Ratings based on 1,304 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wonderful, friendly hotel in walking distance

Posted May 29, 2015
Cons: The cable quality was poor and cut out often.. also, the bathroom did not have a fan and had a see through door, so privacy was challenging!
My partner and I were visiting Puerto Rico for the first time and we loved the Double Tree Hilton! The first night we arrived (Wednesday) it was raining so we decided to stay in and there just happened to be a very social and fun happy hour at the hotel bar. The bar staff was VERY friendly and accomodating. The food at Cafe Pierre is also very good! The hotel is in walking distance of La Placita, the art museum, across the street from 24-7 grocery store, the beach is two blocks away, and it is close to many good restaurants. Absolutely no major complaints (:
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 26, 2015
The hotel's staff was great and it was very comfortable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom Houston

Posted May 24, 2015
Pros: Location
Cons: Fitness facility
Location: Beach, museum, restaurants ect.
Very clean, nice location for this hotel. We could walk to a lot of activities in the area including the beach (even though the hotel will shuttle you over and give you towels) and some very nice restaurants. I would definitely stay here again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom NC

fine - layout was confusing

Posted May 23, 2015
Wish staff had provided verbal & written info on amenities, we discovered them by ourselves or as we were leaving. Ie Beach shuttle Mercado & nice music/food in walking distance Pool service Museum in walking distance
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom North Miami Beach, FL

Good location - easy access to stores, restaurants

Posted May 21, 2015
Pros: See above comments.
Cons: We had service rendered twice during our 5-day stay, obvious trash-old newspapers, dirty wine glasses etc weren't removed; no face cloths replaced.
Location: See above comments.
Enjoyed our stay. The location of the room could have been better, the view was the top of another section of the hotel, with a peek view of the pool however the room was very comfortable with a great shower. We rented a car and self-parked and the entrance to the hotel was only a few feet away. There is a supermarket directly across the street, what a great convenience. We ate at all the restaurants on or connected to the premises, Silk is worth a return visit - food was excellent.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 23, 2015 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Saludos Bettie, Thank you for sharing you experience of our hotel! I must agree with you, Silk is great restaurant!! We look forward welcoming you again soon. Always at your service, Yodil Cabán General Manager Doubletree by Hilton San Juan at Gallery Plaza
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom London

Nice hotel at in a good location

Posted May 21, 2015
The hotel is located just a short walk away from the beach, more in the residental part of San Juan rather than the tourist area which is still only a 15 min walk. the local bus 21 takes you to the centre for 0,75c and in about 15 min ride. The hotel is ok, great pool side, private beach area with beach shuttle. Nice staff, room a bit small and bit outdated, but serves the purpose.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Seattle WA

Great location and value

Posted May 19, 2015
Pros: Location, cleanliness, comfy beds
Location: Restaurants, beach, grocery store.
We loved the cleanliness and comfy bed as well as the great location, walking distance to restaurants, shops and beach. What more can we say. We were able to get to Old San Juan really quickly by cab as well, so it was an all around great hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 23, 2015 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Saludos S&S, Thank you for the 5 stars and for sharing your experience of our hotel! We look forward welcoming you again soon. Always at your service, Yodil Cabán General Manager Doubletree by Hilton San Juan at Gallery Plaza
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom CA

nice hotel but hidden expenses

Posted May 18, 2015
Pros: very pretty and very clean only a short walk to the beach
Cons: explaining the extra fees more clearly
Location: lots of restaurants and the beach is a short walk
The hotel was very clean and pretty the beach is just a short walk down the block but can not been seen from the hotel, however some staff was rude and they have a ton of hidden charges, over all the experience was okay. I was a little upset because we were told on line when we pre paid for the room that we were paid in full, however upon check out there was another 20$ a day slapped on the bill that they charge you again when you check out then are rude when you ask why. Be careful when they ask you to sigh something because up on the top hand corner of the paper is their charges.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 18, 2015
Hotel was very pleasant, clean and modern. However, there is a hefty "resort" charge that they will charge you upon checkout. Not included in the Expedia price
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel stay before cruise

Posted May 16, 2015
Pros: It was better than expected
Location: Location was ok
Hotel was clean and neat. The restaurant was good and the staff wonderful