Ratings based on 1,316 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Seattle, WA

Ok hotel close to beach and Old San Juan

Posted Jul 1, 2015
Pros: Location to the beach with free shuttle to/from as well as access to all Hilton properties and beach ammenities
Cons: Lobby smell!!!!!!!!
Location: Right off the freeway, 5 min from Old San Juan and close proximity to Isla Verde/Airport. Beach is 2 blocks away with free shuttle service to/from
Overall, my experience at the Double Tree Hilton was ok. When we drove up to the hotel we were greeted by the valet. They were nice enough but not very eager to help. We eventually self-parked just so we wouldn't have to deal with them. They were helpful though when taking us to/from the beach--which was a nice perk! When we walked into the hotel lobby we were immediately consumed by a foul smell reminiscent of sewage, masked by a floral potpourri smell. This smell remained during the entire stay. We couldn't quite figure out where the smell was coming from. We booked 7 nights but stayed for 5 due to some last minute, outer island stay overs. That being said we had door troubles (the actual lock) 4 of the 5 days we were there and each late night we'd come back we'd have to wait for hotel staff (5-10 min) to meet us at our room and try to figure out what was wrong, even though we told them what the problem was. This issue DID NOT get fixed and each time we reported the problem, no one new about the situation. It was annoying and tiring, especially having to deal with it so late at night. When we checked out they comped 4 days of resorts fees ($77) which was fine but I expected more. The hotel room we occupied was nice and always clean but not big enough for 2 people. The bathroom area felt especially cramped with a stand up shower. I'm 4'10" and still felt trapped inside. There was a mini fridge that came in handy and a safe
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Midland Texas

Great spot for kids

Posted Jun 30, 2015
Pros: distance to everything was awesome, we had no car and 2 young children and it was perfect
Cons: Mac n cheese with beer chorizo is a rip off, maybe 3 oz worth plain pasta, tiny sprinkle of cheese no chorizo for $11! The pasta had nothing on it!
Location: Lots of restaurants, beach etc. Make sure to budget for restaurants they are expensive.
Hotel staff were friendly, Brittany was very accommodating. Close walk to the beach. Rooms were decent, carpets needed cleaning but overall it was awesome. Wish we could have stayed longer!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice Hotel

Posted Jun 30, 2015
Is a very nice Hotel, exelent service! !!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 15, 2015
excellent location, close to walking distance to everything, the staff is very friendly and always willing to help!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from chicago, il

Beautiful Hotel in Great Location

Posted Jun 12, 2015
My husband and I took a quick trip to PR and loved it immediately. The staff was welcoming and very helpful. Room was great and pool was beautiful and open 24 hours. It was nice to take a quiet dip at 2am with my husband. We rented a car but even if we had not we found it close to the beach and nightlife in San Juan. Overall a 5. Will be returning very soon!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 17, 2015 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Saludos Returning, We loved reading your review and wanted to thank you for your kind words. As well we look forward to welcoming back to you tropical home away from home very soon!! Always at your service, Yodil Cabán General Manager Doubletree by Hilton San Juan At Gallery Plaza
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Neiva, Colombia

Moderno, bien ubicado, excelente personal, cómodo

Posted Jun 9, 2015
Pase unos días con mi esposa y dos hijos de 5 y 3 años, tuvimos todo lo necesario para estar cómodos y obtener lo q necesitamos, el servicio de playa del hotel es muy bueno a tan solo 5 minutos en un carro de golf del hotel, en la playa hay personal del hotel q suministra sombrillas, sillas y hay disponibilidad de pedir bebidas. El room service es muy bueno también, Reinalee nos atendió muy bien!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 6, 2015
Clean room. Convenient location. I couldn't get used to the rolling see though door in the bathroom. It's exactly what you pay for.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wonderful, friendly hotel in walking distance

Posted May 29, 2015
Cons: The cable quality was poor and cut out often.. also, the bathroom did not have a fan and had a see through door, so privacy was challenging!
My partner and I were visiting Puerto Rico for the first time and we loved the Double Tree Hilton! The first night we arrived (Wednesday) it was raining so we decided to stay in and there just happened to be a very social and fun happy hour at the hotel bar. The bar staff was VERY friendly and accomodating. The food at Cafe Pierre is also very good! The hotel is in walking distance of La Placita, the art museum, across the street from 24-7 grocery store, the beach is two blocks away, and it is close to many good restaurants. Absolutely no major complaints (:
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 3, 2015 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Saludos, Thank you for your review!! We always encourage our guests to enjoy the Puerto Rico Art Museum, La Plaza del Mercado/Placita (Local Gastronomic center with Farmers Market) and/or El Centro de Bellas Artes ( San Juan’s Performing Art’s center) all within walking distance. To relax and unwind we recommend a full day at our Yelo Spa (San Juan’s new and most unique SPA) and/or spending the day at Ocean Park beach at our reserved beach club area. For lunch and dinner we suggest enjoying any of the restaurants at the hotel’s Gallery Plaza or any of the new trendy bodegas, cafeterias, pizzerias and/or lounges right at Calle Loiza and Avenida de Diego. Soon we will be implementing a bike share program where our guests can enjoy San Juan even more!!! We look forward to your next visit!! Always at your service, Yodil Cabán General Manager Doubletree by Hilton San Juan At Gallery Plaza
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 26, 2015
The hotel's staff was great and it was very comfortable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Houston

Posted May 24, 2015
Pros: Location
Cons: Fitness facility
Location: Beach, museum, restaurants ect.
Very clean, nice location for this hotel. We could walk to a lot of activities in the area including the beach (even though the hotel will shuttle you over and give you towels) and some very nice restaurants. I would definitely stay here again.