Ratings based on 197 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Close to the beach nice hotel

Posted Jul 17, 2014
Pros: The beach
Cons: I would've like to hear more native music
Its truly an all inclusive no hidden fees with clean rooms and good food.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Michigan

Friends made it fun!

Posted Jul 15, 2014
Pros: The staff is very friendly and the beach is nice, too.
Cons: The over crowding of the pool for the weekend.
Pros: Staff, location and pool Cons: Something we did not expect, on the weekend the hotel offers a discount stay to the local residents. I have nothing against the locals but the pool was so over crowded compared to earlier in the week. There had to be an extra 150 people in the 1 major pool. You could not get to the swim up bar because they were completely surrounding it, throwing plastic cups, walking along the framework, etc. They were filling the cups with pool water and tossing it about. It was just so unexpected. So crowded and disappointing for us all. The rooms have no iron and our room leaked water from the air conditioner. They do not refill conditioners and soaps. I put the empty conditioner bottles on my sink and they still did not refill. The food was ok but you only get 1 visit to the nice places and you must make reservations.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 19, 2014
Pros: quiet pool and unlimited drinks
Cons: iron and full length mirror in rooms,food quality,remove venders
beach venders spoil enjoyment of beach.breakfest fine,other meals not so hot.swim trunks and light cover stolen.magic show very good.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from a

Nice location

Posted Jun 10, 2014
It is convenient from pop airport. Its an average resort., by the nice beach and personel very friedly. Food was good and drinks ok. The only problem was with dominican people selling different things on the beach. They were so anoying. We couldn't relax because of them. They were maybe 70 of them coming back every 4-5 min and asking., pushing and bothering us to buy thier things. Without there presence it wold have being much much better.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by De Jesus, B from Texas

Nice Hotel and very comfortable.

Posted Jun 3, 2014
Very positive experience. This hotel complex is family oriented. I love it! Next time, i will bring my kids.
2 out of 5
by Dutch from New Jersey

lousy room, nice location and staff

Posted Jun 3, 2014
Pros: Location, and most of the hotel staff were excellent people!
Cons: dinner buffet hours, room amenities severely lacking, open specialty restaurants more than 1 per day, stop beach vendors (I go to the beach to relax)
Location: close to beach, and pool, office and entertainment stage are centrally located. The Bravissimo show/dinner were superb! best food i had on the trip
room had no clock, no dresser and closet had only 4 hangers(had to live out of suitcase). had to pay for room safe which was a key you had to hide or take with you to the pool or beach. only 1 specialty restaurant open each day and all were booked. buffet has specific hours: nothing open from 5pm -6:30pm to eat dinner (i don't know about anyone else but i usually eat dinner between 5:30-6pm). wind was so strong on the beach sand gets in your eyes and mouth(no one was on it for very long), besides who could stand the constant vendors hounding you every 5 minutes. There is a time and place for loud music, but 11am when everyone is relaxing at the pool is not it. my trip to Punta Cana a few years ago was IMMENSELY more pleasurable, relaxing, and fun! I will NEVER return to Puerto Plata, but will go back to Punta Cana sometime in the next few years. Same deals and price, much more pleasurable place!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 2, 2014
Our group of 6 adults enjoyed a 2 day stay at the resort. Parking was free, close, and easy. The staff was nice and accommodating. The pool bar service was a little slow. Daily pool activities were a bit intrusive on the overall relaxation vibe, but those participating seemed to enjoy them. The buffet was decent, and the a Ocean Grill had excellent food, however, our group had difficulty making reservations and got lucky when another group was a no-show. Make reservations for any of the restaurants before you arrive, if you can.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by WICKEWANDA from FLORIDA,USA

WE WERE IN PARADISE, WONDERFUL STAFF, BEAUTIFUL

Posted May 30, 2014
Pros: PERSONNEL ESPECIALLY THE ENTERTAINMENT STAFF
Cons: ROOMS THEY NEED A LITTLE UPDATING
Location: WE DID NOT WONDER OUT OF THE HOTEL BUT THE SEROUNDINGS LOOKED VERY NICE
I ARRANGED A TAXI BY CALLING THE HOTEL DIRECTLY TO PICK US UP AT THE AIRPORT IN PUERTO PLATA ,LA UNION, EVEN THOUGH OUR FLIGHT WAS DELAYED A FEW OURS OUR TAXI WAS WAITING FOR US AT THE AIRPORT. FROM THE MOMENT WE ARRIVED AT THE HOTEL TIRED AND EXHAUSTED WE WERE RECEIVED LIKE KINGS WITH A NICE COLD DRINK AND A COLD TOWEL THEY SAT US AT THE LOBBY NOT STRAIGHT TO THE CHECK IN COUNTER TO MY SURPRISE EVERYTHING WAS READY FOR US, ROOM CARDS INFORMATION OF THE HOTELS, TOWEL CARDS, CHECK IN WAS A DREAM. THEY HAVE SO MUCH PERSONEL THAT YOU ONLY HAD TO TURN AROUND AND THERE WERE SOME ONE TO HELP YOU. THE BUFFET RESTAURANT WAS EXCELLEN T, STAFF AS WONDERFUL, BAR WAS EXCELLENT, ROOMS COULD BE UPDATED A BIT BUT THEY WERE CLEAN AND STAFF GREAT AS SOON AS I MADE A REQUEST FOR EXTRA PILLOWS I GOT THEM, POOL WAS BEAUTIFUL NOT CROWDED AT ALL, EVERYDAY THEY HAD SMALL EVENTS, BEACH WAS BEAUTIFUL WITH CALM WAVES, THE ONLY THING THAT WAS ENOYING AT THE BEACH WAS THE VENDORS, THEY WERE TOO MANY AND TOO PUSHY, COME TO FIND OUT THEY ARE NOT PART OF THE HOTEL. BUT WE TALKED TO PEOPLE IN CHARGED AT THE HOTEL AND THEY CONTROLLED THEM A BIT, THE HOTEL HAS NO JURISDICTION AT THE BEACH. THE SHOWS AT THE HOTEL WERE GREAT AND FUNNY, THE ENTERTAINMENT STAFF WERE THE BEST, FRIENDLY AND VERY NICE ESPECIALLY ONE CALLED CHOCOLATE. CHECK OUT WAS JUST AS WONDERFUL. WE STAYED MAY 13TH TO MAY 15TH 2014 AND WE WERE CELEBRATING MY DAUGHTERS ENGEDMENT. I WILL DEFINETLY WILL GO THERE AGAIN. WE FELT VERY SAFE.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Idaho

Above our expectations

Posted May 27, 2014
Location: We did the city town with the cable car, a glass boat snorkeling, and the waterfalls. I would go back again just for the waterfalls!!
We had a great trip, this hotel is really great and especially for the price. After talking to some other people in the area, it sounds like its one of the nicer hotels to be at. The food was actually really good, we never left hungry. Always had a great variety at the buffet and it switched up every day. I love the breakfast part the best. The best advice I read was to book your restaurant reservations when you get there, because they are very limited. We got to attend each one once, I loved the Italian one, they seemed to have really good flavors to the food. The ocean grill was disappointed, really dry and over done food. The octopus was good too but the Italian was by far our favorite. It would have been nice to go there twice, but I was expecting reservations to be limited so it didn't disappoint when it was. Our room was nice, it was on the third floor semi facing the pool, it was kind of noisy but again read that in the review so wasn't shocked, but it was a good room, bed was a little uncomfortable. AC worked well and kept the room nice and cool when we were in there, loved having our own balcony. Minifridge was always stocked, and the drinking water, i.e. filtered water, there is very good. I was surprised! The pool was nice, could of been kept a bit more cleaner there were always leaves in it and the pool bar had a funky smell. The beach is nice, minus the vendors, we bought all our excursions on the beach, highly recommend. Email me for more info if you have ???
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ct.

Will not return.

Posted May 20, 2014
Pros: Most of the staff was friendly. The beach was nice. Enjoyed the snorkeling. Rooms decent.
Cons: Food needs improving- and more available. More snacks between meals.
I paid $30 more for an excursion than I should have, with the company Seapro that is on location at the resort. They refused to return my money- and never even offered other compensation. The hotel claimed to be "hand tied" and never tried to help me out. It was outrageous! I Also paid 20. for internet service that never worked. A refund was out of the question for that. Was lied to by the staff more than once. Or at least given two different stories. Either a misrepresentation or very uninformed. The entertainment was a joke and the food was terrible! We existed on fruit drinks and pastries as we found the food that unappealing. The entertainment crew left bingo cards with my daughter who is not experienced with that type of salesmanship (pushy) -so she said she would talk to me about it when I returned. So they left the cards with her to "pick up the money later". She left the cards by the pool and of course they disappeared and we were responsible. So, another wasted $10. The entertainment crew was quite bothersome for that matter. The air conditioning goes off automatically when no movement is detected-so when we sleep of course. We woke up all night due to being hot. The cleaning staff left one wash cloth each day. For two people! Even after being told we needed two. No air conditioning in the workout room either. The beauty salon was never attended. Every time I went to book something the door was locked-I assume while she did her other clients.