Ratings based on 570 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom new york city

So so

Posted Mar 26, 2015
- hotel have us room with 2 full beds instead of queen. They were unable to fix. -Food is mediocre. A la carte and buffet. -great beach. -short on seats at pool -great hohousekeeping staff. Very friendly
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom New Jersey

Disappointed

Posted Mar 25, 2015
Pros: Large area of resort and beach front. Pool size was great. Food service staff were very helpful.
Cons: Honesty
Location: Not much to do nearby, had to take a taxi or bus to get to other locations.
From the beginning the arrival was a nightmare. I received my confirmation and thought that I was staying at this resort only to be told on arrival that they were overbooked and they had to move us for 2 days to a sister hotel called Hotel Barcelo that was far inferior in accommodation than the Be Live Grand Marian Resort. We were told that we would be compensated for the inconvenience with a free lobster dinner for two and a free 55 minute massage which we never did receive. We asked 3 times and were never told until we inquired again at checkout that we should have gone over to guest services. We lost 1 1/2 days between moving back and forth between hotels We were given a room with two double beds when we had requested a king sized bed. After 2 days when we checked back in at the Be Live location I was told that I had to pay an additional charge per day for my wife to stay in the same room with me. After I refused they told me that the least that they could change me was an additional charge per night for my wife to be in the same room. Had to check out 2 days earlier due to a family issue in Santiago I was told that they had to charge us for one additional day for checking out early.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom NY

Relaxing trip

Posted Mar 25, 2015
Had a GREAT time.... Great food great service in general great... Defenetly would go back....
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom New York, NY

Never ever, ever again!

Posted Mar 24, 2015
Pros: Good drinks, and the Brazilian food was amazing.
Cons: Customer service, quality of food and updated room devices.
Location: Not to far from the airport, and water fall.
When me and my husband first checked in, everything seemed smooth and we were even escorted in a golf cart by a friendly bell boy by the name of Jose! Our key card did not work, so Jose asked the maid to let us in that happened to be there and told us to inform the front desk of the issue. We did just that, the staff took the key checked it, then insuatated that I placed the card next to my cell phone and deactivated it...which I didn't do. We get back to the room, which is quite a walk from the reception desk and still it didn't work. We again go back to the front to tell them about the issue, this time asking that Jose escort us back to the room as validation of the key not working. Jose then checks the key card and tries it, to no avail. He then calls maintenance for them to come to repair it, and states they will be there in the next 5 or 10 minutes. After 20 minutes of waiting, we walk back to reception and that is when we are offered a new room. The male staff person was very rude, and acted as if I was bothering him. We get into the new room with a tiny television, and the shower does not work!!!! The food at the buffet is hit or miss, but mostly miss! The Brazilian restaurant was very good! The spirited drinks were pretty good and strong! I would never go back to this hotel!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful view, but room smelled like mould.

Posted Mar 24, 2015
Good and liquor was up to standard for an all inclusive, but the staff wasn't all too pleasant. The people in rodizio sucked, and the dealers in the casino were jerks. I reccomend going with somebody who speaks Spanish... My girlfriend was the translator the whole trip, it is amazing how they just simply ignore a group of white people, but the second she started speaking spanish all of the sudden everyone started catering to our every need. I would say about 80% of the Dominicans I encountered were rude as hell. Overall we had a great time and a lot of fun, I reccomend leaving the resort of you want authentic dominican cuisine.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom New York

Best vacation ever!!!!!!

Posted Mar 24, 2015
Location, hotel, ocean, food, entertainment,bars, night life. shows and personal very, very nice!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 24, 2015
Buffet food is not good neither is the entertainment. The entire place Needs to be renovated
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom p

Very nice staff

Posted Mar 23, 2015
Check in was very easy and my room waa ready upon arrivals
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Massachusetts

Food needs work

Posted Mar 22, 2015
Pros: The beautiful views, the beach, the nighttime shows.
Cons: FOOD
Location: I did not get out of the resort.
The hotel has one of the most amazing views to a mountain on one side and beautiful beach on the other. The beach was very clean as was the pool and general resort. The staff is very friendly and attentive but check in took about an hour which in heat seemed longer. There is also a really lovely mix of people who come to this resort and the staff amazingly know 3+ languages. My main complaint is the food. I have never had such bland food. There are plenty of choices but I never left there feeling as if wow, that was great. The desserts and "snack bar" also flavorless and meat overcooked. We did do a reservation to the Mexican restaurant which was much better but still not as delicious as I had hoped.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom NJ

beautiful, bright, clean hotel

Posted Mar 18, 2015
Beautiful hotel but when I got there they told me all the rooms were booked even though I had a booked reservation. So they sent me to a different hotel for 2 nights until they had a room open. This was my only complaint because it was unfair and I was very disappointed. Otherwise, the hotel was gorgeous and clean. And the beach was beautiful. The food was good too! I would have enjoyed it 100 times more if they didn't send me to a different hotel first. I guess just be careful who you book through and what time of year you book. I don't know if it was Expedia or the hotels fault :/