Ratings based on 12 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Paco from Washington, DC

Very nice updated hotel in excellent location.

Posted Feb 16, 2014
Pros: Everything, location, cost effective, clean, cool and private beach.
Cons: Although the staff would secure your valuables, it would be nice to have your own personal safe and iron w/board to have at your leisure.
Location: The hotel was centrally located between downtown Sosua and the city of Cabarete; giving you the choice to tour within to very nice towns.
An excellent experience during a 12 night visit; the staff was very polite, caring and attentive.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Am and Josh from St. Louis Mo

Private beach access and great onsite staff

Posted Feb 9, 2014
Pros: Staff, Private Beach, Community of other guest!
Cons: hot water!! We were warned about running the water for a while to get hot water on the 3rd floor, but it never got remotely warm.
Location: We were only here one day, so I don't have much to offer. Ask Oliver ;)
This was our first stop in the DR and we raved about GLB to everyone we later met at the BIG resort we stayed at later. The staff was very friendly, only a couple communication struggles :) BYOB and Kitchen goodies, great way to visit on a budget. The pool was lovely, room very large, and the best was knowing we were in a safe place. They have their own security and WILL STOP everyone. Our fav overall had to be Oliver, the driver. He was awesome! If we go back to POP (Cabarete) we will stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by B&K from indiana

Great room at a great value

Posted Jan 24, 2014
Pros: Great ownership and staff.
Cons: Great to have ice trays in the room, shower mat. It would be great to charge drinks,etc. to your room.
Location: Close to the airport. Need to use cabs, or the free shuttle, to get into town.
The staff was very nice and accommodating. The staff booked a great excursion to Paradise Island for us. Hotel was very clean, newly furnished and comfortable. Close, but not too, to the airport.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice hotel

Posted Jan 21, 2014
This is a very nice hotel. The hotel staff and the owner are very friendly and go out of there way to help you. Staying here is like having your own luxury condo. Completely updated kitchen and bath, reliable WIFI and a flat screen tv that gets all the major American TV programming. Its nestled in a quiet and private location, yet close enough to all the activities in town.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Lynn Richardson from Destin, Florida

Beautiful New Place Great Owners and Service

Posted Jan 16, 2014 on Hotels.com
We stayed just for one night after being bumped off a flight back home. This is a gorgeous boutique condo/hotel, nearly brand new. The service was wonderful, met the owners who were happy to receive any feedback directly. Rooms are spacious, they are condos more for a longer stay, but we were accommodated through hotels.com for just the one night. The hotels.com web site indicated that free transportation to/from Puerto Plata airport is included, but once we arrived we were told that this was not offered and that it would be corrected by the Grand Laguna to Hotels.com This was the main reason we chose this place because taxi back and forth is very expensive. You must use a taxi or have a rental car to get to the amenities in town, it is too far to walk and the hotel is kind of in the middle of nowhere. Otherwise, it was great and we may return in the future if this policy was reinstated.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Quiet Ocean Retreat

Posted Jan 13, 2014
Pros: Close to private beach. Ability to cook in or go out - it was my choice. Quiet!
Location: Access to public beaches and shopping in both Cabarete and Sosoua
This location offered a peaceful environment with access to restaurants, markets and local amenities when I wanted. I was able to set my own pace and rhythm without pressure of outside schedules.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Scott from Oceanside, Ca

Warm and Green

Posted Jan 13, 2014
Nice place, quiet, close to ocean with semi-private beach. Bring your own coffee and food. No restaurant, but nice kitchenette. So-so wi-fi service.
1 out of 5
by Amy from California

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 9, 2014
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 1, 2014
5 out of 5
Recommended
by milton from chicago

great stay

Posted Dec 13, 2013 on Hotels.com
great quite hotel, close to beach, and nice landscape.....i would stay again