Ratings based on 1,767 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Mediocre is the best word

Posted Sep 26, 2014
Pros: The staff was generally good. Friendly without being obnoxious.
Location: A little isloated bwtween Old San Juan and Conado. Not the safest to walk around.
An aging hotel in an aging tourist district. Not the worst place I have stayed, but definitely not the best. Highlights - private beach and pool are nice, breakfast buffet (but only if included in the price of your room). Lowlights - old, dingy rooms - mismatched furniture that is stained and peeling, smell of mold/mildew (common in the tropics, but still); long walk from the room to lobby, restaurants, pool, etc. Property is under construction. It happens but a heads up would have been appreciated. Most importantly, check your bill. When I reviewed it on the TV, it included the nightly room charge, which I had pre-paid for with Expedia. The bill slipped under my door fixed that mistake, but still included breakfast (again, pre-paid for). I brought it to the attention of staff before I checked out. When I did check out, there were still 2 out of the 4 breakfasts on the bill. It was eventually fixed, but that is a lot of work for something so simple. I asked for a late check-out, but the housekeeping staff knocked on my door and called my room a total of 7 times in 35 minutes. When I left, there was literally a member of the housekeeping staff sitting outside my door. And whatever you do, DO NOT eat at the Italian restaurant on site. Worst meal I have ever had. Think jr. high cafeteria food!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from maryland

Excellent place to stay.

Posted Sep 25, 2014
Pros: We enjoyed everything about this hotel. It had much to offer and was within walking distance of Condado and other neighborhoods that were fun to visi.
Cons: The only thing I would change is to not have housekeeping repeatedly bother us to if doubt whenwewereleavi g the too so they could clean.
This was our first trip to Puerto Rico and the Caribe was an awesome find. The shops, restaurants, fitness center, spa, beach and pools made our stay one that we will ever forget. We spent several of our vacation. Days just staying at the Caribe. When we wanted to venture out to El Morro and El Yunque the staff was extremely helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 24, 2014
Cons: Overall the staff was wonderful and very nice. However, the breakfast/brunch restaurants staff was inattentive and provided poor service.
Overall it was a wonderful hotel. The staff was polite and attentive, the amenities were fantastic and since I went off season we had the place to ourselves.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Nice hotel. Mediocre beach

Posted Sep 23, 2014
Overall good stay. Although our first night we had to change rooms due to a bug infestation. I was turned off from that. But the next 3 days were great. Rooms are in need of renovation and the rugs should be stripped from the hotel floors. It really ages the place. Hope this helps someone
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NYC

Nice for a quick get away, nothing fancy

Posted Sep 23, 2014
Pros: The view from the pool area was beautiful and there were plenty of seats for everyone to be comfortable.
Cons: The outdoor bar area needs an update.
Location: The location was very isolated. There were no restaurants that you could walk to off the hotel property. I live in NYC so Rosa Mexicano was not ideal
Everything was just ok. The staff was pleasant, the food was mediocre, and the room was fine. The AC did not go below 70, so we woke up hot in the middle of the night.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Atlanta area

Parking & Tours Issues

Posted Sep 17, 2014
Pros: Security; location; shops and restaurant within the hotel;
Cons: Parking - have a validated (prepaid if needed) parking so guest does NOT have to walk so much to get the car.
Location: beach, Toro Verde Zip lines, rain forest, Arecibo Observatory, Camuy Caves, Old San Juan, San Cristobal Castle, walking, running, swimming,snorkeling
You have to walk over to parking cashier, validate ticket, then go to your vehicle; instead of having a validaded card for the entire stay. Something can be arranged with the Parking owners! Tours should let guests be aware of additional charges; limitations (i.e. Toro Verde Tour weight limitation, etc).
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oklahoma

Fodor's says best pool in Puerto Rico!

Posted Sep 16, 2014
Pros: The service was great--the people were nice, helpful, and very friendly. They really went above and beyond to make your stay a pleasant one.
Cons: They are redoing an area that faces the ocean and it will be beautiful. It really wasn't noisy--just not really pretty for pictures.
Location: We walked about two blocks to a bus stop and rode the public bus for .75 to Old San Juan.
This hotel is an older hotel, but it has lots of charm and they are doing renovations. We had a great room with a garden view and the ocean. We had no complaints. We ate in the Palmeras, Morton's Steakhouse, and the Italian restaurant. The food was always good and the service fantastic. The pool area, the private beach, the dock--all are well kept and clean. The open air lobby was unique. Easy access to transportation to downtown.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Montreal, QC

Nice Hotel, beautiful resort/beach BUT

Posted Sep 12, 2014
Pros: The beach
Cons: Staff member training
Location: The beach and scenery was beautiful, about 30 minutes away by walk to Old P. Rico, which was convenient.
Overall, it was a good experience, I love the access to a private beautiful beach. However, staff members were a bit arrogant and unpleasant to deal with.. Rooms were nice, and spacious.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Puerto Rico

One of San Juan's best hotels

Posted Sep 9, 2014
Pros: I love the pool and the private beach
Location: It's in the condado area near to all the attractions, museum, mall, beaches. Also can gonwalking to the Old San Juan
I've stayed in this hotel for the last two years and the experience has been awesome. From the front desk service to room service is always excellent. The room was clean and nice with a lagoon view. Is one of the most cost-efficient hotels. The prices are good and the hotel is awesome. At the moment of my stay for the two ti es ive stayed tey've been remodeling but it doesn't affect the experience. Breakfast buffet at Palmeras rest is the BEST!!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Orlando, FL

Nice but excessively expensive for food and drink

Posted Sep 8, 2014
Pros: Close to Old San Juan but expensive to/from; nice beach area but no smoking or drinking (other than over-priced hotel bar drinks)
Cons: Good food at a reasonable price; reasonably priced drinks; shuttle to/from Old San Juan; convenience store with reasonable prices; microwave in room
Location: Old San Juan deserves multiple visits during your stay - facinating
We were shocked by the prices of food and drink at and around the hotel ($17.95 for 2 fish tacos w/ no sides, $12 for a drink at the poolside bar, etc). Cabs charged $12 each way for a very short trip to and from Old San Juan. The extremely inadequate convenience stores around the hotel were outrageously costly as well. There is a mini-fridge in the room which helped a little (once we found a grocery store) but no microwave.