Ratings based on 215 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great staff, horrible food

Posted Jul 11, 2014
The staff was extremely friendly and nice. The food, coffee, beer was absolutely horrible. The worst hotel bed I have slept on in a long time. The taxis are a joke from the hotel, it's no doubt price gouging, they'll charge you about 3 times the actual fares from there. Again, the staff were all super friendly nice, helpful people, unfortunately that would not be enough for me to return here.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Massachusetts

Posted Jul 2, 2014
Pros: The people are very friendly and polite, close to the beach, also the shows were excellent.
Cons: Entrance signals, also it needs more parking space. The Internet connection was not good and they only give 90 minutes a day
Location: Not a great location, because if you travel by car by yourself you could get lost or can miss the entrance to the hotel. It needs more visual signals
nice hotel with very friendly staff. nice people, But they should update the wi fi, needs more space for parking
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 24, 2014
Need to have more viarity of food but overall it's was great
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by mickie from Houston

very nice place

Posted Jun 17, 2014
great experience wonderful food , great people, beautiful view.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel for a fun getaway

Posted May 28, 2014
The employees were amazing I felt like family. I enjoy eating and there is a restaurant open until 2 am which is convenient. The rooms are nice and clean and I would go back again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston, MA

Nice hotel right on the beach.

Posted May 23, 2014
Overall Riu was a good expierence. The hotel was very clean and had great views of the nearby mountains. The pools were nice and the staff was always great. We did the all inclusive deal. The bar tenders were great and always offered you another drink before you finished the one in front of you. Also, the rooms came with a mini bar with 4 types of alcohol that they continued to refill every 2 days. The Cons: You had to make reservations for the nicer restarauntes. However, if you did not do this by 8 am they were ususally fully booked by then. The beds were very stiff. Not good for someone with a bad back like myself. The buffet food was very bland and repetitive. After a few days we were sick of all the food at the buffet.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by rRonda from new york

Posted May 13, 2014
it was great the staff was wonderful did get to do much it was raining
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by nancy from IL

Nice beach

Posted Apr 27, 2014
Pros: Loved that that even though one of the resorts was closed the proximity of three together was great. Love the beach!!!!!
Cons: More variety on the menu, different food stations for for pasta, meat, and sides. It to mixed up!
Location: Transfer to and from airport about 30-45 minutes, just hold on!!!
After staying in another RIU this one was a little disappointing. Food was good but it seemed the same dish was just cooked another way each day. Our AC did not work properly. Ants in room, staff tried to fix, Entertainment was mediocre at best. Loved the shops and the long stretch of beach, just bring beach shoes, rocks are everywhere, all in all nice place.
1 out of 5
by Anthony from florida

Warning. Do not book at this resort

Posted Apr 25, 2014
Pros: Underpaid overworked staff
Cons: Remodel the rooms so it looks similar to the pictures they advertise.
Location: Did not stay long enough
I have been traveling the globe for last 20 years. I am going to be short and direct on this review. This resort is nothing even close to what you see and read. I have no idea where they took these pictures from the rooms. I booked on the phone for a weekend getaway. I should have read all reviews. My friends do not book this resort. The had their top of the line beach view room. TV is from the 80s , and kept tuning out. Beds are uncomfortable reminds you of motel. The bathtub clogged. Electrical plugs are not compatible with everyday plugs(I guess trying to save on electricity use). The buffet food reminded me of my high school years.(I am in my 40s now). My deepest sorrow was for the poor underpaid overworked staff that could not keep up with the complains. I checked in Sunday , could not tolerate the quality and quietly and politely CHECKED OUT on Monday morning. I have contacted Expedia asking for a refund . I had booked for 3 nights. I went to another resort for the other 2 nights. EXPEDIA PLEASE CHECK THESE REVIEWS. AS A LONG TERM CLIENT AND A MEDICAL PROFESSIONAL, I AM ASKING EXPEDIA TO CHECK ON THE WAY THE FOOD WAS BEING COOKED AT THE BUFFET. I NEVER HAVE GIVEN REVIEWS ,BUT THIS TIME IT IS MY DUTY TO INFORM THE PUBLIC. BE WARNED.
1 out of 5
by v from NJ

bad resort.Won't go again at any RIU

Posted Apr 24, 2014
Pros: nothing
Cons: Everything - from updating the rooms to improving the food
Location: not much
Same food everyday, just a few choices and some of them (the most basics ones, were even missing some days), poorly cooked, blunt taste. Even the meat was poorly cooked, poor quality with a lot of fat and bones. The restaurant a la carte is actually the restaurant were you eat at lunch.Poor range of choices at beverages also, red rock (like Fanta) has some much artificial color in it that it stays on your tongue or cheeks unless you wash it vigurously. Alcoholic beverages are not what it says on the bottle. Refrigerator in the room did not work, had to be changes, the air conditioning in the room was just a breeze of air not cold air and it was always hot, beverages in the fridge are replaced every 2 days!