Ratings based on 8 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Mindy from Vermont

Big Surprise

Posted Jan 1, 2014
Pros: Great hotel, would definitely return. Best parts were cleanliness, location, staff, grounds, ambience!!
Cons: They have a very small "gym", limited, but hey, didn't go to the DR to work out
I spent 4 nights at this hotel at the Christmas Holiday. I really didn't know what to expect. The pictures on both Trip Advisor and Expedia do not reflect the beauty and ambience of this hotel. Everything was immaculately clean. The grounds are beautiful. The restaurant is small and RIGHT on the ocean with a fabulous view. Our room was on the first floor which was great as we could sit on our small patio and see the ocean. Manager Ted, an American from Texas, is on the property daily and very available to talk with which is always great to know that management is actually tending to business. The rooms are simple but very clean with a safe, a smalll frig and very ample bathroom. TV and internet work! Housekeeping is very good and the hotel staff was super friendly and accommodating. The restaurant had very good food with great prices and also will bring food to you at the pool. The food was fresh and well prepared and I loved getting my morning cappucino or latte at the bar. Best thing about the hotel is the location, a 5 minute walk to all the bars and restaurants on the beach. Also, one block from the ATM and the grocery store which has everything you could need for snacks and even full meals. Traveling as a single woman with my two adult daughters, we felt safe even at night (early in the evening) walking to and from the restaurants on the beach. Access to the beach is easy, right on the property, and you can walk/run for several miles on the beach.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Gorgeous place!

Posted Dec 29, 2013
Great place! Restaurant on beach is amazing! Plenty of beach bars close by. Staff was the best ever! 5 stars all the way!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location & accommodating/friendly staff.

Posted Oct 27, 2013
Loved the cabanas in the shade with a nice breeze with the option of hopping in the pool or ocean. Location super convenient! I was there in offseason & so water was a little low so you could walk to town on the beach. Grocery store a stones throw away & kitchen stocked w/ necessities made it super convenient.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from new york

not recomended

Posted Mar 9, 2011
food is not included and they have only one restaurant not buffet small pool and too deep for kids
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from San Antonio, Texas

Dominican Getaway

Posted Oct 13, 2010
Great stay. The staff was friendly and helpful. Very relaxed. Felt like family not guests.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from New York - couple (no kids)

Great Boutique hotel near all the action

Posted Sep 16, 2010
Valero was a small, clean and private hotel in Cabarete - the kite surfing capital! Service was excellent, housekeeping worked odd schedules but the rooms were clean and well appointed. Other hotels in the area are bigger and cheaper but this was a nice retreat. Mostly quiet, great (but small) pool and private beach area. Restaurant was moderatly good. Service like everywhere in DR is mostly great. Would definately go back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from corvallis, OR

Immaculate, friendy, secure, beautiful, excellent!

Posted Apr 11, 2010
By far the best option in Cabarete. Quiet, clean and beautiful. Staff is friendly, helpful, and watchful. secure parking. First class restaurant, or there is a little cafe a few steps out the front entrance and a great deli/grocery/ATM one block away. Restful place to sun and swim. The main beach/tourist area is a 5 minute walk on the beach. We'd return in a heartbeat.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Velero

Posted Dec 17, 2009
My girlfriend and I booked two nights at the Velero Hotel blindly and were VERY satisfied with our stay. The rooms are extremely clean, modern, roomy, have a full kitchen and the hotel is located on the beach. I have to admit we arrived at the Velero Hotel after staying 3 nights at the all-inclusive Iberostar Hotel in Puerto Plata ... we called it the "Iberostarve." We preferred the Velero because it was nicer, smaller and just a 5 minute walk down the beach to all the "local" restaurants geared toward the more discerning tourists. Don't worry, there's no fast-food. Also, the Velero does have their own small restaurant. Breakfast there was good - definitely go with the pancakes!