Ratings based on 55 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom New York

Nice clean motel near Walmart and other stores.

Posted Oct 2, 2014
Pros: I mentioned the things that I liked above, also a quiet location.
Cons: Nothing that I can think of.
Location: It is near Walmart and other stores.
Very nice indeed. Being that I have some mobility issues, I really appreciated the "Executive Style" swivel chair with wheels! When the toilet handle broke, the manager fixed it promptly with no problem. Beautiful flat screen TV with digital channels. The continental breakfast is great, and they have a computer in the lobby for guests to use. There is a microwave and a refrigerator in the rooms. The room was somewhat small though, but not bad at all. A very good value.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Boston Mass

The hotel is good for a inexpensive place to stay.

Posted Aug 24, 2014
Pros: Inexpensive and close to everything.
Cons: Fix the bathroom door.
Location: It is close to Clarkson, Walmart, easy to get to. The owners are very nice and it is easy to check in and out. Potsdam is about three miles away.
My son and I stayed at the hotel the night before moving him into Clarkson University and I stayed a second night before heading home. The hotel is being updates and the room was very clean and freshly paint so there was a slight smell but after a short opening of the two large windows the smell went away. The beds were nice and comfortable. The only slight issue was that the bathroom door would not close. The door needed to be sanded down. I will plan to stay there again when we visit our son at Clarkson.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom East Lyme, CT

Reasonably priced and very comfortable

Posted Aug 9, 2014
For the area, I thought this motel was a good price. The beds were VERY comfy, and there was a breakfast included. The breakfast was a bit uninspiring, but there was fruit, coffee, and some packaged danishes and muffins. Enough to tide us over. I do wish I had access to coffee before 7am when breakfast was offered. The location was great for visiting Clarkson University.There is a refrigerator and microwave in the room. Had I thought about it, I could have bought some coffee the night before and warmed it in the microwave, for that first important cup.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Skaneateles, NY

Trip to Eisenhower Locks.

Posted Aug 6, 2014
Pros: The friendly staff was the highlight.
Cons: A couple of small tables in their lobby area for the continental breakfast. My son and husband had to bring their breakfast back to the room to sit.
Location: Near the Eisenhower Locks and power station on the St. Lawrence. Close proximity to Potsdam and Canton colleges.
We needed a pet friendly hotel/motel near Massena, NY. The Scottish Inn fit our requirements. It had all the basics we needed. The hotel staff was very friendly and helpful. They referred us to a great close-by restaurant. One of the things that was a little odd was the room configuration. It had 2 double beds in an odd shaped room, so it felt a little cramped.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler

Perfect one nighter

Posted Jul 29, 2014
Pros: Wall mounted TV
Cons: Color of room.
Simple and sweet little room for the perfect one night stay in the area.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 9, 2014
The Scottish Inn was a basic motel, The price was right and it was a clean comfortable place. The staff was friendly and accommodating. I would defiantly go there again....
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom FL

Very bare bones.

Posted Jun 19, 2014
Pros: Inexpensive.
Cons: Better condition of towels and wash cloths also very tiny. Maintenance type things need to be done. Continental breakfast very puny.
Adequate, very bare bones. No frills. Definitely for someone who is on a strict budget.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by SteveRfrom Ontario

AS Advertised!

Posted Jun 15, 2014
Pros: Good price and it is clean, staff are friendly. Gazebo was awesome.
Came in for a tournament...price was right. Second year in a row that we have stayed there for this tournament...will be back! Gazebo for all the parents to get together. Thanks Karat!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Carolfrom Oneida, New York

Wedding Stay

Posted May 6, 2014
Pros: The hotel room was clean, and the bed was comfortable. The continental breakfast was muffins, fruit, toast, cereal and good coffee.
Cons: The owners seem to be redecorating and improving the exterior.
Location: We just attended a wedding. The next morning we toured Clarkson University and SUNY Potsdam.
We attended at wedding in Potsdam, New York on May 3, 2014 and stayed at Scottish Inns. Our room was clean. A new flat screen tv was on the wall. A nice surprise was to see a hair blow dryer in the bathroom, and an iron and ironing board. Enjoyed our stay.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Decent Motel for the price.

Posted Mar 31, 2014
Pros: The price, location and the warm welcome of the family that run the place was the best part.
Cons: They should be considering a refurbishment in the near future.
Location: Closer to Potsdam than Canton.
The owner and his family were very friendly and accommodating. When I asked them for a glass glass they came through. I also had a small dog with me and that was an extra fee. I chose this motel because I wanted my dog to stay with me and I wanted a reasonable room rate. The room was a very small. Otherwise if your looking for a simple stay to do business for a good price this is it.