Ratings based on 553 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Paradise

Posted Jul 29, 2015
Pros: No kids allowed
Cons: Keep the time share people in a separate area.
Location: Right on the beach, jet ski, para sailing, pool, canoe sailing,
Wonderful hotel. Staff is great, food & drinks 24 hours on the beach. Be ready for the private vendors on the beach. They are respectful but persistent. You got to just say no if that is what you mean.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 29, 2015
Resort was very clean and very well Maintained. The food was ok. Drinks were good. The biggest complaint was the sales staff. They hound you to be VIP. It's horrible! The staff that's on for the games and entertainment are great!! They made the trip! Join in, you'll have a blast with them!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, BC

Would not visit again

Posted Jul 23, 2015
Cons: Attitude and service at front desk; Attitude and service of cleaning staff;
Location: Location is fantastic with lots to do around.
We travel frequently and have a lot of experience with all inclusive hotels. This hotel is suggesting that it is a 4 star; and although the facilities, cleanliness, comfort, amenities are good the hotel lacks a positive attitude at the front desk and housekeeping. Most disappointing experience and with multiple unfortunate incidents over the course of 5 days; not only the front desk staff is disappointing, cleaning staff talks poorly about the front desk staff. Not only that but our company that happened to stay in the room across from ours, heard the cleaning staff bad mouth us after they just bad mouthed the front desk staff. I have never experienced that in any of the hotels I have stayed in, never mind a 4 star hotel. Highly disappointing
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from san diego, ca

Not a 4 star

Posted Jul 13, 2015
Pros: The staff was amazing from Marina at the front desk, to Santoni at the bar, to Myra with entertainment, but especially Mary the waitress.
Cons: Free wifi should be a must for a 4 star hotel.
Location: Rooms are actually about 2-5 minutes from the beach. Puerto plata-5 minutes. Sosua-30 min. Airport-20 mins, $35.
Description of hotel is not accurate, there is no free wifi anywhere in the hotel and the price for wifi is outrageous. The room and the grounds where very nice. The timeshare type tour was annoying as was the endless stream of vendors on the beach. The buffet restaurant was decent but if you stay more than a week, you will get some repetition. The other 3 restaurants must be reserved but there was only one open every night with a capacity of 45, so book ahead. My biggest complaint with the hotel was when my air conditioner went down in the middle of the day and it took 3 phone calls, a walk down to the front desk, and 3 hours to eventually fix. Another thing to note is that the beach got extremely windy by 1 pm and by 2 pm on most days, it was unbearable.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from new york

Not what i expected

Posted Jul 12, 2015
When i arrived at blue bay the place look beautiful. We were received with a welcome drink. When we were brought to our room the problem started. third floor 6 flights of stairs. I would have preferred a lower level. I explained i have back problems n that would not be the best. The person said he would look into it and never came back. The food was good. There is no nightclub and i love to dance. Beach was not so great. Dont think i would come back to this place. Dominican Republic is beautiful sunny hot days everyday.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Miami, FL

Perfect Getaway

Posted Jun 29, 2015
Pros: Friendly Staff, Adults Only cant get any better, Food is delicious, etc
Location: Location is perfect. Very close to the beach, you can ask for local tours to do at the resort.
My experience at Blue Bay was fantastic.. Will totally go again and visit. Being that I got such a good/cheap deal for my two nights stay my expectations werent the best. But the service in general exceed my expectations. If you are looking for a nice getaway Blue Bay is the right choice.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from dominican republic

My room was very near to the beach

Posted Jun 28, 2015
Pros: Everything
Cons: Room service, and different types of food
I loved the service, the food is very good. The only thing that the food needs it's more variety. Something that did bother me was that they wanted to make me member of a club, and that took 3 hours of my time. They should at least tell you what's the purpose of the meeting before they sit you down.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from newyork

very small hotel

Posted Jun 21, 2015
Pros: Staff is great. I did not have one complaint about the staff especially Severo and Guarelys at the pool bar. They were great.
Cons: Bathrooms are way too small! Whomever designed them for a resort did not do a good job. The closet in the room was bigger than the bathroom. No joke.
Location: Location on beach was nice but resort small so I had to leave the resort just to take a walk.
I arrived early and staff at front desk was great. Our room was not ready but we checked in and went to eat lunch.Hotel grounds are extremely small. Cannot even take a walk after eating. Pool and staff was great. Very attentive. Food was good. The beach was also great. Bar staff is great. My biggest complaint about the hotel was that the bathroom was so small.It was 6 feet by 8 feet with shower included. I have never been in a resort in which the bathrooms were so small.The other big problem which left me very uncomfortable was being harassed and stalked by people pushing time share sales. Everywhere i went there was someone waiting for me insisting I go to the office to listen to one of their salespeople who was selling some sort of vacation club membership. It became very unsettling. That one reason alone will keep me from going back to that resort again or from recommending it.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Nice hotel, wokers bother you too much

Posted Jun 15, 2015
Never going there again. Never going there again. Never going there again.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Tampa, Florida

One Star hotel

Posted Jun 13, 2015
Dirty room, old beds, stay away from the third floor; very hot.