Ratings based on 92 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely hotel

Posted Sep 9, 2014
amazing hotel, incredibly friendly and helpful staff. would definitely recommend staying here, its far enough away from the centre of Prague not to be too tourist-y but close enough to walk to the centre (takes about 20 minutes). the room was really well equipped, very clean, and felt brand new.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

For the history buff

Posted Sep 6, 2014
Pros: It has character and is not a bland , business room. But it has very modern conveniences ( shower, hair dryer , shampoos and lotions)
This is a lovely hotel, very quiet and charming. The rooms are named after generals so we had several names to research. The staff were very patient with our poor attempts at using their languages and were always interested in suggesting sights to see or places to eat. We enjoyed our stay tremendously and would certainly return
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent hotel

Posted Aug 9, 2014
Friendly , efficient staff, clean rooms, fast room service.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Scotland

Great staff !

Posted Jul 14, 2014
Pros: We have seldom experienced customer service this good. They were much more than professional. They cared about us as people.
Cons: I wish all the staff wore their name badges. You guys are too good to be anonymous.
Location: Beside the usual tourist attractions please do see the Frank Kafka exhibition. He captured the soul of Prague.
My wife and I stayed for a week in Hotel General in Prague and loved it. The hotel is convenient but not too close to the busy city centre. Our room did not have a view but it was the quietest hotel room we have ever stayed in. It was pretty big and so was the en suite. The decor was baroque and room service was very good. The beds were very comfortable and the linen spotless. Breakfast was good and although the restaurant is quiet at dinner time the food was great. The bar was charming once the TV was turned off at our request. However the best thing about this establishment is the staff. Marion at the door was charming and gave us some great tips for day trips. The reception staff were just brilliant including the person who checked us in at around mid night. I do not think I have ever come across a receptionist as engaging and helpful as Vikki. My wife and I wish you all the best for your future. Olga kept our rooms spic and span and Julia and all her colleagues in the dining room were a delight. It filled our hearts to see young people from many nations working hard and taking such pride in their jobs. As much as we enjoyed the lovely city our fondest memory will be of this hotel with it's warm hearted staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 28, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great stay!

Posted Jun 19, 2014
A beautiful room and a wonderful staff made our visit perfect. It is about a fifteen minute walk from Charles Bridge, or a cheap cab ride. Great place which I highly recommend!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by DK from Canada

Posted May 15, 2014 on Hotels.com
Wonderful experience here.A little off the tourist track but very walkable to all the main attractions.Only 20 rooms in this hotel,all personalized with historical names. The staff were extremely helpful,breakfast was delicious,the room was very comfortable. Highly recommended.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Peter & Valerie from Norfolk UK

Great hotel close to the city centre

Posted May 3, 2014
Pros: Location, facilities and staff
Cons: Nothing
Location: Just outside but close to central Prague. Handy for Metro and tram routes.
Good sized very comfortable room. Very good buffet breakfast. Very friendly and helpful staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Ian M from Nottingham

General the Great

Posted Apr 30, 2014
Pros: Very clean and tidy with good facilities
Cons: Nothing
Location: Most of Pragues places of interest within walking distance (if you like walking) of the hotel.
Stayed here at the General hotel for a short weekend break. Staff were very friendly and helpful, on arrival spent 20 minutes taking us through all the landmarks and places of interest worth visiting. They informed us as to the correct trams to catch, organised taxi's, etc, etc.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Alan from London

Special Hotel for proposal!

Posted Feb 16, 2014
Pros: The Character and Staff!
Cons: n/a
Location: The location of the hotel was a bit far from the Centre of town, but we preferred it as it was quieter and we enjoyed the stroll.
After deciding on choosing Prague as the place to pop the question to my girlfriend, it was time to choose hotel. Hotel General fitted all my requirements - reasonably priced for a top hotel and available on short notice! After I booked came the tough part of planning how I would do the deed! I called the Hotel and the friendly staff helped suggest possible places and restaurants. Upon arriving, the staff were great, even pointing out discreetly on a map where I needed to go for my planned proposal! We were put in the Napoleon suite which was just amazing! Breakfast was good and also they allowed us to have breakfast in our rooms on the second morning even though we had not informed them before hand - they were very accommodating! They also allowed us to have a late check out as our flight was not leaving until that evening! All in all, a wonderful hotel as part of our wonderful weekend!