Ratings based on 261 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great resort for a 3rd world country

Posted Jun 26, 2014
We stayed at Riu Bachata for a week. We had a great time and the staff was super friendly. My only complaints were due to it being a 3rd world country not anything the hotel could help. The food isn't that great, but that is the flavors there. The drinks are not that great, but again it is the location. Our bed was super firm which some people like. Overall, the resort was beautiful and the staff will go out of there way to get you anything you need.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 25, 2014
It was ok. I expected a little bit more. It was my first time traveling to DR and thought the hotel would have had more of a party life. I wish the hotel had more wifi. Overall my stay at the hotel was ok.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Don't waste your money

Posted Jun 24, 2014
For the amount I paid for this all inclusive trip I expected more bang for my buck, I barely got gun smoke! This resort will feed you the same meal day in and day out. For all inclusive beverages you will receive below house liquor, there are no clubs, and the pool closes at 7pm. Aside from that it's a nice place to relax. If you do not appreciate or care about the value of your dollar and you're looking for a quiet retreat with minimal activity this place is for you! Oh yes and be prepared to rent an iron (that's not included).
1 out of 5
by M N from mm nj

Terrible

Posted Jun 9, 2014
Terrible , dirty , miserable food lot a flay round the food never back again :/
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Katty from New York, NY

Very nice hotel, great beach!

Posted Jun 6, 2014
Pros: The service was great.
Our hotel room was so close to the beach. I loved it!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Samantha from Buffalo

Beautiful Location , Right on the beach,clean

Posted May 28, 2014
I stayed at the RIU Bachata from 5.12.14 - 5.17.14 & it was a wonderful vacation. The staff was friendly and the rooms were spotless. Perfect Location right on the beach and the weather was outstanding. The shows at night time were hilarious. The food was decent.Wasnt phenomenal but there was always something you could find to eat. I really enjoyed the trip overall. However, there were a few things i wasn't pleased with. The minibar wasnt fully stocked. There were only 3 different kinds of beverages , 2 bottles per drink and it was only restocked every two days. Considering the tap water isnt ingestible, there really should be an extended bottled water supply with it being so hot there. Secondly, the WiFi.we had zero access in our room and that is NOT what was advertised in the hotel description. It was only accessible in the lobby for about 30 minutes and you could only login once a day. The gift shops were another downside. Being a young woman, the men made my friend and i very uncomfortable and pressured us into sales... no one wants to feel like that while trying to shop for gifts. Another downside was limited food access.. Snacks were limited and there wasn't really anywhere you could get a snack late at night after the bars closed. Also booking reservations for the excursions and the restaurants.. the staff at the front desk should really advise further on times and when to book because we were clueless. we had to figure out everything on our own.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Bachata! Bachata!

Posted May 27, 2014
Bachata is very quiet location and peaceful. The staff is amazing at the front desk as well in the facility. The buffet style dinning is ok. However, if you plan to eat outside you will be sharing your food with nature.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Mslisa from New Hampshire

wonderful grounds, beach and pool, food excellent

Posted May 20, 2014
Pros: clean pretty surroundings service excellent
Cons: wifi being free
Location: paradise island was amazing, the boat the picnic I highly recommend ocean world was fun as well professional friendly staff
Very easy check in and out, staff accommodating and friendly. entertainment was good would like to see more music orientated things though however entertainment was engaging and lots of laughs excellent buffet and food. my only negative is that the locals are allowed to be in lobby one night during our stay to put pressure on us in buying their items, upon entering for dinner.. when we really just wanted to get dinner after a long day out and about. I understand them being there but just a different location so that you could go to the dining area with out the pressure of shopping
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by jay from maine

Overall an awesome resort

Posted May 9, 2014
Pros: Very clean, and super friendly staff. Great value for the money
Cons: ATM in the lobby and friendlier front desk staff
Location: Some very entertaining excursions, definitely would recommend booking through the hotel.
The resort grounds are beautiful and well kept. The staff are very friendly English is obviously a second language. The front desk staff tended towards snippy and it felt like you were bothering them. Also would be a help if you could exchange and get money from the lobby rather than walk to the front gate to access an ATM.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

beautiful location. Better food could have helped.

Posted May 6, 2014
Pros: The location and its privacy.
Cons: The air conditioned in the rooms.
Location: Not much that we did knew about.
The Hotel service was excellent. The room service and location was excellent. The food at the Italian and steak restaurant was not exactly what we expected. On that particular restaurant buffet, next to the beach, if the quality of food and service is improved, it will satisfied a lot more customers.