Ratings based on 209 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tampa fl

beautiful

Posted Sep 9, 2014
Pros: great food
Cons: the reservation system for the gourmet restaurant
Location: beautiful beaches, visit the waterfalls
not only great food, and excellent customer service. I forgot my purse and it was found soon with everything on it. Very safe and secure destination
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Great vacation!!!

Posted Sep 5, 2014
Beautiful, peaceful resort, friendly staff, delicious food & drinks. Great magic show. A short walk down the street to a dance club. We snorkeled, rode bikes & I used the gym a few times. I recommend the waterfall excursion.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NY

Jackie special!

Posted Aug 23, 2014
The Jackie special drink, it's the signature drink of this resort, ask for this lady in your stay and enjoy the best drink ever! Not only is the drink the best one but also the maker herself is the Sweetest staff member we met, helped me work on my Spanish and always went above and beyond her responsibility to make me feel at home along with everyone else at the hotel !
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

VH Gran Ventana

Posted Aug 13, 2014
One of the nicest resorts for the price in the Costa Dorada resort complex. When I saw some of the other nearby hotels, I was VERY happy with my decision to stay at this one. The food really was delicious for an all inclusive. I looked forward to every meal. We went to Punta Cana towards the end of our trip and stayed at another all-inclusive (that was twice the price of this one) and it made us appreciate our experience at the VH Gran Ventana in Puerto Plata even more! The beach was not as crowded as it was in Punta Cana, the prices of nearby restaurants much more affordable, and the food much much better here. If you are going to be in the Puerto Plata area, this is the place to stay. Also check out the 27 charcos. AMAZING! Just don't pay for the excursion through the hotels. We drove there with our rental car and paid only 16 dollars entrance for 2. Side note: if you are considering the Barcelo Puerto Plata... do not stay there! We booked that resort and changed our mind last minute. We walked into the resort when we got there just to take a look and it did not measure up in the slightest to this one.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Nice hotel to relax

Posted Aug 5, 2014
Pros: Staff was amazing and friendly! Food and hotel facilities were nice. No complaints.
Cons: WiFi internet service, although sometimes it's nice to be disconnected from work.
Location: There are some shops w/I walking distance for souvenirs. There are a number of all day excursions available that are somewhat near the hotel.
This was a great hotel & location to relax, have some drinks and sunbathe. It was my first all inclusive & was great! Below are some quick notes, broken down: Staff/hospitality= Everyone was extremely nice & always willing to help! The first night they held a "welcome" in the pool area. It was great, they introduced all managers & then brought out all staff- maids, hostesses, bus boy, etc. I've never seen anything like it & thought it was really great to see the staff! It also showed how much they all enjoyed working there & how the managers appreciated them. Food= I know everyone has different opinions but I thought the food was good and was actually better than expected! A good mix of foods for everyone. If you want to eat at their restaurants (aside from the buffet) you should talk to the hotel reception as soon as you check in b/c they fill up quickly and certain restaurants are open on certain days. It's ok though b/c you can book dinner reservations in advance, if you go on day excursions you need to make sure you have enough time to get back. Nightlife= There isn't much to do at night. They hold evening shows which were nice though they end by 11-11:30pm and the hotel bars close shortly after that point. You can get drinks at the buffet area thou it's So if nightlife past midnight is really important to you, you may want look into clubs/bars nearby the hotel or stay somewhere else. Internet=Good/bad depends. Wifi is very hard to get even if you pay
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Great value

Posted Aug 3, 2014
Pros: Close to the beach, friendly staff..
Great for the families... everything close.. Offers a lot of additional activities.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NJ

beautiful hotel, fantastic staff, and great food!!

Posted Jul 29, 2014
Pros: great staff, great food and, great atmosphere. The entertainment crew is very talented
Stayed for a week with my family and we all had an amazing time. The staff was wonderful, extremely helpful, and friendly. The food was to die for with lots of choices and fresh. I have already recommended this resort to some of my friends and we are planning to go back again and again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from garcia from New York

The hotel is clean and comfortable

Posted Jul 28, 2014
The staff are thoughtful, kind and attentive. I will recommend this resort to my friends.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NY, NY

OK

Posted Jul 21, 2014
Pros: The beach, pool and open bar
Cons: The food and the employees
Location: Next to a whole bunch of other hotels but nothing to do near by
It is right on the beach and all tours are close or will pick you up from this Hotel. They are also willing to change your room if you are not happy and that is nice. However it is more family geared than I anticipated. in addition the staff was okay, they forgot when we called for extra towels so we had to call again. the same thing happened when we asked for an additional blanket. cleanliness could have been better, the bathroom looked clean but one of the beds was made with a blanket that had a stain on it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Close to the beach nice hotel

Posted Jul 17, 2014
Pros: The beach
Cons: I would've like to hear more native music
Its truly an all inclusive no hidden fees with clean rooms and good food.