Ratings based on 33 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Toronto

Good hotel in unpleasant town, on beautiful beach

Posted Nov 18, 2014
Pros: As above.
Cons: Air conditioner in bedroom was temperamental and keeping that room cool at night was a challenge. The pool needs a handrail for entry/exit.
Location: A little further from the main street would have made it more pleasant since the street was loud, polluted and the panhandlers/vendors bothersome.
All staff were excellent in professionalism, courtesy and helpfulness. The restaurant was obviously well managed and observed cleanliness standards. The food was always tasty with a nice presentation and good sized servings. Our room was like a one bedroom apartment, and very light and bright. Everything was easy to use and there was space for our belongings to be put away. The refridgerator was a perfect size, it and the cooktop worked well. A good walk to the beach, but not too far. The security presence was maintained and welcome. The hotel architecture was lovely and the placement of it amid the tropical vegetation could not be better. The hotel provided for quick and easy access to a market for obtaining water, juice etc. Everyone worked hard (including delivery people) to keep the hotel functioning at its optimum. Musical entertainment provided on a few occasions with special dinner nights was great!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Maine

Hotel right on beach in central Cabarete

Posted Apr 26, 2014
Very convenient location. Serenade restaurant was quite good, prices moderate for on the beach. Great for windsurfing or kite surfing with equipment on site. ATM machine across the street. Small supermarket close by. Plenty of restaurants nearby on beach. 25 minutes from Puerto Plata airport - $35 taxi ride. Great wifi. Rooms basic but very clean and functional, with nice balcony. Be prepared for hawkers soliciting you on beach, on street and while eating - fact of life in DR.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Vicky

Great location

Posted Apr 22, 2014
The hotel is located near all the restaurants and on a great spot on the beach The stuff ia very friendly and helpfull
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Reidfrom Virginia

Nice comfortable clean and convenient

Posted Mar 26, 2014
Pros: Convenience, hotel services, pool.
Cons: material condition could use updating but considering the location and comparable hotels, this is not a big concern.
Location: La Terasse restaurant a few blocks down the beach in alley way was 5 star. Local shopping. Numerous water sports and tours.
Better than expected hotel. We didn't get a room on the beach side due to suspect noise. Boy were we pleased. Our suite was on the first floor with private patio area equipped with chaise lounges, patio table and chairs. Pool was also relatively private from the beach area, clean and refreshing. Restaurant had nightly specials that we appealing and reasonably priced compared to others along the beach. We only ate breakfast there one morning which was no par with any US based chain breakfast buffet. Be ware no real milk products available on the island. Evening local entertainment was very good and seating on the beach at no extra charge. Staff were very polite, accommodating and spoke fluent English. Bathroom has nice hot water shower but could use some upgrading. Cold air conditioning with in room controls. Based on local area, this was probably the nicest hotel on the beach.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Comfortable hotel on the beach

Posted Feb 19, 2014
Nice facilities for a decent price, wind and kite surfing rentals right at the beach along with chairs for lounging. Restaurant is decent.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Rocky Start....Wonderful Trip!!!

Posted Feb 3, 2014
Pros: Location, location, location
Cons: Live music at night.
Location: Lots of bars and restaurants in walking distance...both day and night!
Our trip started out rocky when we realized our Comfort Room (Room 41) was located on the street side of the Reception Building. Cabarete is very loud at night....lots of scooters, horns honking, and loud music till late at night. My husband is a very light sleeper so after the first night we knew the room was not going to work and even considered staying at another hotel when we were still awake at 4 a.m. We talked to the front desk and the reservation manager offered to move us to an apartment (Room 45) also in the Reception Building but further away from the street. It was wonderful!!!!! We really liked the cook top and larger refrigerator. This allowed us to buy groceries at the supermarket and have lunches on our patio.....a real treat! We will definitely stay there again...great location to bars and restaurants...great beach too. Next time I would request a room in the Beach Building. The Banana Mama is a great drink at the bar. We didn't eat at the restaurant, so I can't rate it.
5 out of 5
by Jahfrom New York

Great Hotel by the beach with water sports!

Posted Jan 24, 2014
This is an excellent hotel. The only reason why I wouldn't recommend this to my friends is because you have to pay $30 per guest. Every time. I met two local guys, one from the states and the other a local the was related to him. We hung out and rode around on their bike. I had to pay $60 just for them to relax in my room till the beach clubs opened. Needless to say the same applies to females.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Davidfrom G

Great overall

Posted Jan 16, 2014 on Hotels.com
This place is everything promised. I was there for a business trip and had a great time. The restaurant is great and there are plenty of other restaurants and bars up and down the beach. At night I would recommend using the beach instead of the road to move between bars. Overall security was very good. All of the places have security and there is also police present. The beach is beautiful. A word of advice, we took a fishing charter from a vendor walking on the beach, don't do that. The boat was very sketchy with no electronic or safety equipment. Also the motor was horribly loud. The vendor was not associated with the hotel just close by. The only other complaints are that the beds are not the softest and there was no vent fan in the bathroom. Small potatoes in the grand scheme. I would stay here again when I go back. The staff was awesome and most everyone speaks English.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Chris

Good location and comfortable enough

Posted Jan 8, 2014
Pros: Location, staff
Cons: Breakfst lunchboxes (had a ham/cheese sandwich with 2 bananas).
Location: Surfing, lying on the beach, eating out (avoid Casita de Papi, it is overpriced). Trip to Paradise Island (and others).
Good location, on the main road though. Wifi Internet was a bit unstable but overall it was ok. The AC's keys on the remote control was not working, unable to turn it off using the keys. I unplugged the wire to turn it off. Staff's English is good and they were really polite and smiling and helped us out whenever we needed information about places to go and see in Cabarete.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Amandafrom nyc

major disappointment

Posted Nov 7, 2013 on Hotels.com
we had no wi-fi in our room at all. our gas stove did not work either, so we paid extra for the kitchenette for no reason. then the hotel manager, Nicole, claimed she could not refund us because my cc had already been charged. also, our hotel phone did not work, and for 1 day we were without water. very disappointed.