Ratings based on 12 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Reservations not honored!!!

Posted Feb 18, 2015
Resort downgraded my reservation because they had Share holder guest visiting so my reservation for a 2Bdr presidential suite was downgraded to 1 room with 2 beds. There were 3 people in my group and they only wanted to offer us 1 room. NOT GOOD!!! After 2 hours they offered me a studio unit for the 3rd person in my group And my wife and I stayed in the one room unit. The resort did not honor my reservation from Expedia.
1 out of 5
Recommended
by victor from brooklyn , ny

victor

Posted Jan 28, 2014 on Hotels
i will never go back to this hotel again and i will never book my hotels again on hotel.comwhen i get to hotel they put me and my family in basement floor for my family lovely vacation
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by thai hoang from ny

Great place to spend vacation

Posted Jan 1, 2014
The room is clean, great beaches and convenient set up. We become members during this trip and lok forward to go back .
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Marie from New York

Posted Nov 22, 2013 on Hotels
The Presidential Suites was a very nice hotel. The room was spacious and clean. The pool and bar area also clean. Unfortunately The food at any VIP restaurant that we had reservations for were really bad. It was not the quality of food that they call gourmet. Even something as simple as breakfast was horrible. The so called chefs need a lesson on real culinary foods. I was about to go into the kitchen and give them a few pointers. The lite snacks at the VIP Pool and beach were better than any lunch or dinner we had at any of the restaurants. When we go on vacation the accommodations and meals are a key element of our stay. The accommodations very good but food horrible. And this was suppose to be the VIP treatment, I feel sorry for those who aren't.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 10, 2013 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Aisha from Ny

Posted May 7, 2013 on Hotels
Trip was fun, service excellent!
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Danièle

Très confortable, dommage que.....

Posted Feb 16, 2013 on Hotels
Cet hôtel est très confortable, belle décoration, très bon accueil, le seul bémol est la qualité de la nourriture que je nommerai très médiocre ! Fade et sans aucun goût. Le buffet du petit déjeuner non achalandé : à 9h30, impossible d'avoir du lait, plus de fruit également.....alors que le service se termine à 10h30 ! Restaurant gourmet : correct à part le dessert immangeable ! Quand au buffet vip du dimanche soir.... infecte ! Cochon grillé qui n'en a que le nom, ou bien il faut aimer la viande rose bonbon, les sushis secs, sans goût.....Quel dommage pour un si bel établissement !
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by sleepy traveler

Lifestyle holiday in the Dominican Republic

Posted Sep 8, 2012
Pros: Luxurious room
Cons: Average food, limited food choices and times.
Location: Puerto Plata has some of the best weather, gorgous beaches, and wonderful service, any where around
The Presidential Suites as part of the lifestyles complex of resorts in the Domincan Republic is an amazing place to vacation. Warm sunny days, combined with an all inclusive package, fantastic service, and extremely high quality rooms. I would highly recommend staying there, particularly the Presidential. Although if you stay at the lifestyles make sure you get a all access VIP package, so you can get into most places. Unfortunately this will not allow you to visit Serenity and harmony beaches, including the best ice cream and Crepes around (reserved for Gold band members). That was a bit disappointing, plus the resturaunts are not open all the time, so if you dont conform to thier schedule you dont eat. Plus some restaurants are not even open each day. If you can get by those minor issues and there is a definite class system in place with the color of your wrist band, but all in all the place is amazing.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Miami, FL

Great facility but enough with the all-inclusive!

Posted Jun 28, 2012
Pros: Great room, nice resort features like pools
Cons: Meals, beach not clean nor was ocean crystalline.
Location: Far from most things in Puerto Plata, but easy to access excursions.
Wasn't aware that all-inclusive meant nearly full control and few options - the food options were limited and the quality very poor (especially the Italian - didn't know anyone could screw up pasta). The front desk staff didn't even inform us that there was an a la carte option - one night we stumbled onto it only because someone in one of the restaurants told us about it. Otherwise we were supposed to make dinner reservations each night which, when you're on vacation, you don't necessarily want to have to be programmed to do. The big welcome fiesta featured horrible '80s American music, like "YMCA" and disco, while we wanted to at least have some variety including merengue and bachata, anything Dominican or Latino (except for Macarena). The room was very clean and huge (we had upgraded to a suite), but the mattress was horrible and I came home with a sore back. There was a welcome platter of fruits in the firdge, but it was never replenished so once we ate it the first day, that was it. Staff were very friendly, but being fluent Spanish-speakers, we were generally very well received so not sure if all were so treated. Another night's entertainment in the theater was a bad dance production with a focus on Michael Jackson, long delays between numbers, poor segue to songs by the technical staff. overall a poor imitation of a cruise show. Then we discovered Cabarete and the freedoms it seemed to offer, and realize we missed out on what could have been much better!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by RMT

It was decent considering...

Posted Jun 19, 2012
Cons: The 2+ hours wasted trying to be sold a vacation membership.
My friends and I went to DR for a quick 4 day trip in June. The room looks great from the 1st impression, but then we saw small things over the few days in our 2 bedroom presidential suite: the 1st bathroom's jacuzzi tub did not drain, the 2nd bathroom's jacuzzi tub spit out a rust colored water when first turned on each time it was used, the 2nd bathroom's shower head was extremely unsecured from the wall, and on our last night - a cockroach crawled out of the access panel for the 2nd bathroom's jacuzzi tub. As for food - the buffets were pretty basic. Lunch at the VIP Beach was not edible. We received 2 undercooked lobsters during dinner. The best meal we did have, however, was dinner at VIP Simple Gourmet. We were pleased. As for the other restaurants, Indochine (mentioned in the description) was not open. Just a quick note - if Expedia didn't have the offer for the VIP Extras included with our stay, we would not have been able to go ANYWHERE as the resort is split off into these non-VIP vs. VIP areas. I'm glad they offered it.We ended up trying to find out how to become a VIP and were met with pushy salespeople. Good luck in trying to avoid them.