Ratings based on 189 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Really nice And comfortable

Posted Sep 15, 2014
Pros: It was walking distance to places to eat and the pool
Cons: The front desk staff could be a little more friendly.
Location: It was walking distance to food and pool.
The hote was nice and comfortable and very close to really nice restaurants.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from ny,ny

Decent

Posted Aug 25, 2014
Dont stay at crown suites as it is older and out of the way hard to get a shuttle from there, would recomend presidental suites food on the resort was pretty good and tipping the staff gets you treated well, and resort is over protected when it comes to using a beach or pool towel they are not even nice doubt anyone would steal them to bring home charge u $20 per towel if u loose it or leave it somewhere n dont return it to where u get it from
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from garfield, NJ

I have done better

Posted Aug 12, 2014
Pros: The hotel was a suite with bedroom, living room, efficiency kitchen an dining area. Lots of space. No kitchen utensils could be found however.
Cons: get better open air transportation that circles the plantation more frequently. Also provide some amenities down on the beach. Cook the food in buff
Location: You are on a hilly landscape. You can go to town to see jewelry made and also rum. city tour interesting and goes to zip line and statue on the hill
This is not a resort. It was bigger than the town I live in and just a hilly. No handicap access. The unit was spacious and clean. The bar supplied with soda, beer and water. To get anywhere you had to ride a minivan shuttle. The ran irregularly, were jammed with people and NO AIR (It was 90 during the day) I couldn't sit on the beach as it was 4 flights of stairs down from the road. There were no chairs or umbrellas on the beach and there was no bar either so you had to walk up to get a drink. There were many swimming pools all over the place. There were various (conclaves). The buffet, open for 3 meals a day had mediocre food which they kept running out of that was very slowly resupplied. I ate at three of the six restaurants . Asian, Seafood and Brazilian. They were excellent. I was told I could only get 3. Fortunately, I have thick skin so that the army of Time Share salesman that attacked like knats were driven away successfully. This is not a resort that I would go to again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Virginia

Fun, but be warned...

Posted Aug 5, 2014
Pros: It was beautiful, comfortable, and roomy!
Cons: If possible, it would be great to have room service when there is bad weather.
Location: There's plenty to see & do on the resort property, so we didn't leave. There are excursions offered. For safety concerns, be sure to book in advance.
There are lots of food options - El Pilon (Dominican) was by far the best!! There are lots of pools to choose from, and at least two beach beaches, which were never very crowded. There is a shuttle service available, but during busy times there is a long wait and they are very crowded - we found it more efficient to walk even though it was very hot and hilly. The Yin Yang Spa was excellent with prices comparable to US spa prices. Despite warnings about mosquitoes, we didn't see any or have any problems with them. There are options of activities at night, although if you want quiet that may be problem since everything is outdoors and you will hear the loud music. The 2-bedroom suite (Crown Suites) was clean, roomy, and comfortable and there was daily maid service. Warning #1: We were re-routed because of flight issues to Santiago. The airline representative informed us that Santiago was 24 miles away, but it was really 45 miles away, which was over an hour taxi ride ($80). We did arrange transportation through Expedia, which would not show up to Santiago airport. Warning #2: Our first morning, we were escorted to breakfast, and then told we were getting a tour so hop on the golf cart. We quickly found out it was a sales pitch similar to timeshares and ended up spending close to 2 hours with the man, who then got mad at us because we said we couldn't afford to purchase anything. Warning #3: $10 cash entrance fee to the country collected at the airport.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Virginia

Fun, but be warned...

Posted Aug 5, 2014
Pros: It was beautiful, comfortable, and roomy!
Cons: If possible, it would be great to have room service when there is bad weather.
Location: There's plenty to see & do on the resort property, so we didn't leave. There are excursions offered. For safety concerns, be sure to book in advance.
There are lots of food options - El Pilon (Dominican) was by far the best!! There are lots of pools to choose from, and at least two beach beaches, which were never very crowded. There is a shuttle service available, but during busy times there is a long wait and they are very crowded - we found it more efficient to walk even though it was very hot and hilly. The Yin Yang Spa was excellent with prices comparable to US spa prices. Despite warnings about mosquitoes, we didn't see any or have any problems with them. There are options of activities at night, although if you want quiet that may be problem since everything is outdoors and you will hear the loud music. The 2-bedroom suite (Crown Suites) was clean, roomy, and comfortable and there was daily maid service. Warning #1: We were re-routed because of flight issues to Santiago. The airline representative informed us that Santiago was 24 miles away, but it was really 45 miles away, which was over an hour taxi ride ($80). We did arrange transportation through Expedia, which would not show up to Santiago airport. Warning #2: Our first morning, we were escorted to breakfast, and then told we were getting a tour so hop on the golf cart. We quickly found out it was a sales pitch similar to timeshares and ended up spending close to 2 hours with the man, who then got mad at us because we said we couldn't afford to purchase anything. Warning #3: $10 cash entrance fee to the country collected at the airport.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Arlington, Va

Posted Aug 3, 2014
Pros: The hotel staff is very pleasant, smiling and willing to help. The resort is a huge and took some time to learn our way around.
Cons: We constantly ran out of hot water. From our particular hotel it was difficult getting shuttle which was often necessary.
Location: Leaving the resort was not recommended by anyone because it could be unsafe. The resort has plenty to do. If you want to leave plan an excursion.
The entire resort is very beautiful. I was concerned the pictures I found of the hotel would be misleading (i.e. looks better than it actually is) but they were very accurate. The entire staff is wonderful and very nice. The reviews of the food were so-so. In my opinion I thought the food was great. I guess it depends what you're looking for. My boyfriend and I had no complaints about the food however it is no five star dinning. We had a great time. We were there for five nights and spent everyday at the beach. We also bought an excursion to Ocean World. It was worth every penny. We saw a show at both of the entertainment theaters, The Colosseum and Lights, Camera and Action. While the shows were entertaining it was not what we expected. It is not a production or performance but it was still funny. The Cons: You have to make reservations to most restaurants and because we weren't VIP members we were limited to which restaurants we could choose as well as only two reservations for five nights. We knew none of this beforehand which was the most upsetting. Additionally certain beaches, bars, pools and transportation was off limits because we weren't VIPs. It wasn't a big deal because we were only there for six days but had we would have been there longer it would have been an issue. Again we didn't know this before we booked. The sand on the beach was limited. So if you like to build things on the sand or lounge on the sand this isn't the beach.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from NY, ny

Expected the worst and was pleasantly surprised!

Posted Jul 18, 2014
Pros: That it was all inclusive and the front desk took care of your every need.
Cons: The food.
Location: The resort is huge. Really no need at all to leave.
My friend and I's first experience with an "all inclusive" vacation at a crazy low rate and we were very surprised! It exceeded our expectations. Everyone was very friendly and promotes laziness - it's great. Food was okay, some things scarier than others and some so delicious! Not too too many kids. Overall, don't expect 5 stars and fast service, but embrace it for what it is. A fine steal of a vacation.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NY

Excellent Hotel

Posted Jun 29, 2014
Pros: Service excellent could not gave ask for more everything was just right
Staff is very pleasant and friendly which is great you feel so much at home
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by NJ

Posted Jun 18, 2014
They really try to push for an upgrade however we declined and still had an awesome experience. The staff was always friendly and helpful. The food was ok at the buffets but you can make reservations for better restaurants. I would stay again
1 out of 5
by jun from miami florida

lifestyles resort and spa Puerto plata

Posted Jun 18, 2014
Pros: none food so bad got diarrhea
Cons: everything from training staff respect tourists
Location: when you drive out to city Puerto plata OMG agents for prostitutes are waiting
too far building to building shuttle takes time to arrive bad mannered drivers very arrogant staff unhelpful and doesn't know whats going on for the day if you ask.