Ratings based on 273 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Scam

Posted Feb 18, 2015
This hotel advertises a beautiful boutique hotel but only to fill vacancies at their affiliate hotel The Caribe Inn which no one would choose to stay in. Dirty, small and you can hear everything going on in he room next to you. Stay away!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 18, 2015
This hotel was peaceful and safe. Great location!! I enjoyed having use of a kitchen, and the quiet private courtyard.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Dominican Republic

Very good hotel, close everything!

Posted Jan 26, 2015
I was visiting Puerto Rico for a wedding in Condado and I decided to stay at Canario because it was "cheap" and close to everything. If you rent a car, you'll have to park very close to the hotel in a parking lot. The zone is active 24/7, but its really quiet and at the same time active. We visited all the historical places and the beach and everything was about 10 to 15 mins. The San Juan Airport is about 20 mins The staff was GREAT and they will also tell you places to visit if you ask
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Christmas in Puerto Rico

Posted Jan 5, 2015
Pros: Location, architecture, secluded terrace
Cons: needs more consistent "hands on" supervision and breakfast could be improved
Location: on bus route to Old San Juan, near beaches and restaurants
More like a B&B than a Boutique hotel. Continental breakfast consists of coffee, juice and pastries. Close to Old San Juan and the beach. No parking available. Charming Puerto Rican architecture. Near public beach, no private beach, chairs/umbrellas available on the beach at an additional cost from provider
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 3, 2015
It's a nice place for a short stay. Great value for the location.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Calgary, AB

Not worth the money

Posted Jan 1, 2015
Let me preface this by saying that I have stayed in every manner of hotel and hostel and motel and hut and I would still give this hotel a poor rating. When we arrived following a cruise, we knew we wouldn't be able to check in, but didn't expect to be greeted by someone who couldn't be bothered to put down the phone to deal with us (it seemed she was on a personal call when we arrived and simply held it to her chest while saying we couldn't check in and our luggage could just be put in their open lobby while we went out for 6 hours until check in time). The room we booked was for two double beds and we received two single beds in a room that was large but uncomfortable. The shower was a closet. Literally. You open the door and you're in the shower. No place to change without being in the room, which is awkward when staying with a friend or relative. The beds were actually terrible. The room was very close to the kitchen area, which seems like a bonus, until you're woken up at 630 am by an employee who obviously doesn't care that people are sleeping directly outside the area where they are setting up the sadly inadequate continental breakfast. Slamming cupboard doors, clanging dishes. It was like retribution for them having to work there. Every employee had a scowl on their face, regardless of time of day or previous interaction. Overall, a very unwelcoming environment that I will not be returning to.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

If money is an object (as opposed to 'no object')

Posted Dec 31, 2014
The Canario is low cost dorm living. For a very low rate, which I needed, I got a clean room, clean bathroom, good bed with 4 good pillows and security in charming surroundings. My one criticism is that they seem to wish they were high end by offering 'breakfast' which is really disappointing and the customary hotel soap & shampoo, also disappointing. They really need to be comfortable with what they do provide which I described above. It is perfectly located between the beach, about 300 feet away, and excellent restaurants and shopping. A Hertz rental is steps away. I would definitely go back with my family.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom St. Croix USVI

Very cozy hotel, close to my destination.

Posted Dec 29, 2014
Pros: The Security and nice staff.
Cons: Elevator for sure
Location: Nice location, lot to do and see.
It was very nice, the hotel was walking distance to my medical visit, the only thing is that, hotel has no elevator and if you have medical condition, it made dificulty to go the stairs to the third floor.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom New York

Not worth the price

Posted Dec 28, 2014
This a bed and breakfast and not a hotel. The place is small and old. It took three days and numerous complain to get my TV working. They would clean the room but not provide towels. You have to ask for it. The breakfast was bare minimum. They ask you to check out by 11 am ( very strict about that) but wouldn't allow you to check in before 4. There is no locked room, so your luggage will be out open in the lobby. They clearly will say that they aren't responsible for any theft. The staff isn't helpful. Every answer will begin with 'no' and end with 'sorry'. The only thing good about the hotel is its location. Mine was a last minute booking and I didn't have enough time to research. Look for other places. There are many good ones out there in San Juan.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Gute Lage, Preis-Leistung ok

Posted Dec 24, 2014
Das Canario Boutique ist kein Hotel für typische Hotel Touristen. Es gibt weder Pool oder irgendwelche Aktivitäten, noch ist es geeignet für Luxus Verwöhnte. Wenn man sich damit abgefunden hat ist es der perfekte Ort um nach einem langen, ereignisreichen Tag auf der Insel ins frisch bezogene Bett zu fallen und sich auf den kommenden Tag zu freuen. Das Frühstück ist zwar nicht spektakulär, aber für diesen Preis in San Juan überhaupt ein Hotel mit Frühstück zu finden ist unmöglich, deswegen waren wir glücklich, dass es da war. Die Zimmer sind nicht unbedingt gepflegt, aber sie wurden jeden Tag gereinigt und wir hatten immer frische Handtücher. Apropos Handtücher: ein toller Bonus ist, dass man zwei Handtuch-Karten bekommt, die man jeden Tag aufs Neue gegen frische Strandtücher tauschen kann. Also lasst eure Strandtücher zuhause, dafür wird hier gesorgt. Das Personal ist super freundlich und immer gewillt euch zu helfen. Das Canario ist kein Hotel in dem man viel Zeit verbringt. Man kommt hier her um nach einem langen Tag ins Bett zu fallen und morgens nach einer kleinen Stärkung, geht man wieder auf Tour. Außerdem hat das Hotel die perfekte Lage um das Nachtleben zu Fuß zu erkunden.