Ratings based on 525 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Berlin, Germany

Nice Hotel, Nice Staff and Nice Service

Posted Dec 17, 2014
I enjoyed every minute there, everything was really organized and planned
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Worcester, MA

Beautiful all inclusive resort!!

Posted Dec 14, 2014
Staff worked very hard to accommodate all our needs. Good was great. Ocean View room awesome. Will go back again very soon.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Alexandria, VA

Great stay at Be Live Grand Marien

Posted Dec 14, 2014
I had a wonderful stay at the hotel. The food at the buffet is excellent and the variety of fruits, salads, and deserts is incredible. I ate at 2 of the a la carte restaurants - Mexican and Gourmet - and both were fabulous. I did not go to the Brazilian but many people said it was excellent. Making reservations to the a la carte restaurants is one way to break up the monotony of the buffet - for those who have issues with it. My beach walks were fantastic and I felt very secure while running outside of the resort in the mornings. The staff is excellent - they go out of their way to make sure you are comfortable and have what you need to enjoy your stay. They do speak English (and German and French...) but try to speak some Spanish as they really appreciate you making an effort. Only complaint is that there is no diet soda in the mini bar, but I found a work around, so I survived - plus, it was available at the restaurants and the bars. In addition, the gym doesn't open until 0700, but as most people don't get up as early as I do, that is likely not an issue... All in all I had a fantastic vacation and would highly recommend it to anyone looking for a very affordable, yet quality, all-inclusive vacation.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom New York

Nice hotel and great pool and beach

Posted Dec 1, 2014
Pros: Friendly staff and good food
Cons: Internet access should be provided by the hotel and affordable price. Also should include top shelf drinks
Location: Nothing found outside of the resort, however there are a copuple of towns within 20 minutes car ride from resort and tours
Hotel and resort provide an excellent vacation for anyone, however prices for Internet access (WIFI) not provided by hotel, independent provider found on hotel lobby is overpriced in comparison to internet cafe found outside of resort for a fraction of the costs. Also prices for taxis to airport or anywhere in the area priced as if in the USA (i.e. fare to airport is $35 US dollars compared to outside taxis for around $10 US dollars) Casino is NOT OPEN
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Paterson,New Jersey

Nice quiet and relaxing hotel

Posted Dec 1, 2014
My main complaint is there really wasnt a lot of variety of food and some of the meat had plenty of hair in it like the rabbit. The food was the same thing on both sides of the buffet. Also the karaoke night was very boring maybe another activity would hace been better. But its understandable being a monday. The piña coladas tasted awesome. Also the rooms were super clean and nothing was missing excepto forma bottleopeners to the minibars soda ( which I opened with a spoon). It was a good experience overall.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Santiago

Hotel rooms where old, insects kept going in

Posted Nov 21, 2014
Pros: The bread was good.
Cons: When someone is done eating and is heading to their bedroom, do not disturb him. Improve room quality. Improve food quality and make a kids menu.
When me and my wife were checking in into the Hotel we asked for a copy of the papers we were signing, and they told us they weren't allowed to do so. We figured that's fine and proceed to check in. After we got into our room, everything seemed fine, but after a while, the doors from the bathroom to the restroom being so hard (old) to open and close get to you, the floor condition was terrible, cracks in the floor tiles and a lot of holes in the wall (apparently from devices previously removed). During our stay (3 days and 2 nights), we killed 2 spiders and 4 crabs that went into the room. By the end we were so worried about getting off bed. The food was not so good, first hotel I go where I'm not excited about meal time, if you have children, expect them to eat weird plates and bread, and on top of that, there wasn't one time where after we were done eating, some hotel staff member would call to our attention to ask about us investing in the hotel.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Definitely NOT a 4 star hotel

Posted Nov 20, 2014
Pros: The entertainment team was great
Cons: More food variety at the main buffet & snack bar, need an extra pool, private beach please ( public beach at a suppose nice hotel is a big NO NO)
Location: Close to the airport
We had a great 7 day vacation and the weather was awesome, we spend 2 days out side of the hotel ( tours) but the hotel is definitely not a 4 start hotel...food needs a lot improvement and a lot more variety - a la carte restaurants had nice food.... at the main buffet guys were NOT allowed to wear sleeveless shirts BUT ladies could wear see through cover-ups?? ( makes no sense)!! Also, there is a sign at the reception are if you need $$ exchange. However, we went there at least 3 or 4 times and they never had money!! so bring $$$ if you wish to give any tips. The beach is NOT private and there was a lot trash... :( we will not go back there again!
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Sarasota, FL

Overall, a nice hotel.

Posted Nov 11, 2014
Pros: The grounds are clean and well groomed and the pool area is nice.
Cons: Newer, softer, mattresses. Make the sign a LOT larger in the bathroom warning you not to drink the water.
Due to recent heavy rains, the beach was covered in trash, wood, and sea weed. We arrived on a Tuesday, and it was not cleaned up until the following Saturday, right before we left. The beds are awful. We did take a foam mattress cover that helped. The staff, over all, is very nice. The front desk staff are slow and rude. We had maintenance come to the room because the air conditioned was dripping in several places on the tile floor, making it slippery. He came and went, but did not fix the leaks.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom New Jersey

Entertainment need to be improved.

Posted Nov 10, 2014
Pros: General manager, wonderful man, greeting clients with wonderful welcome.
Cons: Entertainment and area of entertainment, like curtain, chairs and lightings.
Location: Close to airport, cable car and horses back riding.
Management and staffs are wonderful but the entertainment finish too early.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Alexandria VA

Be Live Grand Marian Nov 2014

Posted Nov 9, 2014
Pros: The Gourmet Restaurant food and service was the best food we had during our stay.
Cons: During the very, very hard rain, the roof on the hotel leaked on to spots in the hallway and steps.
Location: The hotel was close to everything you would visit. Getting into town or the airport did not take more than 20 minutes.
We stayed in Block 4 on the 3rd floor with a view of the ocean. The sound of waves were present at all time. It rained two of the days we were there, but that did not stop us from having a really great time. The buffet food was very good and there was a wide selection to choose from at each meal. The individual restaurants, Gourmet and Brazilian, were outstanding, both the food and the service. We went on two tours during our stay, Jasmine Spa and City Tour. The Jasmine Spa was way out in the county and provided a very peaceful setting to receive a hour long massage. The walk around the grounds of the Spa was a great way to experience the surrounding county. We highly recommend going to Jasmine Spa. City Tours was nothing but fun. Manni was our tour guide and he was not only a great guide, but funny and entertaining. He was able to answer all questions and and mad us feel special.