Ratings based on 321 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom nyc

Great Week with the Family

Posted Apr 21, 2015
Pros: Hospitality
Hotel was great i stayed here 10 years ago and still its well maintained. beach was clean food was good and workers were very nice with everyone.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Bridgeport, CT

Great value for the price!

Posted Apr 20, 2015
Pros: The scenery was unreal! I liked the charm of the resort. I felt like it fit in with the local atmosphere. Not over the top like some resorts can be.
Cons: The air conditioning could've been a little better as well as the food selection for lunch.
Just came back from Riu Bachata 2 days ago and wish we were back! Puerto Plata was one of the most beautiful places I've been! The Bachata had some breathtaking views of mountains, rolling hills, and crystal blue water. Facilities- The resort was absolutely beautiful! The buildings were all painted different pastel colors which nicely complimented the resort's decor. The pool was HUGE! It had 3 different sections. Wish they kept the kids into one though. A few times kids bumped into me at the swim-up bar and I almost dropped my drink in the pool. The beaches were breathtaking!! The water was always the perfect temperature and there was always a steady breeze. Almost a 20 degrees difference between the beach and the pool area so we spent a majority of our time on the beach. Food-Typical resort food. Great breakfast. Mediocre lunch/dinner Staff- The staff was super friendly and very accommodating. They spoke very good english and did everything and anything you asked of them! We had trouble with our shuttle and they were more than happy to help us use their phone and get everything straightened out. Rooms- As mentioned in other comments, the furniture was a little dated, but I felt that added to the charm of the resort. The air conditioning wasn't all that great, but it worked well enough so I wasn't uncomfortable. The maids did an amazing job of keeping everything clean! Ignore the bad reviews!!! They were definitely from people expecting a 5 star resort at a 3 star price
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom brooklyn, ny

Nice hotel to stay but not for more them 3 night

Posted Apr 11, 2015
Breakfast was the same every day, Dont like the way to make reservertion for dinner a la carte
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom NY

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 10, 2015
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 6, 2015
We arrived at check in just to find out they gave our room away. The alcohol was the cheapest of the cheapest and the excursion we booked was canceled for no reason. At least the beach was nice
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good value for your dollar

Posted Apr 4, 2015
Cons- The food is underwhelming. The room had a damp musty smell. It's located further out from all the other resort areas/attractions than I would prefer Pros - booze is plentiful and available 24 hours. The beach was nice and had a lot of shade if you wanted out of the sun. The 2 pool areas, especially the swim up bar, were great.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom new york

Animacion Riu Bachata very-very good

Posted Mar 10, 2015
Excellent place , only the beach was not that good, but by the pool it's so good that you don't even want to leave the pool, the staff was very nice and funny, very friendly, we had a great time
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom VA

Good value for the money

Posted Mar 2, 2015
Cons: In the rooms - add floor fans, or de-humidifiers, and wash the curtains more often.
Location: ATVs, horseback riding, scuba/snorkel, swim with dolphins, 27 waterfalls (awesome), hiking, shopping.
As others had mentioned, the A/C can't keep up with the humidity. The staff seems to do a good job cleaning surface areas; however, they need to wash the drapes and clean the ceiling fan as mildew/mold collects visibly in these areas. The selection at the buffet is decent enough, but can be rather repetitive. That said, this was my second year staying at this resort. For the price you pay, you get decent value. Many of the excursions can be found much cheaper with a little time on the Internet, or through talking with the gift shop workers off the resort (understand they are going to make money from the referral, but you can sometimes pay 30-40% less or more). You have to pay a deposit for a second room key - they will ask for $ in USD and try to give you RD, which you will take a bath at the currency exchange. The excursions' staff will pick you up at the hotel, and drive hotel to hotel. While we did not stay at the other resorts, the Bachata at least appeared nicer/newer than many/most of the others in Puerto Plata; the hotel is further away from the airport than many others. The cruise lines are building a port in close proximity and it will be finished soon; slated to bring 20k tourists a week to the area.....go before it gets super crowded (although the cruise lines may bring more activities; but higher prices for trinkets and activities).
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom New York

Fine but full of crickets, bugs and smokers

Posted Feb 26, 2015
The hotel was just ok. It was full of smokers, with ashtrays on every corner and the rooms were far from clean. There were laud crickets all over the room (hiding in the sheets, under the mattress, curtains, etc), which, as you can imagine, made sleeping next to impossible. Additionally there were smokers everywhere, so if you smoke, you'll like the fact that it's allowed pretty much everywhere over here.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Robertafrom Rimini

Esperienza negativa. Non lo consiglio.

Posted Feb 16, 2015 on Hotels.com
Esperienza negativa. Qualità cibo scarsa. Internet a pagamento (mentre su internet è scritto gratis), concedono solo 60 minuti gratis per tutta la durata del soggiorno da consumarsi in un'unica connessione. Al nostro arrivo in doccia il dispenser per il sapone era vuoto, lo abbiamo richiesto diverse volte, alla 4° volta, dopo 2 giorni, lo hanno portato. Servizio pessimo...non ci tornerò mai più!