Ratings based on 32 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 13, 2013 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Kaiserslautern, Germany

Will Stay Again During Next Trip

Posted Feb 24, 2010
Very reasonable rate for a nice hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Satellite Beach, FL

BOHEMIAN CHIC!

Posted Oct 14, 2009
Villa Schwaiger is a very quaint, cozy hotel in the embassy district of Prague. It is a 10-minute walk from the subway and a 2-minute walk from the bus stop. Our room was quiet, comfortable, and updated: bathroom was beautiful; central AC worked well from in-room thermostat; also small fridge with mini-bar. Television had five cable channels -- including CNN London, MTV Germany, and ESPN Europe. The included breakfast was good -- scrambled eggs, hard-boiled eggs, sausages, fresh peppers, olives, local breads, a variety of juices & milk -- but it was the same every morning. We never ate lunch or dinner in the hotel so I cannot comment on the cash menus. The employees spoke very good English and were very helpful. There was no clock in the room, but staff was happy to make wake-up calls; also happy to call a taxi. If the cash was available, they were happy to exchange US dollars for Czech crowns at daily market rate. They even kept some emergency medical supplies on hand. Their main objective was to leave their guests alone unless the guests wanted something -- which is good!! Internet was available in hotel lobby. The housekeeping service was excellent -- we never saw the housekeeper, but our room was always perfect!
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Minneapolis, MN

An ejoyable stay

Posted Dec 31, 2008
This hotel provides a good balance of service and value. The staff were helpful when we needed assistance. The room was cleaned each day, but did show the wear and tear mentioned in other reviews. However, what matters to us is cleanliness and comfort, and Villa Schwaiger provided this. The breakfast was the standard fare that we have seen throughout Europe. It was good, and had a fine selection of meats, cheeses, breads, cereals, and a nice fruit salad among other things. The lobby also has a computer with internet access, so we were able to plan train and bus trips to other towns around Prague with little effort.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Istanbul Turkey

Nice hotel, nice area

Posted Nov 4, 2008
My wife and I enjoyed to stay at Villa Schwaiger. Clean room, friendly staff. Good breakfast. It's a little bit far from center. You have to walk about 10 minutes from metro and about 5 minutes from bus station. Hotel is not luxurious but nice. Frankly I don't think they deserve 4 star rate but however it can be considered as nice boutique hotel. Quiet neighborhood. Across the street there is a real Czech pub with friendly staff don't hesitate to go there.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

TWO STAR HOTEL

Posted Oct 9, 2008 on Hotels.com
THE HOTEL WAS FAR AWAY FROM THE CITY CENTRAQL OVER 30 MINUTES A GOOD DISTANCE FROM THE TRAIN STATION. THE HOTEL WAS AN OLD BUILDING THAT WAS CONVERTED TO A HOTEL. THE DAY WE ARRIVED, THEY HAD NO ELEVATORS. THEY TOLD US WE WILL BE ON THE THIRD FLOOR BUT WE MUST STEPED OVER 120 STEPS JUST TO GET TO OUR ROOM AND IT SEEMS LIKE IT WAS ON THE FIFTH FLOOR, BECAUSE THEY DON'T TELL YOU THAT THE THIRD FLOOR HAD TWO MORE FLOORS BENTH IT. THE ROOMS AND THE SHOWER WAS VERY GOOD AND LARGE AND THE BEDS WERE VERY COMPFORTABLE, THE WINDOWS DID NOT HAVE ANY CURTINS, EARLY IN THE DAY, THE SUN SHINED RIGHT IN THE ROOMS. THE AIR REGISTERS WERE SHAKING AND MAKING A LOUD SOUND. THE BREAKFAST WAS OK. THE STAFF WERE OK. THIS HOTEL IS NICE IF YOU WANT TO STAY AND BE HEALTHY ENOUGH TO CLIMB MANY STAIRS.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Wilamette Valley, OR

Impressive!

Posted Sep 3, 2008
Very nice, roomy, very clean, friendly staff, quiet location, great breakfast!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Baltimore, MD

4 stars minus 2

Posted Aug 28, 2008
The area in which the hotel is located is very pretty, but the hotel itself is not well kept up. It needs a good coat of paint all over (walls are dirty), changing of the stained carpet in the rooms, fixing of the cracks in the walls and the bathroom tiles that pop out in many places. Room 104, one of the rooms we were given initialy, sits on top of the hotel's restaurant and smells like fried oil. We requested and were given new rooms. The hotel has no elevator, as Prague "is not for the invalids and the elderly" as the female receptionist duly informed us upon arrival. Our elderly family member was placed in a room on the 1st floor, but that means two substantial flights of steps up. Expedia/the hotel does not mention this. The 2 male receptionists were nice. Cleaning service is OK, one gets clean towels daily, but sheets are changed whenever. The room has no basic accessories (i.e., note pad and pen, feedback survey sheet).Soap is given out stingily, and is of poor quality. El Gaucho, the hotel's restaurant has good ambience and serves good steaks, but this is all that is worth eating there. It is expensive. Its garden is very nice.Breakfast at the hotel is meager with no fresh fruit and limited yoghurt--and even this not on a daily basis.Coffee was atrocious.The hotel is connected to the downtown via bus # 131 (5 mins walk up the street from the hotel).Prague may be a member of the EU capitals, but is far away from the European standards of hospitality.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Athens, Greece

Villa Schwaiger in Prague

Posted Aug 25, 2008
10-15 minutes away from the Metro station. Very good breakfast. The staff all spoke English and were very helpful. Free WiFi. Only one complaint is the sheer noise - rooms facing the main road.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Manchester

OK...had problems, but OK

Posted Aug 10, 2008
The hotel was OK but not what I was expecting having read all the great reviews. Arrived there quite late, and didn't even realise we were there bcos it was that dark..the evening photo on the website is a little deceiving. The rooms I'd booked weren't bad..good size, but one of them was supposed to have 2 single beds, not a double (they didn't check it properly), and they couldn't prepare one bcos it was late in the day. Two of the rooms' air conditioning weren't working properly, so had to ask for fans, until they could fix it..which they didn't. Didn't have kettles in any of the rooms, but they brought one immediately when we asked, which was good. The fridge in my room wasn't exactly cold, even after having turned the dial up to max. Couldn't change rooms cos the hotel was apparently full..though I didn't see that many people throughout the time I was there. Despite all that, I would say the hotel wasn't too bad, as the problems were only minor...maybe we just had bad luck. Had nice staff, who helped with directions, and with ringing the taxi company.