Ratings based on 255 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from LA

Hotel for convience

Posted Aug 18, 2014
It was not bad, it was my second visit. This time was better then last time. I guess hotel staff does not work well under pressure
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cedar City, UT

Mixed

Posted Aug 11, 2014
Pros: Lovely lounge area. Easy parking. Nice fruity water in elevator foyer. Convenient to downtown.
Cons: Put someone serious in charge of food service.
Location: Lots of restaurants and boutiques in walking distance.
Thermostat wouldn't work; restaurant menu unavailable in the room; restaurant hours were like being in Tijuana. Food service was pretty lackadaisical. Seriously, we paid for breakfast with the room, and as I was about to leave, I asked what time breakfast would close. The server (who did not once come to ask about beverage or take a single plate - I had to put them on the neighboring table! And it wasn't because she was scurrying around taking care of other customers. There were like 6 people in the dining room, and I dunno - maybe she was in the back cooking?)... Anyway! The server told me 11 or 10:30. I asked her again because I didn't understand. She said, "well, it's supposed to be 11, but if we don't have anybody at 10:30 we close up." Oookaaay. Anyway, I mentioned that I was going to send my husband down. At 10 he showed up. There were several diners at tables (NOT: nobody there!), and they had put away the food and dishes. Very disappointing. Feels like the place is running on a skeleton crew.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 13, 2014 by Hotel Management, Hotel Management
Rachel, Thank you for your comments and I'm sorry for the problems you encountered. I've spoken to those involved; especially the restaurant as we've made some recent leadership changes. I know how frustrating it can be when you expect better service and there were items that need improvement. However, comments like yours help us to become a better hotel. Sincerely John Garfield General Manager
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Utah

Marriott Provo Hotel & Conference Center

Posted Aug 4, 2014
Pros: Close proximity to venues we were visiting.
Cons: Cleanliness of rooms.
We've stayed at this location a number of times because of it's close proximity to universities in the area. In the past, we've sort of accepted the obvious, that this hotel, (and many others) place Expedia customers in less desirable rooms, i.e. close to noisy elevators or elevator foyers, poor views and heavily trafficked areas. This time was no exception, but infinitely worse. They have done extensive updating of their lobby/restaurant area, and maybe some rooms, but certainly not the room we had. It was located directly off the elevator foyer for our floor, so we heard all the noisy foot traffic through our poorly sealed room door. Our room smelled old and musty upon entering, and the bathroom had a very strong mildew odor that we could not determine what the offending source was. It was so poorly lighted in the vanity area that it was impossible to put on makeup or do hair in that area. The chairs and carpeting had stains that had not been removed. The toilet took FOREVER to flush. The shower had a perpetual drip, and the final issue was that the bathroom floor had long dark hairs on it, indicating it had not been vacuumed or wiped clean. Finally, we tried to have breakfast on an early Sunday morning in the hotel restaurant during operational hours, but staff never appeared to seat us. They were in a far corner having what appeared to be a meeting. Unquestionably the WORST stay ever in a Marriott.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 8, 2014 by Hotel Management, Hotel Management
Thank you for your comments. I'm using them as additional training material. We should do better and using your comments will help us be better. I've also had the opportunity to look at your comments and I'm pleased to note that we are in the planning stages of a major renovation and your input is invaluable. I'm also working with housekeeping and will visit with those involved. Again, thanks for letting us know about your experience and I'm sure because of your comments the hotel will become better Best John Garfield General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great older hotel

Posted Aug 4, 2014
Pros: Love the room and staff was great.
Cons: Parking is too tight and could easily damage cars
Extremely nice hotel especially for its age. They have kept the rooms up to date and are as comfortable as any high end hotel. Very close to downtown shopping and good selection of restaurants. Free guest parking that can be a bit tricky as spaces are tight and narrow.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Breakfast

Posted Jul 8, 2014
The hotel was clean and great. The down side is on expedia, it stated that I got free breakfast. Well One of the entire family got a free breakfast. Would I stay there again. No I stay in hotels with my family, so I'm looking for somewhere else next time.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Afton, WY

Nice hotel, very quiet.

Posted Jul 8, 2014
Pros: Close to downtown Provo. Size.
Cons: AC in room too noisy.
Location: Close to convention center and old town Provo.
This was a personal vacation stay with my wife. We enjoyed the quietness and the pool. Only had breakfast once in the hotel. Very nice buffet. Hotel staff was freindly and helpful. AC was very noisy. Pool was nice when the kids weren't there making noise. No hotel staff there. No possibility to order anything to drink or eat there. Very little shade around the pool. In general very relaxing and enjoyable 2 days.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 24, 2014
Pros: The desk and bell staff.
Cons: Housekeeping.
Desk and bell staff the very best. Housekeeping was the worst I have experienced at a Marriott. They didn't replace empty toilet paper holder until I actually placed the rod on the sink and left the roof with two burned out light bulbs. The gym had the worst smell; it actually made me nauseous the first day I worked out. I have never experienced such a weird smell before. Thankfully, I got a good rate through Expedia. The room was definitely not worth the $199 Marriott rate as it is no more than a three star hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 27, 2014 by Hotel Management, Hotel Management
I'm sorry to hear that you had a poor experience with the cleanliness of your guest room. I appreciate the comments and I've spoken to those involved. Also, we've looked into the fitness center odor you mentioned. I haven't noticed anything weird today but we are going through a deep clean on the room to insure we have a nice experience for all guests. On a positive note I’m glad that the front desk and bell staff was the very best. I will pass along your comments to the team. Thank you for staying with us and I hope your next visit is much better Best John Garfield General Manager
2 out of 5
by L from Seattle

UNIMPRESSED - NOT WORTH THE MONEY GO TO MOTEL 6

Posted May 26, 2014
Pros: The bed linens were very clean
Cons: more in room amenities - hotel should be more for guests not just conventions
Location: clubs were empty and no one was out on friday and saturday nights
the hot tub was filthy.... not even a little fridge in the room. I stayed in this hotel when it was built, and now it's like staying at motel 6 without the mini fridge.... UNIMPRESSED NOT WORTH THE MONEY
Comment from Hotel Management
May 27, 2014 by Hotel Management, Hotel Management
Thank you for sending the comments and I'm sorry that your stay was not to Marriott standards. I've spoken to those responsible for the hot tub and insuring that the cleanliness is improved. I thought I should let you know that our Executive Rooms have mini-fridges or you can request one if you choose to stay with us again. Thanks again for your comments as they make us a better hotel. Best John Garfield General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Matt from Ala

great location, nice bar and dining

Posted May 20, 2014 on Hotels.com
Air conditioner does not get room cool enough
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

warm hotel and safe from the weather

Posted May 9, 2014
Pros: staff was very friendly
Cons: lemon and strawberry waters left out for guest could be always full.kept tring to taste some but they were always empty
Location: i went for a wedding, it was raining, cold, thunder,lighting, scary. I am from Orange County, Ca
was only for one night, but the room was nice and clean and warm, it rained all day and night.