Ratings based on 64 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 10, 2014
Wonderful place right in the center of everything. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Will definitely stay here again if I travel back to old San Juan.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Christina from CA

PERFECT LOCATION :)))

Posted May 30, 2014
I felt like I was at home which is saying a lot because I traveled to PR alone. I absolutely LOVED this hotel and location. The staff is so friendly, warm, and informative. They genuinely care about your stay both in the hotel and in PR. No elevator but no problem as the gentleman gladly assists you with your bags. Be nice and tip as he's a sweetheart. Guests do get a discount in the hotel cafe and the service is nice but you can find better deals by exploring restaurants near by. The terrace is so peaceful at dawn and just as the sun sets. Brave the flights of stair it's worth it :) OMG ... LOCATION, LOCATION, LOCATION. You are literally in the middle of EVERYTHING!!! If you want to dance the night away at THEE BEST salsa place, Nuyorican Cafe is just a few doors down. Local shops, restaurants, Walgreens is just up the block, Starbucks (I'd recommend local coffee) is just around the corner ... I could go on. Point is you can't find a better place to rest your head while enjoying the beauty of Old San Juan. I already miss Casablanca and Old San Juan :)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

AMAZING! Authentic

Posted May 28, 2014
Pros: Expedia
Cons: Nothing! It was great!
Location: Everything!
If you want to experience Puerto Rico authentically visit here! Extremely helpful staff and really neat place! Located in a great convenient area that is not full of tourists and in front of Marmalade Restaurant!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location in Old San Juan

Posted May 24, 2014
Pros: Not a typical chain hotel, great furniture, artwork, etc.
Cons: As noted in other reviews there is no elevator, but someone always available to assist with luggage.
Great location, beautiful lobby area, very comfortable bed. Staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Within walking distance of many shops, restaurants, and attractions.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Lou from Chicago

One night stay

Posted May 8, 2014
Pros: Quaint, spotless, old hotel. Very friendly & helpful staff.
Cons: There is no elevator; 5th floor was a chore on old stairs.
Location: Very close(1-2 blks) to central Old San Juan; plenty to eat & drink within 5minute walk.
Pre-cruise stay. One night was about all I could do, as Casablanca has no elevator, and we stayed on the 5th floor. But the room was spotless(small), and cool. Staff carried our bags up & down the stairs. Very short walk to eats & drinks. 10-15 minute taxi to Royal Caribbean cruise port.
3 out of 5
by Daniel from florida.

Old hotel, but close to most everything,

Posted Apr 28, 2014
Pros: That it was close to resturanrts, and activities.
Cons: The mattresses could be changed. The rooms could be a lot cleaner.
No hot water in shower, mattress was finished. Lights very dirty, floor was half finished, half in dirty cement. Only allowed check in at three on the dot, even though they said it would be five minutes at two thirty, no hair dryer in room. No elevator. The water from the shower, goes onto the bedroom floor. There was no rack in the shower to put our towels, shower in the bedroom , not in the bathroom. Over all if you like clean, and a good night rest, you are not going to find that there.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 29, 2014 by Joyce, Hotel Management
Dear Daniel, Thank you so much for your review and for talking to us before leaving the Hotel about the items mentioned in this review. We are so sorry about the hot water, we checked your room and the hot water is inverted. For future guests please read the colors on the shower knob indicating red for hot and blue for cold. We have improved your room by enclosing the shower as part of the bathroom instead of it being open to the room. It was thought as a clever idea but by consensus it was changed today the way you suggested for more privacy. Hair dryers are available upon request, please ask front desk for anything you need. We are always open to new innovative ideas. All the best and we hope you come back next year and see all the new changes the Hotel will go thru!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Zach from Boston

Great location and boutique hotel

Posted Apr 27, 2014
Great boutique hotel, clean room, friendly staff and great location to see everything in old San Juan. Only con during our stay was the wireless internet kept going in and out. Other than that I have no complaints about our stay. I would stay here again in a heartbeat
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 29, 2014 by Joyce, Hotel Management
Hello Zach, Thank you so much for staying with us and for leaving such a nice review! We apologize for the intermittent internet connection, we finally were told AT&T antenna had been tampered with, they thought, as everyone had interrupted service and the harm seemed other than from natural causes. Thank you for your patience and we hope to see you back soon!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Alevaza from Arlington, VA

Great Stay

Posted Apr 23, 2014
Pros: Room. Cleanliness. Shower. Rooftop. Staff. Location
Our stay at Casablanca was pleasant. The front desk person, Miguel, was very friendly and helpful. It is walking distance to all the bars, restaurants and tourist spots in Old San Juan. The room was very clean and nicely decorated. The view from the rooftop is amazing. It doesn't have an elevator, but we got a good workout. Would definitely stay there again and would have liked to on our last night but they were all booked!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Detroit, MI

Great night sleep

Posted Apr 19, 2014
Pros: Friendly staff.
Cons: stairs were a bit much.
Location: Great location, I felt safe.
Love, Love, Love this hotel. When I go back, I will not stay any where else. They held onto bags before and after check in.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Detroit, MI

I cant wait to go back!!

Posted Apr 19, 2014
Pros: Room was very comfortable and I love the d├ęcor.
Cons: cant wait until the elevator is in.
Location: Shopping/food just around the block. Burger King is a 3 minute walk away, food is fresh if you can't find anything else that looks appealing to eat.
I Love Casablanca, location was convenient, easy to get to. Staff was friendly, helpful and very accommodating.