Ratings based on 1,315 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from North Miami Beach, FL

Good location - easy access to stores, restaurants

Posted May 21, 2015
Pros: See above comments.
Cons: We had service rendered twice during our 5-day stay, obvious trash-old newspapers, dirty wine glasses etc weren't removed; no face cloths replaced.
Location: See above comments.
Enjoyed our stay. The location of the room could have been better, the view was the top of another section of the hotel, with a peek view of the pool however the room was very comfortable with a great shower. We rented a car and self-parked and the entrance to the hotel was only a few feet away. There is a supermarket directly across the street, what a great convenience. We ate at all the restaurants on or connected to the premises, Silk is worth a return visit - food was excellent.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 23, 2015 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Saludos Bettie, Thank you for sharing you experience of our hotel! I must agree with you, Silk is great restaurant!! We look forward welcoming you again soon. Always at your service, Yodil Cabán General Manager Doubletree by Hilton San Juan at Gallery Plaza
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Nice hotel at in a good location

Posted May 21, 2015
The hotel is located just a short walk away from the beach, more in the residental part of San Juan rather than the tourist area which is still only a 15 min walk. the local bus 21 takes you to the centre for 0,75c and in about 15 min ride. The hotel is ok, great pool side, private beach area with beach shuttle. Nice staff, room a bit small and bit outdated, but serves the purpose.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle WA

Great location and value

Posted May 19, 2015
Pros: Location, cleanliness, comfy beds
Location: Restaurants, beach, grocery store.
We loved the cleanliness and comfy bed as well as the great location, walking distance to restaurants, shops and beach. What more can we say. We were able to get to Old San Juan really quickly by cab as well, so it was an all around great hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 23, 2015 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Saludos S&S, Thank you for the 5 stars and for sharing your experience of our hotel! We look forward welcoming you again soon. Always at your service, Yodil Cabán General Manager Doubletree by Hilton San Juan at Gallery Plaza
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from CA

nice hotel but hidden expenses

Posted May 18, 2015
Pros: very pretty and very clean only a short walk to the beach
Cons: explaining the extra fees more clearly
Location: lots of restaurants and the beach is a short walk
The hotel was very clean and pretty the beach is just a short walk down the block but can not been seen from the hotel, however some staff was rude and they have a ton of hidden charges, over all the experience was okay. I was a little upset because we were told on line when we pre paid for the room that we were paid in full, however upon check out there was another 20$ a day slapped on the bill that they charge you again when you check out then are rude when you ask why. Be careful when they ask you to sigh something because up on the top hand corner of the paper is their charges.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 18, 2015
Hotel was very pleasant, clean and modern. However, there is a hefty "resort" charge that they will charge you upon checkout. Not included in the Expedia price
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel stay before cruise

Posted May 16, 2015
Pros: It was better than expected
Location: Location was ok
Hotel was clean and neat. The restaurant was good and the staff wonderful
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Mexico

Hotel agradable, cerca de playa

Posted May 16, 2015
Muy cómodo, perdonal muy amable. Cerca de la playa.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA

Puerto Rico vacation April 24-May2, 2015

Posted May 11, 2015
Pros: Clean and modern, helpful staff n
Cons: nothing
Location: Beach is only a couple blocks away and the hotel provides towels, umbrellas and lounge chairs at the beach.
Searching for a hotel when you are going on vacation is a daunting task. There are so many reviews and each review done by a person with different tastes and expectations. It took me 3 weeks to finally decide on Doubletree by Hilton in San Juan. I must say it was an excellent choice!! I finally breathed easy when we entered the lobby and saw that it was modern and very clean. The front desk staff were all knowledgeable and quite helpful any time of day! I was especially pleased when we got to the room and I saw that it too was modern and very clean! Our plans were to be out sight seeing and not spending a great deal of time in our room, but either way I would have been pleased. I would definitely go back to this hotel and would recommend it to all!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 11, 2015
The room was very modern, updated and comfortable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Charlotte, NC

Nice hotel in a good location...close to the beach

Posted May 10, 2015
We had a great long weekend stay. Our room was clean, comfortable & updated. The hotel location was within walking distance to the beach, restaurants & nightlife.