park, etc.
We couldn' have been more pleased with the hotel and its staff. The suite was immaculate and everyone was extremely friendly. As a matter of fact, we had occasion to ride the elevator with a young man who was apparently a painter. He, like everyone else at the hotel, took time to chat with us and wish us a pleasant day. There was only one problem, and that was the shower. There was no water pressure at all and so I ended up using a plastic cup to gather enough water to rinse my hair. That was frustrating.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 11, 2014 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your recent stay with us and for the 5-star review on Expedia. We're pleased to hear that everyone you encountered on our property was friendly; customer service is very important to us. As for the shower, we appreciate you bringing this to our attention and we will investigate the water pressure problem. We value your business and look forward to hosting your next visit to Portsmouth. Best, Christopher Moulton, GM