Ratings based on 287 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Rhode Island

Nice hotel, but the staff made me uncomfortable

Posted Mar 29, 2015
Pros: The drinks, the beach, the pool.
Cons: The check-in process was just ridiculous.
I had a really great time -- the room was clean and comfortable, the food was pretty solid, and the drinks were great. I went in really worried about stuff being stolen because I read a lot of reviews about in-room theft, and my friends and I did share a safe for things like our passports and extra cash, but a couple times I left my expensive camera on the desk when I left the room and nothing happened to it. Use common sense with your valuables and everything should be fine -- one girl left her iPhone in the cab on the first day and managed to get it back, so while theft is always a concern I wouldn't say this resort's image should be marred by it. However, as a light-skinned Black female who can pass for Dominican, I was super uncomfortable with the staring and comments from the male staff. I understand Dominican culture is friendly and I loved stopping and chatting with them and even appreciated the lighthearted flirting, but I also understand enough Spanish to know when they were openly discussing my butt and making other other-the-top suggestive statements. Sometimes they would just leer at me as I walked by without saying a word -- differences in cultural norms do not make this type of creepy behavior OK and it definitely upset me.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 27, 2015
While it may not have been the nicest resort I have ever been to, what you get vs. what you pay makes it an amazing deal! Pool, beach, food, rooms, etc. were all nice and the waterfall excursion we found for $30 from one of the beaxh vendors was well worth the money! Would recommend to anyone interested in a mid-quality inexpensive all-inclusive resort!
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Tri-state area

Ehhhh not worth it

Posted Mar 27, 2015
Spend a few bucks more and go somewhere nicer. Had an issue with the cleaning people. The room was always wet due to humidity and being on the 1st floor. Staff did not care for the clients of the hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Nova Scotia

Nice spot

Posted Mar 24, 2015
Great resort. Good food. Close to the beach. Resort isn't to big. We went March break and feared it would be busy with long lines for bars and food. There was no vacancy and never had a long wait for anything. We had a great time and would defiantly go back to this resort
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 24, 2015
Food was great especially the special restuarants but the availability wasn't that great.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Easy beach access.

Posted Mar 20, 2015
Cons: Bed was too hard. Need better beds. Better alcohol.
The hotel had great beach access and a great pool. Alcohol was ok, but i don't drink beer so it might be better if you drink beer. Liquor was garage and mixes were very sweet. Bed was hard, but the room itself was nice. Don't expect much seafood here. They have 3 restaurants that are good, but nothing special. All other food is buffet (though, the breakfast buffet was good!) I'd go back, but probably not for 6 nights, maybe only 4 nights (long weekend).
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Boston

The staff was mostly helpful

Posted Mar 19, 2015
Pros: The beach was mostly quiet but there are way too many vendors!
Cons: The beds need to be changed. The bathroom could be updated.
We paid for the premium upgrade but did not receive most of the services. The beach is nice but there is a lot of seaweed in the water which I didn't see at a few resorts further down. Most of the hotel staff was friendly & helpful. We skipped quite a few meals as we did not care for the food at all. Thank God that I brought snacks from home! Trying to sit at the pool was ridiculous - all of the chairs are reserved. There isn't much to do here. The gym was hot and the equipment was old.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

It was okay

Posted Mar 18, 2015
The beds and pillows were really uncomfortable, and the room let in all the humidity. I was really disappointed also that the bars closed at 12PM- that is not suitable for people below the age of 50! The staff, however, were great. The daily activities were really fun and the pool was a blast. The restaurants were good and I enjoyed the buffet.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom New York

An average all inclusive resort.

Posted Mar 16, 2015
Beach, excellent. Pool, also. The staffs at the bar, pool side and especially the gentlemen doing the aerobics, fantastic jobs you guys. Down side, the upper tier restaurants require reservation, and even on the day of the check in, all three was full for the next three days. This is a huge minus point for someone who knows other all inclusive resorts. Oh yes, need to remind you that the shower will be hot followed by cold water, never had consistent warm shower.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Florida

Large over crowded resort

Posted Mar 16, 2015
Pros: The Check in/out process
Cons: Food, drink quality and entertainment. Comfort of pool seating
Location: Little if any
Check in on March 9 was one of the pluses. The room was clean/OK. However the resort was too crowded and the breakfast/lunch/dinner buffets were average with masses of people pushing and shoving. Getting a plate was at times difficult. We noticed tipping made no difference in quality of service. The specialty restaurants were a big improvement not only in food but much less people. We were restricted to one visit to the 3 restaurants for the week . I also feel charging for the use of a room safe was cheesy. The entertainment at night was practically non-existent. They need to have some dance music. In closing I thought the resort was over-priced for the value. .