Ratings based on 159 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Toronto

Good hotel for the price

Posted Feb 10, 2015
Pros: Friendly staff. Nice location. Clean room. Good food. Decent price.
Cons: The hot water in the rooms could be hotter. There should be free WORKING Wifi everywhere. Beach vendors shouldn't be allowed to sit around for hours.
The hotel has some good points: The employees were awesome. All were super friendly, which made it easier to deal with when there were small problems. Nice beach and pool. I was happy with the variety of food and the quality too. A few people had digestive problems, but that happens anytime you go somewhere tropical for the first time. Rooms were comfortable and clean. The only free wifi was in the reception and it was EXTREMELY slow even when I was the only one there, so there's a problem with it and it should be fixed. Beach vendors should not be allowed to sit around for hours on the beach chairs at the hotel beach. They are a nuisance. I understand they have the right to sell and to walk on the beach, but they should keep WALKING, not sit around in groups of 5 cracking jokes and arguing. It spoils the relaxation at the beach.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom b

Get rid of the sewage smell

Posted Jan 23, 2015
good place, friendly staff. Something really needs to be done about the smell of the sewer. The food was better than expected. Try to stay in building number for your going to smell sewage the whole entire time
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Toronto, Ontario

Hotel's right on the Beach, Security everywhere.

Posted Jan 19, 2015
Pros: Maids were great, Food was excellent, grounds well kept, security everywhere, beach was good but water was rough. Pools were very clean.
Cons: Control the street music parties by reporting to police to either move the party to another spot or stop them all together from 2:00 am thru to 6:00am
Location: Cabarete is a town near by and is a great place to walk to, stay for a drink on the beach, shop and basically, spend the day.
We changed rooms after the first night. The bldg we were in was too close to street noise. Next bldg we moved to was excellent. Other people complained about their rooms a lot during our stay so I guess we got lucky. This Hotel needs to get their front desk information organized because most people complained about room assignments during our stay. Rooms were not acceptable to most. e.g. Bathrm complaints, no fridges, power kept going out, T.V. would lose stations, radio's were useless. The food at this hotel was excellent but the alcohol is cheap and horrible. Do not order vodka. Juice is not real, it's watered down powered mix. Pool's were very clean and grounds were kept in great appearance. Street and surrounding noise from local music playing loudly thru-out the nights. Waking us up around 4:00am depending on which night and which bldg you stay in this can be disturbing. We asked for wake-up calls on 3 different dates and we only received 1 and it was an hour later than we asked. We met very many wonderful people during our stay. We were hounded to attend a Time-share like tour, take it if you have 3 hrs to spare. Guest Services were very helpful and always available. If this hotel can improve upon the rooms and front desk services it might have a chance of getting return vacationers. The Maids in our bldg were exceptional. It's worth a try and visit but it's a very windy beach is for Water Kite Flyer's (That's what this beach is known for) Do your research.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Milford Ct.

The Entertainment and Staff

Posted Jan 9, 2015
The entertainment was great. The group male and females were around mingling with the tourist in the hotel from morning, all day, and night.( A great group performing together), very friendly . We stayed at the Hotel from December 25th. till January 1st. and they we're alway's entertaining the guests. The hotel is lucky to have them ,as they are a great asset to the hotel.We thought the food was very good alway's plenty to eat. The staff is very friendly as everyone we can in contact with that week. Don't worry about drinking water the resort has water to drink 24hrs. a day. We had a nice experience there and would return. We felt comforable Oh yes bring your own wash cloths. The hotel doesn't supply them. And more access to the internet would be a plus.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Weston,Florida

Disappointing

Posted Dec 26, 2014
Pros: The entertainment staff and the beach in front of the hotel. Also the cleaning crew was very sweet and pleasant.
Cons: Everything else, including the managers and front desk staff.
Location: Kite beach is right in front of the hotel so is kite surfer's paradise. Cabarete beach is about a mile and half so is very close and beautiful.
We had been to this hotel before, about 4 years ago, and we recommended it to a friend and his family because we had a ok experience last time and they were looking for a place in Cabarete close to kite beach. This is the only plus this hotel has (kite beach is in front).The hotel is ok but needs repairs and updating. We had an issue when we checked in. My friend had paid for ocean front rooms (2) and were given 2 rooms in the back of the hotel. When we went to reception to get the right rooms, the response was that they did not have any more rooms and there was nothing they could do. We were appalled at the lack of organization and the "I don't care attitude" of the front desk personnel. The only thing he told us we could do, was to go the next day to guest services to try and get a refund back. Awful experience.Another issue we had was towels. When we got to our room, there were 2 towels (we were 4 people). When I called to get more towels, they said they did not have any more because they were washing and we had to wait (????). Also, at the bar, I went to get a cup with ice and the manager(he had his name tag) was very rude and looked annoyed when I asked for another cup.I did not feel welcome. The only good staff experience was the kids that do the entertainment. They put on a show every night and with limited resources and after working other jobs during the day, the show was different, entertaining and pretty good.They should teach the managers how to treat guests.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Luperon, DR

Beautiful ocean view

Posted Dec 15, 2014
Lovely staff, great room and decent food. Excellent value for $.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location entertainment and beach

Posted Dec 14, 2014
Staff always smiling and ready to make your stay comfortable
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Santo Domingo, Rep. Dom.

Nice hotel, close to the beach.

Posted Dec 9, 2014
The hotel is not to big but nice and clean. The rooms are very clean...the housekeeping cleaned it every day and changed the sheets and towels daily. The buffet wasn't so great but was good. I'll be back again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Pennslyvania, USA

Great beach with a lot of waves

Posted Dec 9, 2014
Pros: The location to the beach was nice if the vendors would just leave you alone. The entertainment provided by the staff
Cons: Get rid of the vendors on the beach.
Location: Windsurfing, kite surfing, hotel has everything.
The person that check me in was rude. He wouldn't answer any of my questions. The contract was confusing to much small print and each section was in 5 different languages. After I left the lobby, they have a person showing you to your room. The room was nice, ocean view with two queen size beds. I wouldn't trust the safe it looked like someone tried to pry it open. The next place is looking for food and drink. Everything is in a centralized area, I had a cheese burger that tasted almost as good as Wendy's burgers. I don't drink alcohol but they do serve you the cheap stuff. They have three restaurants, I ate at the buffet. I can't rate the meals because I eat M.R.E.'s. I love the meals at the buffet. One thing bring IMODIUM. The resort staff took about 4 days to warm up to me. I was a single male and from what I have seen they do have drunk gropers. The staff was really good with children. The staff was also very good with entertainment, my mom would of loved to see the Cabaret show. I like snorkeling at Sosua it was 50 dollars, make sure you bring a tip the lead person is very good. The only bad thing about the trip is the vendors on the beach. They try to sell you junk. The one would not leave me along. He tried to charge me 80 dollars for a necklace I saw for 10 dollars and 50 dollars for a bottle of Dominican Rum, he was so annoying I never went to the beach to lay down just to watch the surf. This was a real vacation killer.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom new jersey

Awesome friendly place!

Posted Dec 6, 2014
We stayed there for a week. Loved the buffet, there were always a lot of choices, and different stuff every day (lunch and dinner) . The hotel is very well maintained and organized. The animators are so much fun! They wouldn't let you get bored at all! Just go to the pool area, there is always smth going on! We met people that come to this place every year or even a few times a year! The staff makes you feel like part of a family! The beach was nice, but they have rough waves in a winter season and constant wind-perfect for kite surfing. Pool was nice and clean. Rooms were ok, pillows were terrible, bathroom was decent, but we didn't spend much time in a room. Overall Viva Tangerine is a great place, very helpful staff and you can't go wrong with a price!!!