Ratings based on 138 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by C from California

Won't go back

Posted Apr 17, 2014
Pros: It was cool
Cons: Cleanliness
Location: A lot of shopping and old history
Went on a trip to San Juan and the hotel was recommended in old San Juan. There are no elevators and we were on the 4th floor. I was suppose to get a room with two beds and didn't and the two bed rooms were taken by others. We paid extra for a balcony and it was horribly dirty overlooking the trash and roofs of San Juan. The floors were dirty in the room. Quite expensive for the food.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Dave from Halifax, NS

Boutique hotel in Old San Juan

Posted Apr 16, 2014
Pros: Its location right in the old city with many attractions and restaurants nearby. The breakfast in the hotel restaurant was excellent.
Cons: Given the lack of elevators, having staff available to carry suitcases upstairs would be helpful.
We only have a short stay overnight between flights. We planned to have more time to explore but the airlines changed our flights. The hotel was nicely decorated in the Casa Blanca theme. The rooms are very small by modern standards - like that of many downtown European city hotels. There are no elevators. There are no windows per say, just "lights" to the hallway which are in a atrium lit from above. Dome plan on spending much time in your room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by sue from wisconsin

Was a very beautiful hotel authentic with helpful,

Posted Apr 15, 2014
we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The staff was helpful and caring. The hotel was authentic and beautiful. It was within walking distance of everything.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fun trip to San Juan

Posted Apr 14, 2014
We had a great trip to San Juan for a couple nights before heading to our island destination. The staff were very friendly and helpful upon arrival. The rooms are clean and efficient. Our room had no windows, but seems pretty typical of the layout of hotels in the area. Air conditioning worked great so no need for windows anyways. Be sure to venture right across the street to the Marmalade restaurant as it was the best we had on our visit.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfectly quaint hotel -- exactly what I hoped for

Posted Apr 10, 2014
Pros: The staff, the ambiance, the rooftop bathtubs, the location
Location: Tons of restaurants and shops, the historic forts, the cruise ship port
We stayed in Old San Juan the last night of our week-long vacation in Puerto Rico. This hotel was perfect and conveniently located to shopping, the cruise ship port and one of the historic forts. We stayed in a 2-bedroom room which was perfect for us and our kids. It had a balcony overlooking the street. The bath tubs on the roof were a unique bonus. Only one complaint: they should have alerted us about the construction and road closure in front of hotel and offered alternatives. We came in very frazzled because the road the hotel is located on was closed for construction. We had spent an hour driving in circles on cobblestone, one-way streets trying to find the hotel. We finally parked (very limited parking in Old San Juan) and walked several blocks with our luggage to the hotel. The staff was very gracious then and all through our stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by eliza from NJ

elegant

Posted Apr 4, 2014
Pros: location
Cons: elevator
Location: restaurants shops view all great
Great location specially if you are crusing ... loved my room small but just right lots of staires no ELEVATOR!! beautiful view tubs on roof to enjoy
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Love the Stay

Posted Apr 4, 2014
Hotel staff does everything to make stay comfortable....you just have to like stairs because elevator is not in hotel yet
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fun, funky night in Old San Juan

Posted Mar 25, 2014
Pros: Decor was fun and cute. Beds were comfortable. Rooms were small but cozy.
Cons: There is no elevator, so if stairs are a challenge (5 flights up!) pick a different hotel. Noise is also a bit of an issue.
Location: Walk around Old San Juan. The whole city is a landmark. Caficultura, the coffeeshop at the plaza at the end of the street, is stellar.
It's right in the heart of Old San Juan, and it's Casablanca themed. Yeah, with the movie playing silently in the lobby all evening. Walk to everything. I should note that there is no elevator in this hotel. I had no trouble getting to a 4th floor room but other people will. Also the stairs and hallways are not carpeted so late in the evening I heard drunk, out-of-breath people laughing about having to climb stairs.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Pat from South Florida

Wonderful, wonderful service

Posted Mar 17, 2014
Pros: Exceptional service.
Cons: I'm an early riser, and although breakfast was advertised as beginning at 7, the cook was only getting there at about 7:30. Coffee was already ready
Location: Steps from good restaurants and the central plaza, trolleys, seaside and the cruise ship docks.
This is a boutique hotel; not for everyone, (There is no elevator, for instance) but certainly for anyone looking for a genuine old San Juan experience. I had heard that any hotel in old San Juan was going to be noisy, and there was a bit of noise from the bar - but no more than I have heard in traditional hotels in the U.S.! And the eclectic hotel lobby is beautiful; check out the wall of pottery and the move Casablanca playing continuously on the wall of the cozy bar (No sound, subtitles.) Step outside and some of the best-rated eateries in old San Juan are steps away, as is the central plaza. But what sold me was the service. When I left my Kindle, credit card and phone in a cab, it was the front desk that ensured I got everything back. One of the employees hauled my luggage up three flights of stairs and looked surprised when I offered a tip; I had the same experience when I checked out. There was some road construction which made cabs park half a block away, and every time I left the hotel to get to the cab, an employee cheerfully walked me there without my asking. (The last time I had that experience, I was at a Ritz.)
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Nancy from NH

Cute Hotel, Excellent Location

Posted Mar 16, 2014
An old, but lovely hotel in a perfect location, but there is no elevator.