Ratings based on 107 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from new york

Great service VIP all the way. Beautiful facility

Posted Aug 13, 2014
Had a great time. Lots to do. Many Beach and pool activities available. Food was great.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

OK level resort

Posted Aug 6, 2014
Crowded resort! Which made buffets loud and hard to grab a table. Food was average fare. Can't drink tap water and you can taste it in food. Not a mango or avocado anywhere. Room decor was cheep with rickety chairs and pillows smelled musty. Buildings and pools needed repairs. Too many 'vip' areas that were off limits. No free Wifi. Staff and scenery wonderful. We made the best of it but won't return.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from new jersey

I love the service by the beach and pool

Posted Jul 26, 2014
The food was good service was excellent. I love the beach with the bed and the food and drinks. I like the vip area
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from California

Bad Management

Posted Jul 3, 2014
Pros: The cabanas
Cons: Everything
Location: White water rafting was an exceptional excursion, very safe, and incredible customer service through Expedia. I highly recommend this excursion.
The AC didn't work half of the nights. No adjoining rooms even after requesting months in advance. THe bedroom alarm went off every night at midnight. The bathroom sink clogged up. The shower tray was broken. Room service left our room unlocked after cleaning and left without leaving any towels. They didn't make the room until we requested it at 4 pm. Really poor customer service. Non VIPs do not get any importance or privileges. There are NOT 27 restaurants. As non-vips, we had access to a total of 5. I would not recommend this hotel. Not a family friendly resort, many pools are adult only, and kids under 18, like teenagers included, have to go in a pathetic 2 feet kiddie pool. Go if you want to lose your money. The only positive part was the beach, which wasn't managed by Lifestyle resorts anyways.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 27, 2014
Cons: better transportation services
rooms were very nice only problem we has was with the transportation, take tooooo long to pick you up.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Miami, FL

Nice complex in Puerto Plata

Posted Jun 19, 2014
Wonderful overall experience. The only detail to improve is the food quality and diversity
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Dave from New york

Second time and luv it

Posted Jun 9, 2014
Wow . You have to experience it for your self . I'm not a big Eater So you would have to be a judge of that for your self.but everything else loved it
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Carolina from Edmonton,AB ......Canada

Nice hotel, great price

Posted May 21, 2014
Had a good time. Food was good, lots of variety. Entertainment was good nightly shows and daily activities. They will try to get you to pay for vip beach extra 200 dollars but also have beach chairs provided if you do not wish to pay for the vip beach.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from queens

staff

Posted May 19, 2014
Pros: everything.
Cons: the staff at the customer service room needs to be more helpful.
i was at the hotel for 4 days , i really enjoy everything but the only thing that really bored me was that just because you didn't have a VIP bracelet we couldn't get any reservation. they said we get two and we only got one . the staff at the customer service weren't to helpful they just tell you no and that's all. specially the guy. also they change my room and they lie saying that is was for a better one instead of telling the true .
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Allison from South Carolinap

First trip to the Dominican

Posted May 19, 2014 on Hotels.com
This was our first trip out of the country, let alone to the Dominican Republic and we were incredibly happy with the Lifestyle Tropical Beach Resort. We were expecting to be barraged with timeshare offers and feel excluded not being VIP members, based on other reviews, but that couldn't be further from reality. The staff was so attentive and friendly all week and the only things we were asked to purchase were excursions from the event staff and local fare from vendors. Some of them didn't take no for an answer the first time, but we never felt pressured or overwhelmed to purchase anything. There are parts of the hotel reserved exclusively for VIP members, but that didn't mean we didn't have wonderful accommodations. The other resort on the property is just a short walk down the beach and accessible to all Tropical guests. Both resorts are stunning and amazingly relaxing. We were thoroughly pleased with our experience at this resort and would recommend it to anyone looking to travel to the Dominican Republic.