Ratings based on 1,205 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Nashville, TN

Still the best place to stay in Isla Verde!

Posted Jan 23, 2015
Pros: The beach at the Courtyard Marriott is the best in Isla Verde, and the beach guys, especially Edwin, are great. Very clean, remodeled rooms are nice!
Cons: The dinner buffet was not up to expectations, with minimal fresh vegetables and too many meats.
Location: Isla Verde is a low key area compared to Condado and Old San Juan, but close enough to taxi in to visit. But the beaches set it apart!
We returned this year because of our great stay last year. Yes, the Courtyard Marriott is near the airport but that is a positive and a 10 minute cab ride away. You hear planes, but not annoying. Pool area great-Beach Great - Casino Great (Miguel at the roulette table was our favorite). The personnel are VERY welcoming and aim to please. Really, can't say anything bad about it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Boston

perfect vacation!

Posted Jan 21, 2015
My husband and our 2 children had a fantastic time at the Marriott I'm Carolina, PR! The location was wonderful! Beachfront at its best! A few steps out the door and you are on the sand with a great pool area right on the beach as well. A quick walk and you have restaurants, shopping, etc. The staff is super friendly and very hard working. Every staff member we encountered was amazing! The grounds are kept very clean as well as the rooms, but the front of the hotel was still under renovation. We never heard a sound, but it was off putting to pull up to construction. The only con is food and beverage prices, bit that is true of any resort. Walk to Ave Isla Verde and eat great food for half the cost. This was definitely a 5 star experience for our family!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom pittsburgh

Great hotel great service

Posted Jan 18, 2015
we had a wonderful time highly recommend this hotel ,service was very good,every thing is a little pricey ,the beach area is amazeing.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom nyc

Amazing stay

Posted Jan 15, 2015
Check in was very smooth the staff was sooo nice. The hotel is newly renovated. I stayed from jan 10-14. I had a late flight so they held our luguge and allowed us to hang around the pool and beach. Food and drinks are very good. Hotel is very clean. I cant find one bad thing to say.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom NJ

Pleasant but too close to the airport,

Posted Jan 14, 2015
Pros: the pool, the beach view, the balcony's and all the outdoor seating. Very relaxing.
Cons: Cleanliness of the bathrooms, I also saw tiny bugs, drink service at the beach, it existed by the pool but not at the beach.
Location: location was good, but too close to the airport it took us a day or two to adjust to the sounds of takeoffs and landings.
The location is gorgeous its like a post card, the room was a good size. The hotel is a little older and has been remodeled but did not have the usual Marriot Resort wow factor in the rooms. I saw tiny bugs on two occassions in the room, similar to an ant. The main floor, casino and restaurants were sufficient and we enjoyed our time there. The best features of the hotel is the beach, outdoor seating, hammocks and pool. The restaurants were good and for the price this was a great place!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 20, 2015 by Jose, Hotel Management
I am glad to know that you enjoyed our beautiful beach, outdoor seating area, hammocks, pools and restaurants. Please accept my apologies for any inconvenience we may have caused you. I will personally share and discuss the cleanliness issues with our housekeeping staff. I hope that you will return to Puerto Rico and that we will have the opportunity of serving you again. Please feel free to contact me, I will be glad to assist you with any questions or special requests. Saludos, José Padín General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Hotel for Budget

Posted Jan 14, 2015
Cons: Cleanliness of the pool.
Our overall experience at the hotel was very good. The staff is helpful and the rooms are updated. The facilities are nice but more supervision is needed around the pool area. Some of the crowds hanging out by the pool bar were extremely noisy because they were drunk. The hotel management needs to be more cautious about those situations and control them in a professional manner for the comfort of other customers trying the enjoy the same facilities.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom philly

Right on the beach !!! Great staff !!!

Posted Jan 9, 2015
My sons and I had a wonderful time in Puerto Rico at the Marriott. It is right on the beach with surfing boogie boarding sailing Waverunners. The staff was amazing and the housekeeping was the best ever. Celebrated one of my sons birthday, his best ever!!! Hope to go back in a month and stay at the Marriott again!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel

Posted Jan 9, 2015
Nice hotel with a good location. Only issue was the crowd was a bit on the old side. Would've been nice to be around younger people.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Parkton, MD

Beautiful Hotel !!

Posted Jan 9, 2015
Pros: The cleanliness. The friendliness of the majority of the hotel staff.
Cons: A change in the concierge staff is a must. More events for kids. Night time entertainment for adults and kids.
Location: Bioluminescent Kayak Adventure, Snuba Diving through Aqua Adventure, Paddle Boarding with Guillermo Real, sightseeing in Old San Juan (beautiful).
What a great trip to San Juan. My kids (17 & 14) planned a last minute trip and were very pleased with the Courtyard by Marriott. The lobby was newly renovated and just beautiful. Then once to our room, not only could we see the sparkling clean room, we could smell how clean it was. The room was surprisingly spacious. Plenty of room for the three of us to have our own area. The restaurants on site were an added bonus. A little pricey but the food was very good. Every member of the hotel staff could not have been friendlier and accommodating to our needs. The only complaint I had with the entire trip was with the two employees working as concierge. They, unlike the rest of the staff, were abrupt and sometimes rude during our discussions about excursions. They offered no help in finding things for my family to do. They gave me a hard to read piece of paper listed with tours then proceeded to tell me everything was booked. Then was put off by additional questions I asked. We ended contacting some of the companies on the list and were able to book them with no issue. We also used Google to find other fun things to do. As a heads up... the airport is directly across the road. We were not bothered by the noise but I can see how others might be. Ultimately, we had a great vacation. Great memories were had by all.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

The beach & pool area were just what we wanted.

Posted Jan 5, 2015
The lobby remodel was completed during our stay - very nice. I liked the location as you could walk to local places for food and drinks and Walgreens for extra items. I wasn't happy about the resort fee, but I read about it before we went decided it was worth it. Didn't feel like the concierge office was very helpful. Overall I would stay here again. The airport noise was annoying at times- but I knew about that also before the trip. Loved the distance to the beach and the pool was nice and warm, never crowded.