Ratings based on 169 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 13, 2015
Pros: location
Cons: Adult pool rooms need updated more than one bar and free wi fi
Location: shopping and local bars all within walking distance
liked that it was walking distance to shopping and local bars
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom CT

Not as advertised

Posted Apr 11, 2015
We paid for a beach view. Had none. First room had mold everywhere, and was just not appealing 3hrs later and tons of arguing we had a new room.. Still not great. A little cleaner. Power went out everyday for 2-5 mins hotel staff was a little too flirtatious bathroom was tiny!!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

CLOSE TO THE BEACH AND THE FOOD WAS PRETTY TASTY.

Posted Apr 9, 2015
Pros: GREAT SHOWS AT NIGHT.
Cons: DRINKS WITH MORE ALCOHOL.
NO REFRIGERATOR IN MY ROOM. AND YOU TURN THE TELEVISION OFF AT 1:00AM. EVERYONE LIKES THE TV. THIS WAS MY SECOND VISIT@TANGERINE, WILL GO BACK TO LIFESTYLE NEXT VISIT TO THE DR.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Boston

We got sent to the staff quarters

Posted Apr 4, 2015
We got put in apartments road side pretty much off the resort and not listed on the resort map. They changed one our room but not until the next day after we complained but we had two rooms .. The entertainment staff was on the floor below. One room was so gross my friends slept in our room the first night. The second room they switched out our third day.. It was really a pain. We felt unsafe being roadside with staff and security guards with guns. I have stayed at the Viva's in La Romana and they were fantastic. This was so not that experience.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom NJ

It doesn't help to lock your door.

Posted Mar 23, 2015
Pros: Great Animation team. Good dancing shows at night. Beautiful beach with lots of kiteboarders. Food was good.
Cons: Security.
Location: Within walking distance of Cabarete Centre, which is a party town. Good food, shops, and water activities at Sosua Beach, which is only a $7 taxi.
We were robbed of a laptop and other electronics from our room after it had been cleaned. The hotel apologized.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Honeymoon nightmare

Posted Mar 21, 2015
We arrived and they called us VIP we thought it was because we where on our honeymoon but no they took us to our vip breakfast in hour away and we stayed there for 1.5hours because they tried to sale us a time share we told them no about 5 times we did not want a time share we just wanted to enjoy our homeymoon before they took us back to our resort then the entire trip we had no hot water we told them and they switched us to another room with no hot water no one seemed to care our first vacation together was rough wasn't expecting our honeymoon to turn out this way
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 3, 2015
Staff was kind and courteous. Met my significant other here. Thanks
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Toronto

Good hotel for the price

Posted Feb 10, 2015
Pros: Friendly staff. Nice location. Clean room. Good food. Decent price.
Cons: The hot water in the rooms could be hotter. There should be free WORKING Wifi everywhere. Beach vendors shouldn't be allowed to sit around for hours.
The hotel has some good points: The employees were awesome. All were super friendly, which made it easier to deal with when there were small problems. Nice beach and pool. I was happy with the variety of food and the quality too. A few people had digestive problems, but that happens anytime you go somewhere tropical for the first time. Rooms were comfortable and clean. The only free wifi was in the reception and it was EXTREMELY slow even when I was the only one there, so there's a problem with it and it should be fixed. Beach vendors should not be allowed to sit around for hours on the beach chairs at the hotel beach. They are a nuisance. I understand they have the right to sell and to walk on the beach, but they should keep WALKING, not sit around in groups of 5 cracking jokes and arguing. It spoils the relaxation at the beach.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom b

Get rid of the sewage smell

Posted Jan 23, 2015
good place, friendly staff. Something really needs to be done about the smell of the sewer. The food was better than expected. Try to stay in building number for your going to smell sewage the whole entire time
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Toronto, Ontario

Hotel's right on the Beach, Security everywhere.

Posted Jan 19, 2015
Pros: Maids were great, Food was excellent, grounds well kept, security everywhere, beach was good but water was rough. Pools were very clean.
Cons: Control the street music parties by reporting to police to either move the party to another spot or stop them all together from 2:00 am thru to 6:00am
Location: Cabarete is a town near by and is a great place to walk to, stay for a drink on the beach, shop and basically, spend the day.
We changed rooms after the first night. The bldg we were in was too close to street noise. Next bldg we moved to was excellent. Other people complained about their rooms a lot during our stay so I guess we got lucky. This Hotel needs to get their front desk information organized because most people complained about room assignments during our stay. Rooms were not acceptable to most. e.g. Bathrm complaints, no fridges, power kept going out, T.V. would lose stations, radio's were useless. The food at this hotel was excellent but the alcohol is cheap and horrible. Do not order vodka. Juice is not real, it's watered down powered mix. Pool's were very clean and grounds were kept in great appearance. Street and surrounding noise from local music playing loudly thru-out the nights. Waking us up around 4:00am depending on which night and which bldg you stay in this can be disturbing. We asked for wake-up calls on 3 different dates and we only received 1 and it was an hour later than we asked. We met very many wonderful people during our stay. We were hounded to attend a Time-share like tour, take it if you have 3 hrs to spare. Guest Services were very helpful and always available. If this hotel can improve upon the rooms and front desk services it might have a chance of getting return vacationers. The Maids in our bldg were exceptional. It's worth a try and visit but it's a very windy beach is for Water Kite Flyer's (That's what this beach is known for) Do your research.