Ratings based on 374 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Broken

Posted Apr 19, 2015
The hotel staff was excellent. Friendly and helpful. Our suite was very large, with a comfortable king bed and a nice kitchen area. Breakfast was massive, tasty, and served with a warm smile and a great view. The bad news was the poor workmanship in our room. The closet door fell off at a touch. The bathtub calk looked like a drunken sailor applied it. There were chips and scratches and gaps in too many places. The location was not the best neighborhood. The little food shack next door served the very best ceviche.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom WA

Comfort Hotel close to beach and Old San Juan

Posted Apr 19, 2015
Cons: Breakfast options are limited - can add more custom menus
Location: Condada Beach is closeby - not walkable but the hotel provides complimentary shuttle services that you can avail of. Old San Juan is also nearby.
We stayed in Ciqala for 6 nights in a presidential suite. The suite was very comfortable and had all the amenities that we needed. Very clean and we felt pretty much at home. The entire family felt relaxing staying in Ciqala and I must say about the quality of the beds. It's vey rare that you find good quality mattresses and Ciqala has the comfort bedding in all rooms. Overall a great experience for us !
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great time

Posted Apr 17, 2015
Had a great time in a great hotel with excellent staff. I would definitely return.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice spacious hotel in residential area.

Posted Mar 23, 2015
Pros: The staff was very nice and the room was huge, with everything you could want in an apt. The free breakfast was made to order and tasted pretty good.
Cons: Their "pool" is more similar to a hot tub. It is the tiniest excuse for a pool that I have EVER seen.
Location: It is by no means in a "hotel" area, but more so in a residential area, with a corner store next door. The beach is a 15 minute walk or $18- $21 cab.
This hotel is not in a "hotel" area, but a residential area. As result, I was taken aback when the cab brought me to this random hotel amongst a bunch of homes. And the fact that I noticed graffiti accross the street didn't make me feel much better. Yet despite the unorthodox location, and free lance public artwork, the hotel was actually pretty nice and the neighborhood seemed to be fairly safe. I felt completely comfortable walking around at night. A few blocks down, there is a strip of restaurants where you can find a bite to eat. But if you want to go to the beach it is going to be about a 15 minute walk or $18-$21 cab ride each way, not including tip. If you plan on checking out different beaches/attractions I suggest just putting up the money for a rental car because the costs for cabs can rack up quickly. But a word of caution when renting a car in Puerto Rico, there are a alot of hidden fees especially when it comes to driving through tolls. But hopefully if you ask the rental company about it directly, they will be upfront with you. While the hotel room was huge, and contained everthing you could possibly want in an apartment, the hotel "pool" was absolutely tiny. The setup was nice and the view was amazing but the "pool" was more like a hot tub. The hotel's free breakfast tasted pretty good, was made to order, and came with an amazing view of the city if you chose to eat outside. The front desk staff is genuinely friendly, and always helpful.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 25, 2015 by Lora, Hotel Management
Dear Pat, Thanks so much for taking your time to share your review to our hotel. We are very happy to read that you changed your mind about our location once you got to our main entrance and walking around to restaurants feeling safe. As many different cities in the world, San Juan is not the exception and it does show urban artworks and of course, the famous graffiti. In regards to our rooftop pool, it is a mini-infinity edged pool which was added with the intention to enhance our guests experience by having a water spot where to relax and sip on their favorite drink; in addition, we provide transportation to/from the Condado Beach and the Escambron Beach is at less than 5 minutes’ walk. We are also glad to read that you found everything that you could possibly need in an apartment at our suite and we are honored to read that our team members were genuinely friendly and always helpful as part of our commitment to our guests. We look forward to having the honor to see again at your home away in Puerto Rico. Once again, thanks so much for providing us with your review. Warmest regards, CIQALA Luxury Suites – San Juan Management Team
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fantastic Service and Rooms

Posted Mar 18, 2015
Rooms are spacious, service at the front desk was courteous. We had a large group and booked two rooms (1 regular room, 1 two bedroom suite) that had more than enough space for 8+ people. Upon check-in, we asked for restaurant recommendations for lunch and the recommendation was great. Taxi service is quick to the hotel, only 10 minutes drive to the airport, and about 15 minutes to Old San Juan with traffic. Can't forget about the great complimentary breakfast in the morning. Would highly recommend!
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 24, 2015 by Lora, Hotel Management
Dear guest, Thanks so much for taking of your time to share your experience in this review. It is genuinely an honor to read that you enjoyed your stay with us, that the accommodations selected perfectly fit your group’s needs and that you were able to enjoy breakfast every morning. It is always rewarding to read about our team’s service delivered, our main commitment is customer service. we are also glad to read that you were able to notice that we are very close to all main local attractions and that you enjoyed the great recommendation for lunch. Thanks so much for your highly recommendations. We look forward to welcoming you back at your home in our destination very soon! Warmest regards, CIQALA Luxury Suites – San Juan Management Team
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Canada

Service is excellent!

Posted Mar 16, 2015
Pros: Included free wifi which was great for keeping in touch with those back home.
This nice and clean hotel is far from the beach but in walking distance to restaurants and is close to the pier if you are cruising. The service was excellent and the included breakfast was superb. The view from the rooftop balcony was great.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 18, 2015 by Lora, Hotel Management
Dear Jenny, Thank you so much for taking of your time to share your experience and for reviewing our hotel. we are very happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that having internet included was just great to keep in touch with your love ones back home. Our location Miramar is at only 5 minutes from the beach and all main local attractions as well as within walking distance from great restaurants and other attractions. We are also honored to read that you received an excellent service as well as a superb breakfast, our team members love going the extra mile to exceed everyone’s expectations and it is our best reward to read it from our guests. We look forward to welcoming you back home soon. Once again, thanks so much for your review! Warmest regards, CIQALA Luxury Suites – San Juan Management Team
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom R

Huge, immaculate suite. Comfortable beds.

Posted Mar 13, 2015
Friendly, knowledgable staff who arranged rainforest tour and recommended terrific nearby restaurant. Charming rooftop bar with a tiny pool. The presidential suite was huge- like a spacious 2 bedroom apartment. It was a better value for family of 4 than 2 hotel rooms in Condado. It's in the lovely residential Miramar neighborhood. Loved it!
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 16, 2015 by MLora, Hotel Management
Dear guest, Thank you very much for taking the time to review our property. We are very honored to read that you enjoyed your stay with us as well as walking around and getting to now our location in Miramar. Our team members are our main asset and this is why they enjoy delivering a high quality of service. We are also happy to read that your chosen accommodation met your expectations and that you enjoyed the charm of our rooftop pool bar designed especially for our guests. we look forward to having the honor to welcoming you back home soon. Once again, thanks so much for your review! Warmest regards, CIQALA Luxury Suites – San Juan Management Team
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Chicago

Excellent stay for a large family.

Posted Mar 4, 2015
Our stay was 8 nights and 7 days. Hotel was built in 2011( as a condo building) and we were glad that it is located in residential area, a walking distance from touristy-loud Condado Beach.It worked for us as an older couple. Our presidential suit was very spacious,elegantly designed and built (separate toilet, bidet and shower), double sink, and soaking tub with built-in TV. Granite counter tops in the kitchen and bathroom made out unit very reach looking. A laundry in the unit was pleasant surprise. Staff was extremely helpful , every request we had was fulfill very professionally and friendly. For any place we'd like to see a detailed map with directions was printed out for us.I'd like to mention that front desk manager Daniel was the best! Breakfasts were much more then "a continental", they cooked for you! Inside parking was such a convenience, and I was glad we had a small car, spaces could be a little larger. Short three blocks from the hotel 5 restaurants were ready to feed you. Large local grocery store, movie theater and Marshalls were also in the neighborhood. In summary, it was the best hotel for last 15 years.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 7, 2015 by Lora, Hotel Management
Dear Isabel, Thank you so much for rewarding us with this amazing review, it was an honor being your hotel during your visit to our destination. It is also an honor to read that CIQALA is the best hotel you have visited in the last 15 years. We are glad to read that you learned our history very well and that our hotel worked just perfect for you, we are also glad to read that you were able to explore around our neighborhood and notice that we are within walking distance from nice restaurants and minutes away from all main local attractions including the touristic zone of Condado. Our team members are more than delighted to go above and beyond guests expectations as part of our commitment, and we are happy to read that our team and Front Desk Manager Daniel made your stay more enjoyable. We are also happy to read that you were able to enjoy breakfast freshly cooked by our chef everyday upon request as well as our continental buffet. We look forward to welcoming you back at your home in Puerto Rico. Once again, thanks so much for your review. Warmest regards, CIQALA Luxury Suites – San Juan Management Team
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Brooklyn, NY

Wonderful!

Posted Mar 2, 2015
Pros: EVERYTHING!
Cons: Wish the breakfast crew were a little better with their service but I am just appreciative that I was fortunate to have a meal.
This hotel I would highly recommend! The website does not give the hotel enough credit on how beautiful it looks and smell. My lady and I stayed here for a few days and was greeted with open arms from the staff at the hotel; well mannered people, the atmosphere is very old school and reminds me of when I use to stay with my grandmother in Jamaica. Also, I recommend the local restaurants nearby, THE FOOD IS GREAT! My lady and I just left this hotel and we are literally already thinking about going back in May. You will enjoy yourself.. TRUST ME!!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 6, 2015 by Lora, Hotel Management
Dear Alex, Thanks so much for this great review. We are glad to read that you had a wonderful stay from the moment you checked in and that you found our hotel more beautiful than in pictures. Thanks so much for highly recommending us, we really appreciate it. Our team members enjoy going above and beyond expectations as part of our main commitment. In regards to our breakfast, this situation was brought to our attention and we have found a solution as well as added more staff during our breakfast time to avoid long waits. We are also happy to read that you enjoyed dining at the restaurant across the street and are very honored to read that you are already planning on your next visit. We look forward to welcoming you back home soon, once again, thanks so much for your review. Warmest regards, CIQALA Luxury Suites – San Juan Management Team
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wonderful Place to Stay

Posted Feb 28, 2015
This place made our vacation very enjoyable. Our room was beautiful, with complete updates such as marble kitchen and baths. Bed is so comfortable. Close to Condado Beach and Old San Juan. The breakfast each morning was wonderful. Made to order waffles and omelets. Walking distance to two 5 star restaurants. The immediate area around the hotel looks a little rundown but the next block over it is beautiful and safe to walk. We walked to the restaurants 3 nights of our stay and felt comfortable. The staff is very friendly and accomodating. We told the front desk that we were driving an hour the next morning to get to the Ferry for Culebra and leaving at 6 AM. The next morning when we were leaving, there was an envelope with directions and towels for us. It was very considerate. The staff was helpful in giving ideas of where to go and things to do. Always nice smiles and friendly hello when we entered. We loved this place and would definitley come back.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 6, 2015 by Lora, Hotel Management
Dear guest, We are very happy to read that our hotel made your vacation very enjoyable, this is the best reward ever! We are glad to read that you found your accommodation beautiful with complete updates and that you enjoyed a good night sleep on our awesome bed. We are also glad to read that you were able to notice that our location Miramar is within minutes from Old San Juan, Condado and all main local attraction, we are also glad to read that you enjoyed breakfast every morning. Our surroundings are part of the local history as Miramar is the second historic zone in downtown San Juan, this is why all structures are kept as original under proper restoration. Our team members enjoy going above and beyond expectations especially making everyone feel at home, and it is very rewarding to read it from our guests when they share their experience with us. We are very honored to read that you will be back and we truly look forward to welcoming you at your home away from home. Warmest regards, CIQALA Luxury Suites – San Juan Management Team