Ratings based on 88 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.5 out of 5
62% of guests recommend
2.8 Room cleanliness
2.6 Service & staff
2.6 Room comfort
2.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by mike from new york, ny

Overpriced and filthy.

Posted May 19, 2014
Overpriced and filthy. Stained sheets and furniture. Right next door to the raunchiest strip club/ brothel in the known world. Good place for a murder or a drug deal.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

You take what you can get in New Paltz.

Posted Apr 15, 2014
Pros: Nothing
Cons: This hotel is very old. It is difficult to keep an old house or hotel clean. It needs a total renovation.
Location: New Paltz is a small city that has some very nice scenery.
New Paltz does not have many options to choose from. So, you kind of have to take what you can get. The first room that I went into had a really strong smell that was not nice. I could not even tell what the smell was - but it was strong and bad. I asked for another room. Fortunately, they had another room that I could use. If this hotel was full, I would have been in a difficult situation because I could not stay in that room and there was no where else to go (other than back to Poughkipsie). The second room also smelled, however it was not as bad and after a while I could not even smell it.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Amy from New jersey

Poor service

Posted Dec 10, 2013 on Hotels.com
Breakfast : coffee was gone by 8 and was never refilled . There is a bell to ring for service but no one answered the 2 times I rang the bell and tried to get coffee . The young girl who works evenings was very helpful but the staff who I think are the owners acted like I was inconveniencing them
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Deirdra from New Jersey

Cheap rates. Poor service

Posted Dec 8, 2013 on Hotels.com
Room door was not secure. You could see outside through the cracks and cold air came I through the cracks. Breakfast buffet: cream cheese was either old or had been frozen as it was curdled and watery. Thermos of coffee was empty by 7:30 ; rang the bell for service but no one answered and more coffee was never offered; beds are very high and uncomfortable and had plastic sheets on them underneath the regular sheets; there was rarely anyone at the reception desk and the woman seemed inconvenienced when we rang the desk bell for service. Shampoo conditioner and soap were small and cheap; shampoo smelled like the pine tree air fresheners. Very cheap hotel but it is sufficient if all you want need is a bed for the night. The flat screen tv was nice.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Ron from New York

Posted Nov 16, 2013 on Hotels.com
Rooms could use some updating, like carpeting. Also a strange smell, could have been the cleaner. Service was great at check in.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 12, 2013 on Hotels.com
Its a nice hotel to stay at, don't be put off by the surrounding businesses around it. Its run by good people, it has a cozy atmosphere, and the bathrooms are new and clean.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Ozzie Garza from Texas

Posted Oct 25, 2013 on Hotels.com
It was great. Very convinient.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Think twice before you book!!

Posted Oct 16, 2013
Location: Nice area limited affordable places to stay
The room had a horrible smell. The motel is very dated and not in a good way.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Erica from Long Island, NY

You get what you pay for...

Posted Oct 7, 2013
Pros: The location is good, about a short ride from town.
Cons: A little updating could go along way; new comforters would be nice. And maybe wifi?
Location: Its a great hotel to stay at if you a visiting the college or to indulge what the area has to offer; a wonderful town, great shopping, good food.
My friends and I have stayed at this hotel a couple of times, we go apple picking in New Paltz every fall. It isn't the best hotel but it by far isn't the worst. The interior of the rooms are a little outdated, we bring our own blankets and pillow to feel more comfortable. The bathrooms are clean, but this past time we stayed, our room didn't have a blow dryer. Overall, I would recommend this hotel if you are looking for a place to lay your head after a long day of venturing through town.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Suzi from New Haven, CT

Clean, comfortable room for budget accomodations

Posted Oct 6, 2013 on Hotels.com
Hotel rooms in the New Paltz area run on the expensive side in my opinion, so we chose Econo Lodge as an affordable option. The lobby and exterior were very plain and breakfast was minimal, but the room was exceptionally clean and appeared to have relatively new carpet and decor. It was a basic room but suited our needs and I would stay there again. It is on the main road but not right off the highway exit so it seemed a bit quieter there than other hotels in the same area. Comfortable, quick overnight stay. I would recommend it for travelers on a budget who want a clean room and are satisfied with basic amenities.