Ratings based on 14 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
71% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by Daniel

Hotel needs better trained staff

Posted Mar 7, 2014
Most of the staff seemed new and needed more training. For example, the dinner I'd ordered took way too long particularly with only two other tables and was of poor quality. A shuttle to the beach, not across the street. Worth paying more and being closer to centro
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by carol from nova scotia

great spot for first night in area

Posted Mar 2, 2014 on Hotels.com
Hotel was fine for our needs but a little far from central areas if we had planned to stay longer.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Mike from USA

very disappointing experience

Posted Jan 28, 2014 on Hotels.com
Awesome beach club, just 2 min drive away (or there is a free shuttle). Reasonably priced food at the club, and great place for families: beach, pool, playhouse. Otherwise, I CANNOT recommend this hotel. We are family with 3 young children. Cancelled our second night and moved to Aldea del Bazaar up the road. Why? First: Misrepresentation. The ‘double room’ we were given was small, poorly maintained, and dirty, nothing like what was represented online. When questioned, the manager was unsympathetic, so we had to pay an additional $200 pesos to upgrade to an ‘acceptable’ room. This one had a strong pet odor and the AC didn’t work (on the 3rd floor in the tropics!). Second: The Staff can only be described as indifferent. I pity any guest who doesn’t speak Spanish. Furthermore, the cleaning lady absconded with our camera battery and charger, which we had left plugged into a wall outlet. No one seemed to care! FYI: (1) Please understand that the ‘free’ continental breakfast is a choice between EITHER fresh juice (which was truly delicious) OR fresh fruit with granola and/or yoghurt, dry toast with butter and jam, and coffee/tea. That’s it. If you’re traveling with kids, they are NOT included in the breakfast and you will have to pay for their food. (2) WiFi only works in reception area or restaurant –NOT in rooms.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Judy from British Columbia, Canada

Our stay at Villa Sol, Puerto Escondido

Posted Dec 8, 2013
Pros: I think that the staff make the hotel. They are great!
Cons: Some of the restaurant staff didn't speak English. I think they need a crash course in English so that he/she can at least understand what we want.
Location: A short walk to the Rincon de Los Almendros, restaurants, coffee shops; also close to Carazillo Beach Restaurant, which is awesome!
We enjoyed our stay at Villa Sol. The staff were excellent; A couple of staff spoke English well, so that was very helpful to us. We were there just as the tourist season was opening, so it wasn't very busy yet, other than some bus tours (I think). . The beach pool on the ocean is awesome and the shuttle service to and from is great. You can get a shuttle normally within a few minutes That was our favourite place to be. The hotel is near several coffee shops, an easy walking distance. As well, it is not that far to walk into town; probably about l/2 hour walk to the Super Chez, a large grocery store, and Principal Beach. It is an easy taxi ride to several of the beaches, about $2.50C for the taxi. However, you could also just go to Principal Beach and walk along the beach to the rest of the beaches. It is a true Mexican fishing village, which we loved. Would definitely visit there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Carlos from Indiana

Pleasant rest

Posted Nov 27, 2013
Pros: Clean hotel. Front desk helpful and pleasant. Great price through Expedia!
Cons: Restaurant service
Location: Very nice beach club and on site pool. Puerto Escondido is a wonderful town to visit.
Hotel was clean. The room we were in was small, but sufficient. The air conditioner was a little noisy and dripped, but cooled the room well. The on site pool was nice and the beach club was a great place to spend the day. My only complaint was the restaurant - we ate there only once (our complimentary breakfast), but it was enough to not want to return. The service was slow and bad.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 23, 2013 on Hotels.com
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Pathetic stay.

Posted Jun 10, 2013
The pictures shown on expedia does not resemble reality at all. Hotel staff was not kind at all, probably as a result of understaff. I will definitely never stay in this hotel again. If I was part of Expedia's management I would remove this hotel as vendor.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Sharon

Posted Jan 25, 2013 on Hotels.com
All of the staff were very pleasant. They complied with all of our requests.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Ann

Wonderful staff, Beautiful Beach and Beach Club.

Posted Jul 18, 2012 on Hotels.com
I was very pleased. My husband and I were treated like royalty. The room was great, the beach club fun and the food and drinks were terrific. The beaches are beautiful but best to stay out of the surf unless you're surfing.We felt very much at home. Easy to get to the other locations. Just 7 minutes by taxis. A taxis was very inexpensive. Thanks one and all we will return. Cheers!
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Jaime

Beatiful Hotel

Posted May 30, 2012 on Hotels.com
Comfortable, Clean, Great Service, Good Price