Ratings based on 73 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 18, 2014
Clean and good price. Nice quiet stay. Perfect for overnight stop.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 19, 2014 by Edward, Hotel Management
The hotel staff thanks you for staying here. Your descriptions of the hotel mean that the staff is succeeding in delivering Quality at an affordable price. We hope you select us again on your next journey through NJ
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by MMH from Delaware

Good experience

Posted May 13, 2014 on Hotels.com
Very good breakfast included.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 19, 2014 by Edward, Hotel Management
Thank you for your comment. The staff takes pride in the breakfast and I will pass on your compliment.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

They allow dogs

Posted May 5, 2014 on Hotels.com
They allow dogs and the pet fee is more reasonable than other local hotels. The room had a slight dog smell to it which even though I have and brought the dog, I am still sensitive to. Otherwise the room was fine. It has a refrigerator which was nice.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 12, 2014 by Edward, Hotel Management
Thank you for your nice comments. We hope you visit us again in East Windsor, NJ
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 29, 2014 on Hotels.com
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 19, 2014 by Edward, Hotel Management
Thank you for your good rating of the Quality Inn of East Windsor, NJ
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by A verified traveler

behind a really sketchy motel....

Posted Jan 29, 2014 on Hotels.com
Bed was amazingly comfortable and the gentleman behind the desk at check in couldn't have been nicer.... But it was very disconcerting to drive behind the sketchy motel... can't help your neighbors but...
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Curb appeal is misleading

Posted Nov 4, 2013 on Hotels.com
When approaching this hotel from the main road, you have to first drive through the parking lot of a run down motel that is half boarded up, a restaurant that is closed, and a swimming pool that was busted up, non-functional and dirty. This is enough to drive most guests away however if you make it past these major eye sores, the hotel isn't too bad. Next time I'll try Holiday Inn Express in Hightstown.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 1, 2014 by Francis, Hotel Management
Thank you for mentioning that the hotel was ok with you, and that it was the surroundings that you were unhappy with. The nearby hotel is under major renovation. The closed pool from that hotel is now fully covered. We hope that after you try the other hotel you mentioned, you might try us again since our main selling points are price, location, amenities and staff friendliness.
3 out of 5
by Ron from Long Island, New York

Bed Quality is very poor.

Posted Oct 21, 2013
Pros: Location to people we were visiting.
Cons: The BEDS..........
I have stayed at several of the Quality Inn facilities, the Beds are very poor quality and so uncomfortable I have used couch cushions and pillows on the floor as an alternative. My wife picks them for the location and price, so I never have a choice. The facilities are very nice otherwise.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 26, 2014 by Edward, Hotel Management
Hello, input from valued guests such as your self provides us a chance to improve the hotel. Thanks for noting that the facilities were otherwise nice. The hotel is purchasing new bedding as part of our upgrade. We hope you stay here again and if so we will make sure you get a room with a bed that pleases you.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

clean hotel

Posted Oct 19, 2013
Although the hallways had bad odor, the rooms and bathroom were clean. The breakfast was fantastic and had variety of food. '
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 26, 2014 by Edward, Hotel Management
Thank you for the kind words about the breakfast and the cleanliness of the rooms and bathrooms. We also thank you for providing us with info on how we can make the Quality Inn a better place. We are engaging a company that provides us with mist units that will provide for a better experience in the hallways. Thanks, Edward
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Bad

Posted Oct 18, 2013
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 26, 2014 by Edward, Hotel Management
The Quality Inn apologizes that you did not enjoy your stay. However with only a one word review, we can't determine what things we can improve. The Inn has recently changed management. Installed in all rooms; microwave ovens, refrigerators, iron/board and expanded the continental breakfast with Belgian waffles and sausages. The construction project that has move the New Jersey Turnpike exit 8 1 mile from hotel has almost finished and the Adjacent hotel is almost finished the reconstruction. Our location, midway between NYC and Philly provides our guests a rural feel with realistic hotel rates. The hotel rooms are the biggest in the market, about 30% larger then standard hotels. Thank you, Edward
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NJ

Hidden hotel

Posted Sep 23, 2013
Pros: The fellow who checked us in was very nice, and the lobby seemed clean and new.
Cons: Non-smoking rooms should not smell like old acrid smoke!
Location: Put up better signs until the construction is over!
Our non-smoking room smelled horribly of smoke. Finding the place was ridiculous, apparently an entrance is being completely obliterated by road construction. Understandably, that is temporary but there no signage, we drove past the place 5 times before figuring out that you had to drive into and behind a scary little motel to the back parking lot, where the Quality Inn is tucked. Oh, we are being a little unfair because in the window of the scary hotel lobby, is a barely visible sign "Quality Inn" with an arrow. Not visible from the street unless you knew it was there.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 5, 2014 by Edward, Hotel Management
Thank you for your comments on the Quality Inn. Yes, the Inn has had to live with the new construction and we apologize that the signs to the hotel were also being renovated at the same time. We are grateful that you drove to the Quality Inn side of the property .The housekeeping staff has been provided with a new refresh chemical to assist in better cleaning of the smoking rooms. We hope that if you are in the area for an overnight visit that you will stay here again.