Ratings based on 34 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom NY

Great hotel....but....

Posted Dec 23, 2014
Pros: The bar and the close proximity to restaurants and Marist.
Cons: Hotel totally needs some upgrades.
Location: Hyde Park and FDR home and library is nearby. Main Street offers some great restaurants and The Culinary Instituteis nearby
It's just in need of updating! Heat in rooms didn't work correctly, it was either too hotel and we boiled or way too cold and we froze. The hotel staff are so incredibly friendly and nice, but it needs some work done.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom LI

Great place... Clean and quiet

Posted Dec 15, 2014
My friends and I only stayed 1 night but it was clean and quiet. I would recommend asking for a quiet for room not near wedding party guests before you come though. My other friends on a different floor weren't so lucky.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 16, 2014
Went to a concert at Mahoney's resturant and bar, which is located at the waterfront and the MTA Metro North station, which provided free shuttle service to and from the hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Florida

Family wedding

Posted Nov 3, 2014
Pros: Trolley back and forth from Grandview.
Cons: See remarks above
Everything was wonderful!! The only thing that could have been better was the lighting in the room and keeping the bar open longer. There were 2 weddings on Oct 31 and both groups met down at the bar after the weddings. We were told it was last call so we purchased rounds, but then they told us we had to take the drinks to our rooms. There had to be about 60 people just hanging out and just talking. We could not understand why we had to leave the lounge. Even if they closed the bar we should have been able to sit and relax with family and friends we haven't seen in a while. Other than that, we had a great time.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 27, 2014
Nice place to stay if going to visit Hyde Park. Staff was friendly and helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 19, 2014
Lovely hotel helpful staff. Like the breakfast too.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom somerset county NJ

Posted Oct 18, 2014
The hotel was lovely. The staff was pleasant and gracious. I wish there were more available outlets for charging electronic equipment, but all in all a very nice place.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom West Virginia

Lovely Place to Stay

Posted Sep 30, 2014
Pros: Great staff, nicely decorated and maintained, very comfortable beds, spacious rooms and very clean. Shuttle service to the CIA was a great perk.
Cons: They need more generators in the event of a power failure.
Location: The location was great. Only 7 miles to the Culinary Institute of America, which is really irrelevant because of the hotel's shuttle service.
We stayed at this hotel overnight on a trip north. After some research and other reviews, I chose this hotel because of the location and the good reviews I found in my research and the cost. I have stayed in pricier hotels that are not as nice as this one. Good location to the Culinary Institute with shuttle service to and from the CIA. Lovely hotel, excellent staff, comfortable beds, spacious rooms, very clean and well maintained. The power went off early the following morning, but it was a grid problem and nothing the hotel could have done to prevent it. Staff did a great job of trying to accommodate what was supposed to be a full free breakfast, but we ended up with a continental breakfast with cereal, bagels, etc. They were able to fire up additional generators to make hot coffee and hot water for tea. The staff made the best of a bad situation. I would definitely stay there again.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Philadelphia

Good service, rotten food

Posted Sep 25, 2014
Pros: Front desk -- otherwise all other staff seemed out of place.
Cons: A new and trained kitchen staff would be a great improvement..
Location: Nothing of much interest.
Everything good enough, but Pourkeepsie seems to die every evening, and the hotel did have a resturant, Well, the hotel should hire a cook, The breakfast: two eggs, over easy. Two tough edged eggs were buried under a mound of lukewarm burned potatoes all dripping with grease mixed with stringy sliced onions and red peppers swimming in the grease. About eight pieces of stiff bacon strips,, cold and hardly fried, were scattered randomly upon the potatoes. Four unbuttered toast pieces rested on the potatoes (evidently ran out of plates). Had to request jelly packets (sorry, only gluey grape jam). Service was perfunctory. Only good thing noticible about the visit were the two young ladies at the service desk. They were doing their best, both friendly and helpfu,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Comfortable, cosy and clean.

Posted Sep 1, 2014
Very pleasant stay. It provides a secure and peaceful for single traveller.