Ratings based on 91 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
99% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel, recommended

Posted Dec 5, 2014
great experience, no complaints! good location, close to shops and cafes, recommend it to all
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Ottawa

Hidden Gem in the Downtown Core

Posted Nov 25, 2014
Pros: Pleasant and professional staff, great location downtown, free parking, great breakfast, excellent beds.
Cons: If anything, expand the TV channels that are available.
Location: Excellent location allowing you to access the downtown core immediately or experience the coastal line and abundant parks nearby.
The Pownal never ceases to impress with the elite service provided by their professional and courteous staff; its comfortable beds, Aveeno toiletries products and an included high level continental breakfast that you would not expect to receive for what you have paid. A nice bonus is their Happy Hour to enjoy some of the locally brewed beverages!! With its convenient location, you find yourself seconds away from the downtown core, and minutes away from a run or walk along the ocean shoreline. INCREDIBLE VALUE FOR YOUR MONEY!!!!! Extremely satisfied!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Niagara Falls

Great hotel for lay over

Posted Oct 31, 2014
Pros: Outside access to room
Cons: Larger bed.
Room very clean, comfortable, and a good size, coffee maker worked well, bathroom was a nice size and clean, amenities were of high quality. Location was perfect after a day in Quebec City. Nice having a door to the outside for easy access to room from parking lot. Only problem was bed size, it was a double, could of been at least a queen size bed.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Stayed one night.

Posted Oct 27, 2014
Pros: Very clean. Nice rooms for a good price.
Cons: Parking.
Very nice hotel to stay at and staff is great. Anything we needed called the front desk right there. And the free breakfast was great
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Calgary AB Canada

Well located downtown

Posted Oct 22, 2014
Pros: Already stated
Cons: No improvements needed
Location: All downtown attractions.
This hotel was the find of a lifetime. Lovely clean room, cozy bed, lots of pillows. Fluffy snugly duvets. Heavy white towels in sparkling clean bathroom. Amazing breakfast buffet! Different hot food variety of eggs, omelette, boiled eggs. Fresh cut fruits, every morning, always a fresh loaf of some kind, lemon or spice banana. Gluten free bread on request with dedicated toaster. Nice atmosphere in breakfast room, dark panelling and tables, comfortable chairs. The lady who keeps the buffet replenished at all times is very happy and smiles, chats with guests. The staff is the best! The guest services manager is always in the buffet room, speaks German, Dutch etc, super friendly. The registration ladies super professional and pleasant. We kept marvelling at how lucky we were to find this place. If you forgo having your room made up, you get a $10 food voucher for 5 or 6 of the best restaurants downtown, 3 or 4 blocks away, nice stroll to downtown streets. Lots of easy parking near your room. Evenings 5-6 they have a free island beer, wine party in the buffet room, always fresh baked cookies evenings, always a tray of scones, muffins, variety loaf , coff, tea available 24-7 We were there off season Oct 10-12, 2014 over Thanksgiving, $ 90/night but it is higher during peak summer, average 150 I think they said. We give it 5/5 for everything!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Calgary

I'll be back.

Posted Sep 19, 2014
Pros: I liked the; Staff, room, breakfast, location, parking.
Cons: Laundry for the rooms needs updating with choice of steam for people with chemical allergies.
Location: Quick walk to all Charlottetown has for cultural opportunities.
Great location and parking. Clean new furnishings which in the queen suite were more than pleasing. Bathrooms were clean and had aveda products. Staff were great, breakfast accommodated gluten and dairy and egg allergies and was good. The sheets were a mixture of dry cleaned and steamed, it would be great if this was a choice.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Kobe, Japan

Great location

Posted Aug 27, 2014
Ideally located in the heart of Charlottetown and everything is within a walking distance. The added A/C works fine, but it is quite noisy and the room is quite small. Still, it is clean and adequate for PEI tourists.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Toronto

Great location. Walking distance to everything.

Posted Aug 26, 2014
Pros: Centrally located and within walking distance to everywhere we wanted to go in Charlottetown.
Cons: Don't know.
Location: Row House Lobster Company in Victoria Row excellent. The Old Dublin Pub and Claddagh Oyster House excellent. Peake's Quay excellent.
Breakfast was very good and the staff friendly and helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 18, 2014 on Hotels.com
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Danielfrom New Glasgow

Friendly staff but very small room.

Posted Aug 18, 2014 on Hotels.com
The greeting from the staff was excellent; can't ask for better there. I realized rooms can vary in sizes and that was my issue on my trip to PEI.I found my room to be very small compare to other hotels I've visited. The view of someones backyard was not that great too. And what about the mini fridge; there was none in my room. I think some room should have a lower rate than they have and maybe base that on the size and what it includes in there.