Ratings based on 193 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Re and J from Milwaukee, Wi

1st Time in P.R.

Posted Apr 14, 2014
Pros: The staff, SUPER comfortable bed, CLEAN
Location: Close to Condado Beach area, Beautiful neighborhood, very close to Old San Juan, and lots of buses if traveling w/o rental car or cabs
Our hotel stay was more than pleasurable! The staff were so friendly, and the hotel was very nice and clean. Our room was beautiful! The location of the hotel was awesome too! Very short cab rides to Old San Juan, and beaches. We hope to return next year! Thank you Ciqala Staff!
Comment from
Jan 15, 2014
Dear Re and J, It was a pleasure having you as our guests and thank you so much for making us the hotel of your choice during your visit to our island. We are very honored to read that you overall loved your stay with us and that our staff delivered an excellent service being very friendly. All customers are very important to us. We are very happy to read that you were able to experience our convenient location as well as exploring around. We are glad to read that you hope to return next year and we truly look forward to welcoming you back at your home in Puerto Rico. Thanks so much for taking of your precious time to share your review. Warmest regards, CIQALA Luxury Suites – San Juan Management Team
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Carlos from Washington DC

Nice suites, comfortable stay

Posted Apr 12, 2014
The suites are spacious and comfortable. I was disappointed that only one of my evenings had the happy hour, yet price was the same. The staff could be better trained.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Carlos from St.Croix

Beats any 5 star resort any day!

Posted Apr 5, 2014
Pros: Customer Service (Natalie is the best!) , Cleanliness an overall wonderful place to stay
Cons: Promote Natalie and give her a big raise!!!!!
Location: Location is nice and quite.
Great service from the beginning! I couldn't find the hotel and was very hesitant to call because I knew I was close and didn't want to feel like an idiot but I had no choice. Natalie answered and asked if she could help, she tried her best to help but I just couldn't figure out where I was. She told me that she would call me back from her cell so she could step outside to get a better idea of where I was. She stayed on the phone with me until I found my way. :) When I parked and got in, she greeted me with a great big smile and said "Welcome to Ciqala, you see nothing to worry about, you found your way!" I started to laugh and I knew I picked the right place to stay. Natalie along with the entire staff made my stay very comfortable. No question went unanswered and every request was filled to the best of their ability. The General Manager was so friendly, I didn't even realize who she was. Always with a smile and willing to help.(not like other managers that I've dealt with) I'm definitely coming back here and so should you.
Comment from
Jan 7, 2014
Dear Carlos, It is very rewarding to read your review as well as reading about our Natalia, General Manager Lola and the rest of the staff exceeding your expectations with an excellent customer service. We appreciate being the hotel of your choice during your visit to our San Juan, Puerto Rico. We are glad to read that you noticed that our location is nice and quiet, that all questions were answered and that you enjoy your stay the fullest. Thanks so much for recommending our hotel to everyone. We are honored to read that you will be staying with us on your return and we truly look forward to welcoming you back home soon! Warmest regards, CIQALA Luxury Suites – San Juan Management Team
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Teresa from Westerville, Ohio

Nice stay in Puerto Rico

Posted Apr 3, 2014
Pros: This was a secured building, close to shopping and the pier.
Location: We didn't really have a lot of time to explore the area since we only stayed one night.
We stayed at the Ciqala one night (before boarding our cruise ship). The room was great. I booked a suite and was expecting nice, but it exceeded my expectations. The room was clean. There were TV's in the living room, each of the bedrooms, and one of the bathrooms. The dining room table was large enough for six and was a nice place to eat or play games. There was also a full kitchen in the suite. The staff were very nice. They pointed out a local restaurant that was quite tasty for our dinner. The staff were also very helpful in pointing out things we might want to check out on our Sunday morning walk. The complimentary breakfast was good. Made to order eggs and omelets. They also served cereal, pancakes, waffles. After our check out time, they tagged our bags and left them behind the front desk so we could go out and enjoy the sites until time to call the cab.
Comment from
Jan 5, 2014
Dear Teresa, Many thanks for taking of your time to share your experience in this review. We are very honored to read that our hotel exceeded your expectations, that you were able to enjoy of all services that we have included to enhance our guests experience. We are glad to read that our team was very helpful and provided you with information about things to do and where to go while staying with us. Customer service is extremely important to us as a team. It is always nice to read about guests noticing that we are located close to all local attractions. Thanks so much for recommending our hotel to everyone. We look forward to see you back home soon. Thanks so much for your review. Warmest regards, CIQALA Luxury Suites – San Juan Management Team
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Dr. Bey

Unequivocal hospitality and luxury

Posted Apr 1, 2014
Facility is well maintained and it seemed like everything was catered to out personal needs. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The complimentary breakfast is unlike any other, where it is served in the top floor penthouse with a balcony and items are made to order. Parking, Unlike most other hotels in PR, is complimentary and saves a considerable amount of money. Definitely recommend. Will return at every opportunity in PR.
Comment from
Jan 2, 2014
Dear Dr. Bey, We want to take this opportunity to thank you for choosing our hotel as the place to stay during your visit to our San Juan, Puerto Rico. We are very happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us as well as breakfast every morning. We are also glad to read that our staff delivered a friendly and helpful service, customer service is a must on our team commitment. Thanks so much for recommending our hotel to everyone, we really appreciate it. It is truly an honor to read that you will be returning at every opportunity in Puerto Rico and look forward to welcoming you back home. Thanks so much for your review. Warmest regards, CIQALA Luxury Suites – San Juan Management Team
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by travelgirl63 from whitby, on

Good location. Close to cruise ship pier

Posted Mar 31, 2014
Pros: The suite was huge and had everything you could want. The bed, living room etc. were so comfortable. The mini bar was actually a full size fridge!
Cons: I couldn't figure out the remote for the TV and could not access the english speaking channels to check the weather forcast or news updates.
Location: Easy walking distance to grocery store, pharmacy, restaurants and bars. Close to cruise ship pier. Nestled inside a lovely neighbourhood.
Hotel staff were friendly and approachable. Breakfast in the morning was delicious and served with a smile. The jacuzzi tub was a welcome treat after a day of travel and walking about old San Juan.
Comment from
Jan 3, 2014
Dear Travelgirl63, It was an honor having you as our guest and appreciate being the hotel of your choice during your visit to our enchanted island. We are very happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you were able to explore around and notice that we are very closed to all local attractions, restaurants, bars, pharmacy and the cruise ports. It is always an honor to read about our team exceeding our guests expectations delivering a great and attentive service. Thanks so much for recommending our hotel to everyone, we really appreciate it. Thanks so much for taking of your time to share your review, we look forward to welcoming you back home soon! Warmest regards, CIQALA Luxury Suites – San Juan Management Team
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Naser from Omaha, NE

Very nice hotel in San Juan

Posted Mar 29, 2014
Beautiful spacious rooms. Well furnished. Awesome friendly staff who spoke fluent English. Views from top floor dining area were okay, but the overall dining experience was fantastic. Would certainly recommend to visitors to Puerto Rico wanting to stay in the San Juan area.
Comment from
Jan 2, 2014
Dear Naser, Thanks so much for taking of your time to share your experience. We are glad to read that you loved your spacious room as well as our furniture. It is always great to enjoy breakfast, dinner or cocktails at our SP Floor Terrace, it is something that we always recommend. Our team is always willing to assist our guests putting attention to every details and of course, make them feel at home. We are also honored to read that you recommend our hotel to visitors to our San Juan, Puerto Rico. We also look forward to welcoming you back home soon. Once again, thanks so much for your review. Warmest regards, CIQALA Luxury Suites – San Juan Management Team
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

excellent

Posted Mar 22, 2014
Excellent room, enthusiastic staff at front desk! Excellent room, enthusiastic staff at front desk! Excellent room, enthusiastic staff at front desk!
Comment from
Jan 30, 2014
Dear guests, Thanks so much for your great comment and score provided. We are glad to read that you recommend our hotel to everyone and that you had an excellent stay judging by this review. We look forward to continue welcoming you back home on your next visits soon. Warmest regards, CIQALA Luxury Suites – San Juan Management Team
Comment from
Jan 30, 2014
Dear guests, Thanks so much for your great comment and score provided. We are glad to read that you recommend our hotel to everyone and that you had an excellent stay judging by this review. We look forward to continue welcoming you back home on your next visits soon. Warmest regards, CIQALA Luxury Suites – San Juan Management Team
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dubuque IA USA

Excellent hotel near Old San Juan!

Posted Mar 22, 2014
Pros: Extremely friendly, welcoming and accommodating staff. Very comfortable and quiet sleeping. Great breakfast, made to order, and free beer or wine
Cons: A little pricey, but everything near Old San Juan seems to be just as pricey.
Location: A variety of great restaurants in the vicinity. 5 minute taxi or bus ride to Old San Juan for a plethora of restaurants, shops and history.
We stayed in 2 different rooms with 6 children and 4 adults. This was our last night in Puerto Rico, so we were wanting a convenient place to stay and a good night sleep. We parked our cars free in the secured garage, enjoyed free wine and beer, walked 4 blocks to a great restaurant, and slept well. The next morning we woke up to a free made to order breakfast, great coffee and walked to Old San Juan. They let us leave our car in the secure garage as long as we needed. We had the choice of talking the bus for 50 cents, or a cab, but we felt like walking before sitting at the airport. The walk was about 2 miles and we spent the morning exploring the shops and history in Old San Juan.
Comment from
Jan 30, 2014
Dear guests, We appreciate being the hotel of your choice during your last night staying in San Juan, Puerto Rico. We are also honored to read that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us as well as that you were able to explore around and notice that we are located within walking distance to all local attractions including beach, restaurants, shops and history. It is very delightful to read that you also enjoyed of all services that we have included on the price to enhance our guests experience. Thanks so much for your recommendations, we look forward to see you again soon at your home in Puerto Rico. Thank so much for your review. Warmest regards, CIQALA Luxury Suites – San Juan Management Team
Comment from
Jan 30, 2014
Dear guests, We appreciate being the hotel of your choice during your last night staying in San Juan, Puerto Rico. We are also honored to read that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us as well as that you were able to explore around and notice that we are located within walking distance to all local attractions including beach, restaurants, shops and history. It is very delightful to read that you also enjoyed of all services that we have included on the price to enhance our guests experience. Thanks so much for your recommendations, we look forward to see you again soon at your home in Puerto Rico. Thank so much for your review. Warmest regards, CIQALA Luxury Suites – San Juan Management Team
3 out of 5
by Mike from Houston,Tx

2014 spring break to San Juan, Puerto Rico

Posted Mar 21, 2014
Pros: Breakfast was good staff very nice.
Cons: See above review.
Nice hotel, staff very friendly, and for the most part helpful. Previous positive reviews on expedia accurately depict hotel for the most part. Location is ok. A car is a almost a must have if staying for a few days. We did have an incident with using concierge service. We used Ciquala personnel for booking a snorkel trip (2 days in advance) and was quoted a price. The next day we asked if this included transportation cost to Fajardo where we get on the boat (about a 30 mile ride). The staff could not answer right away but said they would get back to us. Later in the day they assured us that the initial price included transportation costs. When we arrived at the boat we were told of a considerable transportation charge in addition to the trip cost. After a day of snorkelling we asked the manager about all of this. They said they would research it. Two hours later the manager apoligized and said they made a mistake. I asked for reimbursement for additional said charges and they refused. I asked the next day if they would meet me half way and split the cost. They said they would get back to me, 2 weeks later I`m still waiting. If I was looking to stay at an upscale hotel I would recommend looking at others that are closer to the beach and have better scenery/services. There`s lots of competion out there for your tourist dollar and I feel you can find better value then what Ciquala has to offer.
Comment from
Jan 1, 2014
Dear Mike, We appreciate your time taken to share your review. We glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us as well as breakfast and that our staff was very friend, and helpful. In regards to the misunderstanding with your snorkeling trip and as expressed on your review, our staff member made a mistake on informing that the transportation was included and our manager on duty apologized with you and explained that it was a mistake. Unfortunately, we can’t provide refunds that are not related to our hotel, all tours and excursions are outside companies who we call and they provide the services to our guests. We look forward to having the honor of your visit on your next trip to Puerto Rico. Once again, thanks for your review. Warmest regards, CIQALA Luxury Suites – San Juan Management Team