Ratings based on 15 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Canada

Outstanding experience

Posted Jan 17, 2015
Yes the facilities are a little dated but that is all part of the charm. The personal attention is amazing. Like a remnant from another era. The hot tub, pool, private patio with table where you can eat or lounge....how romantic! The food was amazing....both dinner and breakfast. Treat yourself. You will not be disappointed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Phillipfrom Sydney

An absolute must to stay!

Posted Dec 13, 2014 on Hotels.com
The accomodation was amazing, nothing else like this in Pretoria. Beautiful historical house with the warmth of home. Our hosts were exceptional so helpful and interesting, nothing was too much trouble. The food was to die for, I had the lobster and although I had had lobster many times this was unbelievable. I have travelled the world and stayed in many different places but this place was the best!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Unglaublich !

Posted Dec 3, 2014
Pros: Die Einrichtung und der Service
Cons: Nein
Location: Gute Lage um Johannesburg oder Pretoria zu besuchen. Auch gute Ausgangsbasis für den Krüger Park.
Das Illyria Haus war ein Erlebnis. Toller Service, tolle Zimmer und die Zeit scheint einfach stehen geblieben zu sein. Jedoch im positiven Sinn. Erholung pur mit einer unglaublich charmanten Besitzerin, die sich gut auskennt und Ihre Stadt liebt. Das merkt man bei der sehr persönlichen Stadtführung.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom UK

Unique and wonderful

Posted Nov 29, 2014
Superb service in a uniquely charming hotel - strongly recommended.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 4, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Richard Reibmanfrom USA

Elderly beauty

Posted Sep 24, 2014 on Hotels.com
Extremely attentive service and very good food. But the rooms need a good cleaning and freshening. Overall a memorable experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Anettefrom California

Wonderful staff at Illyria House

Posted Mar 11, 2014
Pros: Great service!
Cons: It would have been great to be able to put suitcases on a stand and not on the floor.
We met with Patient and Johannes who work at this guest house. Their service were wonderful and the food was great. This is truly a gem. We have enjoyed our stay here so much. Will definitely come back!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Barroo Albert

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 3, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Sean

Spectacular!!

Posted Feb 19, 2014
What an amazing period property. Opulance is the best way to describe this guest house. The owner was extremely welcoming making sure that we were well looked after. This was not necessary as the staff were superb but here intentions were much appreciated. I cannot recommend this destination more as a wonderful environment and amazing value for money. I for one will not hesitate to return.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom London

A great idea but needs significant investment

Posted Jan 4, 2014
Pros: Breakfast
Cons: Major investment all round
Location: Inside is quiet but not the greatest area of town.
With such high ratings on expedia and trip advisor we were expecting something really special, but unfortunately this was not the case. At first instance the place is much smaller and more run down than the photos indicate. Other than the main entrance halls - which are beautiful - the house is in serious need of investment and a tidy up. Also the beds desperately need replaced / repaired - lumpy and squeaky - making for a poor nights sleep. The only real highlight for us was the breakfast - good food, garden view and service. This place has potential but is certainly not 5 stars - I would say more 3 stars and a little run down.