Ratings based on 83 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Alan from London

Special Hotel for proposal!

Posted Feb 16, 2014
Pros: The Character and Staff!
Cons: n/a
Location: The location of the hotel was a bit far from the Centre of town, but we preferred it as it was quieter and we enjoyed the stroll.
After deciding on choosing Prague as the place to pop the question to my girlfriend, it was time to choose hotel. Hotel General fitted all my requirements - reasonably priced for a top hotel and available on short notice! After I booked came the tough part of planning how I would do the deed! I called the Hotel and the friendly staff helped suggest possible places and restaurants. Upon arriving, the staff were great, even pointing out discreetly on a map where I needed to go for my planned proposal! We were put in the Napoleon suite which was just amazing! Breakfast was good and also they allowed us to have breakfast in our rooms on the second morning even though we had not informed them before hand - they were very accommodating! They also allowed us to have a late check out as our flight was not leaving until that evening! All in all, a wonderful hotel as part of our wonderful weekend!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Alan from London

Special Hotel for proposal!

Posted Feb 16, 2014
Pros: The Character and Staff!
Cons: n/a
Location: The location of the hotel was a bit far from the Centre of town, but we preferred it as it was quieter and we enjoyed the stroll.
After deciding on choosing Prague as the place to pop the question to my girlfriend, it was time to choose hotel. Hotel General fitted all my requirements - reasonably priced for a top hotel and available on short notice! After I booked came the tough part of planning how I would do the deed! I called the Hotel and the friendly staff helped suggest possible places and restaurants. Upon arriving, the staff were great, even pointing out discreetly on a map where I needed to go for my planned proposal! We were put in the Napoleon suite which was just amazing! Breakfast was good and also they allowed us to have breakfast in our rooms on the second morning even though we had not informed them before hand - they were very accommodating! They also allowed us to have a late check out as our flight was not leaving until that evening! All in all, a wonderful hotel as part of our wonderful weekend!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 15, 2014
3 out of 5
by Mel from Northeastern Connecticut

Gilding the lily.

Posted Jan 2, 2014
Pros: The comfortable beds, the big showers, and the fawning staff.
Cons: Redecorate. Make better use of space in the smaller rooms!
Location: The hotel is in a nice neighborhood, but some distance away from most of the core Prague sights.
My husband and I spent two nights at this hotel. While the staff were very helpful and kind, we couldn't get over the excessive use of ornate furniture, brocade, gilding, etc. We had a small room on the top floor, and I would have preferred more space to excessive decorations. Very Russian touch, if you ask me. The bed was comfortable and the bathroom very nice. The housekeeping services were not particularly thorough. The breakfast was good but the coffee was mediocre. Compared to the other Prague hotel we stayed at, this one lacked authenticity, although everyone on staff (except housekeeping) seemed to be trying very hard. The location is quiet and out of the way. I don't understand how everyone on Trip Advisor raves about this hotel. It is just OK, and I would not stay there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Ian from Bury

Good hotel with excellent staff.

Posted Dec 29, 2013
Pros: The staff were very helpful and extremely pleasant. The hotel was very clean. Breakfast was good.
Cons: We could hear our neighbours in the adjoining room on occasions through the inter- communicating door.
Location: We enjoyed the walk into Old Town on first day but worried about subsequent days; however, a mall, shops, restaurants and the metro are very close
The hotel staff were very attentive and extremely pleasant and helpful; the room was not particularly large but very clean and comfortable. The proximity of the hotel to a metro stop makes movement around Prague very easy and its location not therefore a problem - the surrounding streets were quiet in the evening. I would be very happy to stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 19, 2013
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by med2010 from philadelphia, PA

Very nice hotel...awesome staff

Posted Nov 21, 2013
We stayed here for 2 nights and loved it. Since we arrived we were welcomed by extremely helpful and friendly staff. They told us all the places we could go and how to get there. Welcomed us with drinks and brought the banks to our room. Every morning we were greeted by the friendly staff and the extremely delicious and yes free breakfast!!!! The hotel is 5 min away from a tram station and 20 min walking to old town. The rooms are victorian style but very ccomfortable beds. All in all loved it. Did I mention free wi fi
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Angela from Preston England

Hotel General Prague

Posted Nov 11, 2013
Pros: Good location, not directly in the city centre, but trams are excellent. VERY clean, friendly and excellent cuisine and wine bar! Recommended!
Cons: Nothing!
Location: The whole of Prague! Easy to reach on public transport or on foot!
If you wish to stay in a superb hotel, then stay in the Hotel General Prague! The staff were second to none! Nothing was too much trouble. Made our experience of Prague that much more enjoyable. They were informative and very helpful with local knowledge. Top Marks!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Geoff from Columbia, Mo

Excellent hotel experience.

Posted Oct 19, 2013
Pros: Staff, location, food.
The hotel is a little way from the tourist center, but access is convenient anyway either walking or by tram or metro. The Andel metro/tram is a couple of blocks and gets you anywhere. There are numerous restaurants and bars in the neighborhood, within a few blocks. Our suite consisted of two rooms, a bedroom and a sitting room office, and two large bathrooms, one with a shower and the other with a tub/shower. It was very quiet. The office had a desktop computer. WiFi was free. Breakfast was excellent, consisting of pastries, fruit, juice, coffee, cheeses, meats, and cooked to order eggs. The staff were extremely helpful and friendly and all spoke perfect English. They went out of their way to be helpful, and did it cheerfully. I'd stay there again without question.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Andrew from Sussex

Good place to stay with wonderful staff

Posted Oct 7, 2013
Pros: The staff are all brilliant and really help you get the most out of your stay in Prague - a charming older building.
Cons: Not the most touristy end of town - but the excellent local restaurants (near the brewery) are better value than other bits of Prague we visited.
Location: Listen carefully to your excellent briefing on arrival about using trams and restaurants. Then all of central Prague is no problem
We parked in their garage - a heart-stopping experience for a wider car although the staff claim no problem. You have to drive through about a 7 foot gap before it widens out. Then you get secure parking. The reception staff gave us a brilliant practical briefing on using public transport and eating in nearby restaurants. Charming room (I might pay more for a middle grade room next time). Breakfast buffet staff really helpful and friendly.