Ratings based on 192 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from oshawa

Special trip

Posted Jun 8, 2015
Pros: Everything
Cons: TV coverage
Location: 20 walk to main city centre. Easy access via tram or subway. The city is beautiful.
We had a wonderful time in Prague. Very cool city. The hotel general was terrific.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ct

Nice Hotel - close to subway and trams

Posted May 22, 2015
Pros: The staff.
Cons: They could probably look at replacing the carpeting in the room
Location: Location was about a 20 - 25 minute walk to old town. Subway and trams were close by so getting to old town isn't a problem. Good restaurants nearby.
This was a very nice hotel. Staff was excellent and very helpful. Breakfast buffet was good. I was in a Deluxe room, which was on the small side. The bath room was very nice. Housekeeping was very good.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from South Croydon, UK

Excellent hotel with very friendly helpful staff

Posted May 19, 2015
Pros: Very friendly and helpful staff, very comfortable room and excellent breakfast.
Cons: Could have provided bottled water for the second day.....
Location: Shops only a few minutes walk away at Andel. Excellent good value bar / restaurant 5 minutes walk 'Potrefena Husa' on Nadrazni street (for trams)
We enjoyed our 2 night stay at Hotel General on 8/10 May weekend. Were picked up from the airport by a hotel driver Friday evening and back again on the Sunday afternoon. The hotel is about a 25 minute reasonably pleasant stroll to the Charles Bridge. It is also a few minutes walk to Andel transport hub so very easy and cheap to use the trams and metro (110 czk for 24 hours travel).
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Peter from Lindome

Ett fantastiskt hotel

Posted Apr 7, 2015 on Hotels
Ett utmärkt hotell med fantastisk service. Vid ankomsten fick vi en välkomst drink, samt en genomgång av Prag med svärdheter, kommunikationer och restauranger. Frukosten var riktigt bra med frukost meny att beställa från, utöver den rikliga buffén. Att hotellet ligger ett kvarter från Staropramen bryggeriet gör inte det hela sämre :) Ett hotell att varmt rekommendera .
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Alan from Huntington Beach

An nice interesting hotel in Prague

Posted Feb 20, 2015 on Hotels
The staff uniforms are inspired by eastern European military uniforms but with the 2 stars of a US Major General on the shoulders. The rooms are named after famous generals. Strangely the Grant room was labeled Simpson Grant vice US Grant and the Lee room was Edward Lee vice Robert E. Lee. The suite we had included a bedroom, siting room, and 2 bathrooms. The siting room had a desk, a flat screen TV, a small couch, and a coffee table. The best hotel room for doing work that I have been in. Better than my previous best, the Beijing Shangri-La. The food in the dining room was very good. The only downside is that it is a little far from the old town or the castle. BUT, it is a short walk to the Underground and streetcars. Buy a ticket at the Rally store just inside the Underground station and to the right (we bought one day tickets). Two streetcars (20 and 22) get you to the castle. One subway train gets you to near Wenceslas square.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 14, 2015
A wonderful hotel with great staff and a nice location.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

Rebooking if I can ever go back

Posted Feb 10, 2015 on Hotels
I had a fantastic stay in February 2015. The hotel staff was friendly and gave me an overview of the hotel's services and some pointers about the city as soon as I checked in. The room (a junior suite I was bumped up to) was comfortable and clean with a coconut Ferrero on each pillow. The breakfast was nice with a small, but well chosen buffet, and a menu to order breakfast items from (I recommend the fruit pancakes (crepes)). The waitstaff (but I believe they perform more duties) was pleasant each morning and very attentive. The front desk was able to help me explore the city by linking me up with the tour company, Prague Live Guide, for a private tour of the city a day in advance. For a reasonable price, I had a personal guide and a vehicle to move about the city in. Hotel General is located about a block from the Vltava River and 4 blocks from Obchodni Mall where I picked up a data sim card for my facebook photo uploads of my trip and minutes just in case I needed them (thankfully, I didn't). Hotel General's location isn't to far, if you're a strong walker, to walk to all of the Prague sites along the Vltava river. Charles Bridge is only 2km away and Prague Castle is only a kilometer more. All in all, Prague was a wonderful trip, greatly in part to the relaxing and accommodating Hotel General. Also, a lot of the locals speak English, German, and (a little) Russian (but maybe not all three).
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Helen from Sydney Australia

Absolutely PERFECT!

Posted Dec 27, 2014 on Hotels
Hotel General is one of the best hotels in which we have stayed. Email correspondences prior to our stay were always responded to promptly - train stations transfers were organised which made our arrival in Prague easy. The staff was excellent - friendly and accommodating. On arrival we enjoyed a complimentary drink and Dascha spent 15 or so minutes introducing us to her beautiful city. It is great to see people enjoying their job - Dascha, Ibrahim, Mehdi, Kate and Pavel were all on duty during our stay and nothing was too much for them. The breakfast was great as was the free wifi throughout the whole hotel. We would not hesitate to return to this hotel if fortunate enough to return to Prague.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Alltadena, California

Old world comfort

Posted Dec 24, 2014
Pros: We liked the staff, the accomodations and the cool wine bar.
Cons: nothing I can think of
Location: It's near to shopping, restaurants, streetcars, and a beer brewery which is down the street.
This is by far one of the nicest placest I've visited on my recent travels. They welcomed and oriented us to the city upon check-in. Our room was so comfortable I felt like I was at home. The queit courtyard where our room was, allowed us to open the windows and get much needed cool air (most hotels are too hot for us). From tours to meals, to shopping, it was made quiet effortless to find with the help of the hotel staff. Far enough from the crazy city but close enough to walk to most everything. We really enjoyed our stay there.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Trondheim, Norway

Flott, lite hotell med personlig service!

Posted Dec 1, 2014
Pros: Ekte, vennlig og hjelpsom stab - alt for gjesten!
Cons: Kvalitet på senger kan nok bli bedre, men var ok for et kort opphold(tre døgn).
Location: Beliggenhet et godt stykke unna sentrum, men lett tilgang til offentlig transport(metro, trikk og buss) gjorde det enkelt å bo slik.
Kjempefint hotell. 20 rom. Teppegulv er ikke helt bra for allergikere. Intimt lite hotell. Kjempetrivelig å komme til frokost med en vennlig betjening med hvite hansker. Vi er her for deg, kjære gjest! En opplevelse.