Ratings based on 29 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.3 out of 5
66% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

It was a place to sleep.

Posted Sep 29, 2014
First a positive. The young lady who checked me in was wonderful - sorry I cannot remember her name. Carpet was dirty, dirty, dirty. I know it was old but a cleaning would help. Room location was bad. I know I could have asked to switch. AC/Heating unit was not very functional. Room cleaning personnel cleaned room and left dirty, full garbage cans there - unemptied (?). A bit of a challenge to find as well. I would stay again - but only if I had to.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom s

Hotel in Hometown

Posted Jul 7, 2014
Adequate hotel. Great price. Breakfast wasn't much. Old TV. Furniture worn. Suite was large. Clean. Staff friendly
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Chicago, IL

Just okay

Posted Jun 29, 2014
Location: We had to take a lot of back roads to get to this hotel.
We had to go out of our way to get to this hotel. Even though it was cheaper than most, I found a better one later that was right off the expressway for the same price. The indoor pool was kind of gross. It had scum on the top of the water and only one jet was working in the hot tub. Pieces of the ceiling in the pool room were coming off. Someone had sloppily patched up a big hole in the wall in our room and didn't bother to re-paint it. The staff was nice enough, but the hotel needed a lot of TLC. We had booked the same hotel for the way back, but switched to another one instead.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

was ok for one night's stay

Posted Apr 6, 2014
mattresses were hard, outside window had latch broken so could have been easily accessed from outside. room and bathroom were clean, breakfast was very good. had a special priced advertised on sign outside, online booking I made at a higher price they would not lower my rate to the special. street noise was loud.
2 out of 5
by deharleyman

Location can be a good reason

Posted Apr 5, 2014
This motel description on Expedia was promising. The smoke free room that I was assigned had strong fumes in the bathroom. Obviously, someone who stayed before me smoked in the bathroom and opened the front window to try to hide the odor. The bedspread had cigarette burns. The pillow cases had a yellowed, worn appearance. The desk staff was nice. The coffee was good. The breakfast area was clean and adequately stocked. The price was good. The furniture was worn. The room had new carpet. The bathroom facilities were clean.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by robin

Hotel being renovated.

Posted Mar 24, 2014
Pros: Staff was very good.
Cons: More attention to maids efficiency.
Location: Didn't need anything but overnight stay. Easy to access and find.
Not really bad. Requested 1st floor and clerk was great to move us but room was dirty. Breakfast was nice. Lots and lots of dust due to renovation but it will be nice once it is finished. Hope it stays this affordable. One complaint about expedia, they booked 2 rooms, clerk had to cancel one for us. Basically pretty happy!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good price, but not great shape

Posted Nov 1, 2013
Pros: Had a good price and an OK breakfast. The shower was hot and consistent even when someone flushed.
Cons: the plumbing needs a lot of work. Quieter hallway or more sound deadeners.
Location: Shawnee State Forest, Shawnee State University, Flood wall murals
The hot and cold water at the sink were backwards. The bathtub dripped constantly. The shower curtain rod was one that was bowed, but it was tipped down to the shower curtain would only stay in the center of the tub and didn't cover the ends especially where the water was spraying so the bathroom floor flooded and everything on the back of the toilet got wet during a shower. The hallway was tiled so any luggage with wheels or carts clipped down the hall even in the middle of the night. We were in a non smoking room, but when I first opened the door the smell of smoke hit me in the face although in the rest of the room it was not noticeable. As I checked in the person at the desk told be about the pool and the hours, but when I went there a sign was posted that it was closed for maintenance.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Kathyfrom Marion, Ohio

SUPER 8 PORTSMOUTH, OHIO

Posted Nov 1, 2013
Pros: The hotel staff gets BIG STAR. Also, it was very clean.
Cons: This is an older hotel, and there are always repairs that need taken care of . However, this Super 8 is very nice.
Location: The hotel is north of Portsmouth, but very close to everything.
The room was very nice, and clean. The hotel staff was more than helpful in every thing we needed. Breakfast was good- a continental breakfast with fresh waffles, donuts, English muffins, cereal, etc. I would not hesitate to go recommend Super 8 Portsmouth,
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beware

Posted Jun 13, 2013
The room smelled like puke. I should have requested another room but I'm not the type who complains.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

"free" internet worthless

Posted Aug 5, 2012
Pros: location was good for me
Cons: ineffective "free" internet
Check in went well and room was clean but nothing special. Biggest problem - free internet was worthless. Would not connect easily, if at all and extremely slow. A number of people down the hall were loud until 3 AM - running up and down the hall, slamming doors and screaming. Hotel staff did not remedy the problem.